We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Wharf Master's Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Point Arena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The area was beautiful and they accept dogs. The breakfast room is large so everyone can sit. It was nice to have a waffle maker for breakfast along with juices, cereal and toast. The view was beautiful. It rained most of the time we were there but it was still lovely.

We went to the casino they recommended and had a great time. It is a small casino and mostly slot machines but there is a computer black jack table in the back corner. The bartender Robert was friendly. The food was Awesome! They say many of the items on the menu are award winning and we believe it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Booked room online without every visiting point arena. What a beautiful place and a wonderful hotel to lookout at the ocean and hear the waves crashing. Walking distance to restaurants. Staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janimendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Stayed in Room 120, ground floor, spectacular view of ocean and pier...could see whale blows from our balcony. Great free breakfast, fireplace and surroundings. Staff was very helpful. Parking was the only issue (not a lot of it up top). Great getaway, and trip to nearby lighthouse and town highly recommended..

Room Tip: Chowder House restaurant is a short walk/stairs...complimentary glass of wine if you are staying at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iemeagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Stayed there for three nights. Very nice and clean room, comfortable and very well appointed. The continental breakfast is more than adequate. The views are beautiful. Love hearing the ocean at night. Vicky and Gene are very gracious and friendly hosts. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed last weekend here and loved it, the beds are queen sized and really comfy. The rooms are large and spacious, Showers are small but plenty of warm water, Bath tubs are large and the jets work great. The free breakfast is comparable to a Hampton Inn or Holiday Inn Express. Point Arena in the winter can be a little slow but the restaurant near the Inn has a good selection. 4 miles up the road in Manchester is a great grocery store. The view from our room was great we could see the fishing boats coming to and from the pier, lots of Sea Lions playing in the water, birds, etc.. Parking can be a pain if the Inn is full, The people were really nice, before making a reservation call and ask if they have any travel deals through any websites

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Srelaford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

I went on a Travelzoo voucher. Got a free bottle of wine, food voucher for the chowder house, just in walking distance( that was nice). And a voucher for the casino( which I gave back cause I don't gamble). But the rooms were nice. Went to the lighthouse. Very cool. History very interesting. Beautiful views. Maids very accommodating. Were right there when you needed called for help. Managers very nice people. Great trip. Stayed 2 days

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terbear5550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The staff was great, the room was very clean, the view was spectacular and it was very secluded. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony and watching the sunrise and sunset. It was nice to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life. We drove up the coast and it was very beautiful. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joyce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Point Arena
22.1 mi away
Sea Ranch Lodge
Sea Ranch Lodge
#1 of 1 in The Sea Ranch
777 reviews
14.0 mi away
Surf Motel
Surf Motel
#2 of 7 in Gualala
249 reviews
10.3 mi away
Whale Watch Inn by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
North Coast Country Inn
North Coast Country Inn
#3 of 7 in Gualala
89 reviews
22.9 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
658 reviews
14.7 mi away
The Elk Cove Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wharf Master's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wharf Master's Inn

Address: 785 Port Rd, Point Arena, CA 95468
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Point Arena
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Point Arena
Price Range: £97 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wharf Master's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a cliff over looking a secluded cove sits the historic Wharf Master's Inn hotel. Stunning ocean views and luxurious accommodations await all who venture to this hidden location on California's magical Mendocino Coast. Most of our rooms feature a two person in room jacuzzi, electric fireplace, one queen size bed, and a private balcony that overlooks the ocean. What separates our room types is the view they have. We have three different types of views. Courtyard view - Grand Room Partial ocean view - Luxury Room Full ocean view - Executive Room Panoramic ocean view - Deluxe Room Whether you are looking for a private romantic getaway, are traveling with your family, interested in great fishing, golf or hiking along miles of pristine beaches, the Wharf Masters Inn is without question one of Northern California's premiere boutique hotels. We invite you to be our guests at the historic Wharf Masters Inn, a treasure to be shared by all ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Wharf Master's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wharf Master`s Hotel Point Arena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing