We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice romantic get-away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Wharf Master's Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Point Arena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The staff was great, the room was very clean, the view was spectacular and it was very secluded. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony and watching the sunrise and sunset. It was nice to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life. We drove up the coast and it was very beautiful. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joyce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (305)
There are newer reviews for The Wharf Master's Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

OK, so the breakfast isn't gourmet, and the internet doesn't work in the rooms, but everything else does...The jet-tub for 2, the comfortable 4-poster bed, the view, the gas fire-place, the TV.
I'm not a wine drinker, but my husband loved the free bottle we were provided as part of the room deal. I also enjoyed sitting on one of our Adirondack chairs on the porch, watching the ocean.

I might add, that the only reason we tried this place, was because we got a Group-on deal, and I'm glad we went. When I'm ready to "un-plug" again, I'd probably return.

The restaurant below the property (upstairs) was very good, as was the service.

It's a nice 1 mile walk into the quiet town.

If you must stay connected, and cannot live without your computer and phone, this is probably not the place for you. If you just want to un-plug and relax, you won't be disappointed.

Oh! And they are pet-friendly :-)

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rubycafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights using a Groupon voucher. It seeemed like all the other guests were doing the same as it was off-season. The hotel really made our trip, as it is in a town nicknamed "Pointless Arena" by locals, and you can see why.
We did horseback riding on the beach with Ross Ranch, it was awesome. $60 per person for a private 2 hour ride along a deserted state park beach. Our guides were fantastic, the horses matched perfectly to our needs.

Room Tip: The 'Partial' Ocean Views are great!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheMcEvillys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Staying at the Wharf Master's is a treat. Each room I have stayed in was appointed with beautiful, antique furnishings, a warm cozy simulated fireplace heater, a comfy bed and the best part is the huge, jetted bath tub. The lack of cell phone signal and low strength wifi give me the rare opportunity to drop out and unplug. I love staying on the upper level where I can leave the balcony door open and enjoy the view of the ocean and sounds of the waves all night long. The staff is friendly and will treat you like family! I stay here several times a year for work and I always feel like I'm spoiling myself.
Do yourself a favor, pick up some dark chocolate and buy a bottle of yummy local wine at the office and enjoy a holiday of tranquil relaxation at the Wharf Master's Inn.
Note:
If you are a tech addict or need to receive phone calls after 7 or 8pm, this is not the place for you. Outgoing landline calls are possible from the room and the office has wifi signal.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cyndi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Even the "partial" ocean view rooms are great! Up high on a hillside overlooking the active Point Arena pier you get excellent Ocean views and sounds in a nice, roomy, clean room. The only thing we heard all night was the ocean. We will definitely be back. The restaurant and coffee house by the pier make this a very convenient venue.

Room Tip: Even the "partial" ocean view rooms are great. All rooms have their own balcony.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Wonderful location at the wharf at the water's edge. Excellent service on check-in at a time when the power was out in this section of Point Arena. We were particularly pleased that they did not demand a two night minimum in a area where that is the policy in most all inns and B&Bs.

Room Tip: Room 111B appears to be the only one with a king bed. when booking on the web scroll through all roo...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAtraveler94010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Stayed here for one night in mid-October. The weather was clear and warm. The innkeepers gave us a spacious room on the very top floor. The room smelled strongly of cleanser and after an hour or so my wife asked the manager if we could move. The manager was very apologetic saying the upper level just happened to have gotten an extra dose of clorox that morning. She upgraded us to a room on the same level as the office that had an unobstructed view of the cove. The bed was a bit squishy for my taste. Otherwise the room was quite nice.

Enjoyed walking down to the pier and watching the fishing boats unload and sell their catch. There's a restaurant and coffee shop nearby. The cliffs surrounding the cove are dramatic and there's a small monument to a group of Japanese sailors who, in 1913, left Japan in a small boat and eventually arrived at Point Arena only to be deported.

Overall a good experience. I'd stay here again. And bring a fishing pole.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Point Arena
22.1 mi away
Sea Ranch Lodge
Sea Ranch Lodge
#1 of 1 in The Sea Ranch
773 reviews
14.0 mi away
Surf Motel
Surf Motel
#2 of 7 in Gualala
242 reviews
10.3 mi away
Whale Watch Inn by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
The Elk Cove Inn & Spa
22.9 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
648 reviews
9.9 mi away
North Coast Country Inn
North Coast Country Inn
#3 of 7 in Gualala
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wharf Master's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wharf Master's Inn

Address: 785 Port Rd, Point Arena, CA 95468
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Point Arena
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Point Arena
Price Range: £95 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wharf Master's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a cliff over looking a secluded cove sits the historic Wharf Master's Inn hotel. Stunning ocean views and luxurious accommodations await all who venture to this hidden location on California's magical Mendocino Coast. Most of our rooms feature a two person in room jacuzzi, electric fireplace, one queen size bed, and a private balcony that overlooks the ocean. What separates our room types is the view they have. We have three different types of views. Courtyard view - Grand Room Partial ocean view - Luxury Room Full ocean view - Executive Room Panoramic ocean view - Deluxe Room Whether you are looking for a private romantic getaway, are traveling with your family, interested in great fishing, golf or hiking along miles of pristine beaches, the Wharf Masters Inn is without question one of Northern California's premiere boutique hotels. We invite you to be our guests at the historic Wharf Masters Inn, a treasure to be shared by all ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Wharf Master's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wharf Master`s Hotel Point Arena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing