We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, nice view”

The Pier Chowder House & Tap Room
Ranked #4 of 14 Restaurants in Point Arena
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
126 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good food, nice view”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The food & service was good. The location was nice. Good place for the family to relax after a stroll along the pier.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Byrd11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    111
    61
    22
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cobb, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One bad visit out of three.”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We have come here a couple of times prior to today and had good food and service. Today we had the combination of an inexperienced waiter, he tried I'll give him that, and a not so good cook. The calamari was under cooked and the soup was luke warm. We'll probably go back our next visit to the area as this was hopefully a one time issue.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Ate at the restaurant while we stayed at the Wharfmaster's Inn. The food and service were great! Not a fancy place, but nice, right on the water, and very close to the hotel. Especially enjoyed sitting out on the deck and eating on a sunny evening!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chicotravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgewood, NJ
Level Contributor
609 reviews
390 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Great view and good food”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We were staying in Port Arena and the Chowder House was close by and ideal for dinner and a view of the sunset. We went out for and early dinner and there were plenty of choices for tables and we had one where we both had a nice view of the pier and the ocean and the setting sun.

We ordered two beers from the choice of many that were available. The House Ale was crisp with a nice hint of bitter hops. The Amber Ale as well was fully bodied and good with seafood.

We ordered the crab cakes and a cup of chowder for a starter. The crab cakes were crisp but had just a hint of crab flavor where as the pineapple salsa was a tangy touch as well as the lemon aioli sauce that came with it. The chowder was very creamy with a very strong flavor of bacon and a dearth of clams.

The rock cod taco entree with greens was ordered by my wife as a light meal. There were some lightly fried pieces of flaky chewy cod that had the mild flavor of cod. The greens that were ordered with it were especially fresh mixture of salads.

I ordered the seafood linguni which was a plate of seafood in a very rich cream sauce with grated parmesan to help bind it together. The mussels, clams and shrimp were plentiful with the large shrimp being the outstanding player. The shrimp were outstanding, plump, fresh and juicy. Just shrimp with a light sauce would have been a stellar winner. The cream sauce with cheesy being a weight to the dish.

The views are great and you can see the sunset for the balcony on inside.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NJTravellingfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good for a place to stop and relax”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The food was not good. The chicken pot pie was microwaved and cold. It's a good place to stop for a drink but don't expect much from the food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jstark60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pier Chowder House & Tap Room also viewed

Point Arena, Mendocino County
Point Arena, Mendocino County
 
Point Arena, Mendocino County
Point Arena, Mendocino County
 
Point Arena, Mendocino County
Point Arena, Mendocino County
 

Been to The Pier Chowder House & Tap Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing