We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Wharf Master's Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Point Arena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento Ca
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Getaway”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Stayed in Room 120, ground floor, spectacular view of ocean and pier...could see whale blows from our balcony. Great free breakfast, fireplace and surroundings. Staff was very helpful. Parking was the only issue (not a lot of it up top). Great getaway, and trip to nearby lighthouse and town highly recommended..

Room Tip: Chowder House restaurant is a short walk/stairs...complimentary glass of wine if you are staying at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iemeagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    112
    40
    12
    10
See reviews for
22
208
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Placerville, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Stayed there for three nights. Very nice and clean room, comfortable and very well appointed. The continental breakfast is more than adequate. The views are beautiful. Love hearing the ocean at night. Vicky and Gene are very gracious and friendly hosts. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed last weekend here and loved it, the beds are queen sized and really comfy. The rooms are large and spacious, Showers are small but plenty of warm water, Bath tubs are large and the jets work great. The free breakfast is comparable to a Hampton Inn or Holiday Inn Express. Point Arena in the winter can be a little slow but the restaurant near the Inn has a good selection. 4 miles up the road in Manchester is a great grocery store. The view from our room was great we could see the fishing boats coming to and from the pier, lots of Sea Lions playing in the water, birds, etc.. Parking can be a pain if the Inn is full, The people were really nice, before making a reservation call and ask if they have any travel deals through any websites

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Srelaford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willits, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

I went on a Travelzoo voucher. Got a free bottle of wine, food voucher for the chowder house, just in walking distance( that was nice). And a voucher for the casino( which I gave back cause I don't gamble). But the rooms were nice. Went to the lighthouse. Very cool. History very interesting. Beautiful views. Maids very accommodating. Were right there when you needed called for help. Managers very nice people. Great trip. Stayed 2 days

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terbear5550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The staff was great, the room was very clean, the view was spectacular and it was very secluded. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony and watching the sunrise and sunset. It was nice to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life. We drove up the coast and it was very beautiful. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, CA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

OK, so the breakfast isn't gourmet, and the internet doesn't work in the rooms, but everything else does...The jet-tub for 2, the comfortable 4-poster bed, the view, the gas fire-place, the TV.
I'm not a wine drinker, but my husband loved the free bottle we were provided as part of the room deal. I also enjoyed sitting on one of our Adirondack chairs on the porch, watching the ocean.

I might add, that the only reason we tried this place, was because we got a Group-on deal, and I'm glad we went. When I'm ready to "un-plug" again, I'd probably return.

The restaurant below the property (upstairs) was very good, as was the service.

It's a nice 1 mile walk into the quiet town.

If you must stay connected, and cannot live without your computer and phone, this is probably not the place for you. If you just want to un-plug and relax, you won't be disappointed.

Oh! And they are pet-friendly :-)

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rubycafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacaville, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights using a Groupon voucher. It seeemed like all the other guests were doing the same as it was off-season. The hotel really made our trip, as it is in a town nicknamed "Pointless Arena" by locals, and you can see why.
We did horseback riding on the beach with Ross Ranch, it was awesome. $60 per person for a private 2 hour ride along a deserted state park beach. Our guides were fantastic, the horses matched perfectly to our needs.

Room Tip: The 'Partial' Ocean Views are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMcEvillys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Point Arena
22.1 mi away
Sea Ranch Lodge
Sea Ranch Lodge
#1 of 1 in The Sea Ranch
771 reviews
14.0 mi away
Surf Motel
Surf Motel
#2 of 7 in Gualala
238 reviews
10.2 mi away
Whale Watch Inn by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
The Elk Cove Inn & Spa
22.9 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
632 reviews
14.2 mi away
Gualala Country Inn
Gualala Country Inn
#5 of 7 in Gualala
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wharf Master's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wharf Master's Inn

Property: The Wharf Master's Inn
Address: 785 Port Rd, Point Arena, CA 95468
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Point Arena
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Point Arena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wharf Master's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a cliff over looking a secluded cove sits the historic Wharf Master's Inn hotel. Stunning ocean views and luxurious accommodations await all who venture to this hidden location on California's magical Mendocino Coast. Most of our rooms feature a two person in room jacuzzi.electric fireplace, one queen size bed, and a private balcony that overlooks the ocean. What separates our room types is the view they have. We have three different types of views. Courtyard view - Grand Room Partial ocean view - Luxury Room Full ocean view - Executive Room Panoramic ocean view - Deluxe Room Whether you are looking for a private romantic getaway, are traveling with your family, interested in great fishing, golf or hiking along miles of pristine beaches, the Wharf Masters Inn is without question one of Northern California's premiere boutique hotels. We invite you to be our guests at the historic Wharf Masters Inn, a treasure to be shared by all ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Wharf Master's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wharf Master`s Hotel Point Arena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing