We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend get away”

The Pier Chowder House & Tap Room
Ranked #4 of 13 Restaurants in Point Arena
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, View, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Weekend get away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

This place was amazing from the view to the food. The oysters were so fresh and flavorful. Our prime rib was a tad bit to done but was delicious. Service was nice and friendly. The only bad thing I can say is they were out of crab cakes.

Helpful?
Thank Lovejones69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    108
    59
    21
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
pnjaban
Level Contributor
124 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The best place around for fish & chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

As a part time Sea Ranch resident, this is our favorite place when we are craving spanking fresh local ling cod fish & chips, which come right off the adjoining dock and are dished up fresh. Not a fancy place -- this is more of a family type tavern, but with wide open and inspiring views of the Point Arena harbor that is the main fishing port north of Bodega Bay on this part of the coast. Their fish tacos are also nice, and burgers as well. Monster onion rings are also great, but will quickly fill you up! Service, by young locals, can be lackluster, but you don't come here for that.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pnjaban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Lakes Az
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

A great place to eat and watch the fishing boats come in. Service we excellent and so was the food! It is fun to walk out on the pier/wharf and see the fish that were caught.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
469 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
“Gr8 View, Clamless Chowder!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

It was almost noon on a Sunday after touring the Lighthouse (which was fabulous), and given the name, we thought a bowl of hot chowder sounded wonderful as there were no other options that looked decent in town.

The view of the harbor was GR8, but that is about it. Service was very slow with two servers and two tables (10 people total) when we arrived. We were seated and decided to share crabcakes and have one New England & one Manhattan Chowder. Both servers walked by our table several times without even looking at us.

Finally, the girl took our order. Crabcakes arrived soon and were covered in salsa, which was a first for me. They were tasty, but salsa on the side would have been ideal. The chowder was mostly chunks of potatoes and very few clams in either bowl. It was also flavorless and very disappointing. Next time, we'll drive north to Elk which had much better restaurants.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bchgrl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, California
Level Contributor
218 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Pleasant on all accounts”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Reasonably priced and with great service, we enjoyed a return trip to the Chowder House. I had a Ceasar salad with crab cakes, and my husband the Cobb salad. Both were well prepared, tasted fresh and were delivered in a timely fashion.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katyscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pier Chowder House & Tap Room also viewed

Point Arena, Mendocino County
Point Arena, Mendocino County
 
Point Arena, Mendocino County
Point Arena, Mendocino County
 

Been to The Pier Chowder House & Tap Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing