We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, fun stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Wharf Master's Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Point Arena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Overall, a very good stay and no complaints. Point Arena is a small, coastal getaway if you want peace in the natural beauty of the wild, Northern California coast. Good service from the staff who are happy to give you recommendations and take care of you. We had Cypress Room115 which is on the top in the back (basically a 3 tier facility built on the hillside). The room had cathedral ceilings and a partial ocean view with a nice deck. Windows on three sides, including the bathroom. Very comfortable king bed with nice sheets and comforter, an electric fireplace which kept us warm on a rainy weekend, and the lulling sound of the ocean at night. The room was very clean - nice carpet, paint and absolutely no smells. Furniture and lighting may be a tad outdated but you are not paying $200 a night. Come here if you want to unplug. Don't come here if you want 50 or 100 channels of TV just like home and to be on your smartphone or laptop all weekend on wi-fi. You are lucky to even have cell service in town! Very nice patio in between the buildings and an acceptable continental breakfast (cereal, MYO belgian waffles, coffee, tea, juice, yogurt (too sweet for me), one day biscuits and gravy, the other day mini-quiche). Would have been nice to have a real coffee mug rather than paper cup and paper plates. Yes, the parking is tight but they are on a hillside that makes it unique. We will definitely come back on our next trip to the area.

Room Tip: Room 115 on the top in the back is quiet and has a partial ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mobie0309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

Not many places to choose from in Port Arena but this scenic location has a large inn in the Port itself. It is newly taken over and the owners are refurbishing the rooms on an on going basis.

The tariff is high for the rooms with features that may be of no interest to you. Our room with a sideways glimpse of the bay, had a hot tub and wine bucket and glasses. The view was very obscured from the balcony but it was there. Hot tub and wine were not our style.

The four poster bed was pretty comfortable and faced the gas fireplace. The fireplace was needed since there is no heat in the room and the nights get to the low 40's or upper 30's in March. The room was on the second floor so it was lift the bag up the stairs as there are no elevators. The rooms have good lighting to read by and two large chairs with one standing light.

The continental breakfast was a nice spread with sausage and biscuits, hardboiled eggs, waffles, cereal, yoghurt and beverages.

We had to park down the hill from our room when we came back from an afternoon drive. The hill is very very steep and the upper driveway is a severe challenge to get into and out from.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NJTravellingfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wharfmastersinn, Manager at The Wharf Master's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

We appreciate your taking the time to share your experience with us! Our parking situation could certainly be better though there is little that can be done as there is literally no way possible to change this due to our geographic constraints. We feel so fortunate that there are three lovely restaurants located just at the bottom of our driveway (a relatively steep though quick two minute walk from the Inn) as well as access to the wharf, cove and all of the recreational activities we are blessed with; tide pooling, surfing, stand up paddle boarding, fishing, hiking, biking and more.

It's very nice to hear that our breakfast was well received as we have worked hard on changing our guests perspectives in this area! We are indeed working on updates around the property and look forward to your return visit to check on our progress!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Daughters gave us a weekend special to the inn. First annoyance is their address is not recognized by GPS - but you can get close and it is very obvious. Parking is tough - if you park close to the lobby, then you'll have to back down the hill a bit in order to turn around; if you park down lower, then you have a few more stairs to climb. Speaking of stairs, they were no problem for us, but note the if you cannot climb stairs, be sure to get on the first floor. We were on the third, so did get a view of the ocean - but the sound of it had to compete with the fountain in the garden outside the room - wished they would skip the fountain and let the ocean and quiet take over. Free DVD rentals, but you had better have brought your computer as no player in the room. But if you brought your computer, you'd be very frustrated at the slow wifi - and it is only available in the lobby. Breakfast was standard fare you'd get at midpriced hotels - wafflemaker, oatmeal, eggs, bread, juice, cereal. Room was ok - soft bed, no thermostat, electric fireplace gave out almost no heat, small tv with only a couple channels, jacuzzi was nice but loud (glad we were on the top floor), bathroom ok, carpet was thin and over squeaky boards (again, glad we were on top floor), and for those who care, the light fixtures were hideous. If you want to come to unplug from the world, sit in jacuzzi, go out to the pier, and read - very good place to do so. If you want to keep in touch electronically, watch tv, exercise - not the place.

Room Tip: top floor if you can do the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wharfmastersinn, Manager at The Wharf Master's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Thanks for taking the time to share your opinions about our lovely Inn!

You make a very valid point with the GPS. Not only is cell/satellite service fleeting along the coast, GPS will direct you to take Port Rd. which has closed to through traffic. Just take Iversen Ave. when you see signs for the wharf, arena cove and the Pier Chowder House and find us located on the hillside directly above the wharf! It is worth noting also that some GPS directions will direct you to take Mountain View Drive from Booneville if you are driving north on route 128. The distance is a little shorter but with steep grades and endless hairpin turns, it is NOT the easiest (nor quickest we have found!) route here. You would be better advised to follow route 128 to it's western terminus at the Navarro River and turning south on route 1 for 20 miles to Point Arena. Our remote nature is a big part of why the northern California coast is so beautiful!

We do wish you would have asked about the DVD player as most rooms have this feature built directly into the monitor and we have a couple of players for the few rooms that do not available upon request.

Our wi-fi is a constant challenge. We are located in an under served area due to our remote location with no commercial internet providers so our 27 room Inn is forced to work with a residential account and the available bandwidth is stretched pretty thin. If everyone turned off all of their unneeded apps and automatic updates, it would speed up the speed considerably!

The heat is adjustable in all of the rooms, again, asking your Innkeepers would have resolved this issue immediately.

We are glad that you enjoyed the quiet beauty of the Wharf Master's Inn and our lovely Arena Cove. Come on out, unplug, turn off your television and enjoy a stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

When I reserved I thought to find a different Inn. The general appairance is rather poor (walls not well painted, garden not very tidy, and view of the ocean above a roof of one other house)
To me the worst think was the breakfast: really awful for an european standard. Food on plastic bags, no fresh food, bred terrible... a nightmare. Considering the room cost 250$ per day per room I expected someting better. It is difficul to serve two slides of simple bred with a home made marmelade?

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomma841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The area was beautiful and they accept dogs. The breakfast room is large so everyone can sit. It was nice to have a waffle maker for breakfast along with juices, cereal and toast. The view was beautiful. It rained most of the time we were there but it was still lovely.

We went to the casino they recommended and had a great time. It is a small casino and mostly slot machines but there is a computer black jack table in the back corner. The bartender Robert was friendly. The food was Awesome! They say many of the items on the menu are award winning and we believe it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Booked room online without every visiting point arena. What a beautiful place and a wonderful hotel to lookout at the ocean and hear the waves crashing. Walking distance to restaurants. Staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janimendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Stayed in Room 120, ground floor, spectacular view of ocean and pier...could see whale blows from our balcony. Great free breakfast, fireplace and surroundings. Staff was very helpful. Parking was the only issue (not a lot of it up top). Great getaway, and trip to nearby lighthouse and town highly recommended..

Room Tip: Chowder House restaurant is a short walk/stairs...complimentary glass of wine if you are staying at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iemeagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Point Arena
22.1 mi away
Sea Ranch Lodge
Sea Ranch Lodge
#1 of 1 in The Sea Ranch
777 reviews
14.0 mi away
Surf Motel
Surf Motel
#1 of 7 in Gualala
249 reviews
10.3 mi away
Whale Watch Inn by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
North Coast Country Inn
North Coast Country Inn
#3 of 7 in Gualala
89 reviews
22.9 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
657 reviews
14.7 mi away
The Elk Cove Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wharf Master's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wharf Master's Inn

Address: 785 Port Rd, Point Arena, CA 95468
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Point Arena
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Point Arena
Price Range: £97 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wharf Master's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a cliff over looking a secluded cove sits the historic Wharf Master's Inn hotel. Stunning ocean views and luxurious accommodations await all who venture to this hidden location on California's magical Mendocino Coast. Most of our rooms feature a two person in room jacuzzi, electric fireplace, one queen size bed, and a private balcony that overlooks the ocean. What separates our room types is the view they have. We have three different types of views. Courtyard view - Grand Room Partial ocean view - Luxury Room Full ocean view - Executive Room Panoramic ocean view - Deluxe Room Whether you are looking for a private romantic getaway, are traveling with your family, interested in great fishing, golf or hiking along miles of pristine beaches, the Wharf Masters Inn is without question one of Northern California's premiere boutique hotels. We invite you to be our guests at the historic Wharf Masters Inn, a treasure to be shared by all ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Wharf Master's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wharf Master`s Hotel Point Arena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing