We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The View is Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wharf Master's Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Point Arena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Deer Park, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The View is Beautiful”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The location is beautiful, and the bed is super comfy. It was nice to have both the jacuzzi tub and a shower, and a vanity outside of the lavatory. As the location is remote, it was pleasant to have a modest selection of wines to choose from in the lobby. There's a lovely garden with a fountain. It's a little faux victorian charmy for me, from the pink paint to the electric fireplace. The bathroom is stinky. And the handicapped parking spaces are not clearly marked. We parked in the limited space in front of the lobby to check in, and had no idea the handicapped space was behind us. Although the couple parking in the handicapped space behind us did get parked, I guess it was a tight squeeze for them. So our greeting to the Wharf Masters Inn was a little surly. The Inn Keeper suggested we park our diminutive motorcycle 2 flights of stairs below. Which meant we had to schlep our luggage up and down the steps for our entry and departure. This was not the warm welcome we were anticipating, after a very aggressive ride up to the Inn, and a long day of travel. And really in this day and age, no wi-fi, or phone reception in the rooms?

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cruisegal2533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wharfmastersinn, Manager at The Wharf Master's Inn, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thanks for your review Cruisegal! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay despite the few inconveniences. We are very aware of the challenges presented by our parking areas which we have addressed in some of our previous responses and wish that this issue could be improved. Unfortunately, we have found no better solution to this issue We do allow guests to pull in front of the office temporarily to load and unload luggage and are very sorry if this wasn't communicated by our staff. With regard to technology, cell phone and internet reception is spotty along this entire coastline as most travelers discover. Due to our location on a steep hillside at the end of Arena Cove and our remote location, our only option is satellite based internet which is always available in and around our lobby area free of charge. Check out the following link to see why we feel more hopeful about improvements to our internet access: http://denovogroup.org/.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    113
    40
    12
    10
See reviews for
22
209
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
durango,co
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Fantastic ocean views, clean well maintained rooms. We have stayed here three times and have never had any noise problems, as one reviewer reported. Rooms are fairly small and most of them have queen beds, rather than kings. Also no wi-fi in the rooms, and your cell phone probably won't have much of a signal here. Restaurant, bakery and pizzeria are all within walking distance.

Room Tip: Recommend ocean view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank durangojohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wharfmastersinn, Manager at The Wharf Master's Inn, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thanks so much for your kind review! We look forward to seeing you on your fourth visit :) Gene & Vicki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We did stay at this hotel just for one night. It does worth the $$ we spent. Even partial ocean view is breathtaking! Hot private Jacuzzi adds up a lot to the romantic atmosphere. Continental breakfast came as a pleasant surprise.
Cons:
The walls are so thin, you can hear each sniff from your neighbors (I love to sleep a little longer on vacation).
The interior needs a modern upgrade ASAP. I've got a feeling that our room furniture was just brought there randomly, used like a "storage" for unused old gran-ma furniture.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilianaMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wharfmastersinn, Manager at The Wharf Master's Inn, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thanks for your review Iliana! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

You make a valid point with regard to the furnishings in the room being a little dated. As we have mentioned previously in other responses, we are in the process of renovating and will take a little while to implement these positive changes.

We hope to see you again and would love to hear your impressions as we transition our rustic coastal inn into a jewel of the northern California coast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, California
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We rented a little condo with a jacuzzi on the wood deck and had a great time. We enjoyed beautiful views of the ocean and the forest from the large redwood deck and enjoyed music on their sound system.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I would recommend the Wharf Master's Inn to anyone trying to escape the "big city" feel. Located on a hill right near the water, this place had everything needed for a romantic getaway. Complimentary wine, large Jacuzzi tubs, and a heated electronic fireplace. The rooms even have flat screen tv's with a movie library in the front office. The complimentary breakfast was tasty too, with the option to make your own waffles. Friendly and knowledgeable service gave an idea of what to do around town. Personally, I enjoyed going south a little from point arena and finding a restaurant called Cafe Saul, that had the best salmon fish & chips and clam chowder I've ever had. I would definitely plan another stay at wharf master's inn!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juicebox88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wharfmastersinn, Manager at The Wharf Master's Inn, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thanks for your lovely review of our property Juice Box!

It's always nice to read these reviews. We find it very useful to read them to see where we need to improve and to find out what is working and what is not. It is particularly gratifying to feel appreciated for our efforts to improve our property and to know that we are delivering a solid product as we continue the revitalization process here.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Wharf Masters Inn is a mixed experience. My wife and I stayed two nights in early May, 2014. On the plus side: nice rooms, comfy bed, nice tub (but "Jacuzzi jets" were minimally operable), and -- inside the room -- quite nice.

On the minus side: (a) some of the rooms have balconies with ocean views; others with parking lot and side-of-the-adjoining-building views, so be careful which you get; (b) breakfasts are terrible (cold cereal, cold hard-boiled eggs, instant oatmeal in a packet (just add water), nothing hot and no service -- totally on your own; (c) the outside of the buildings need paint badly, needs new roofing, looks like mid-way through a renovation process; (d) the "environmentally friendly" fireplace is a joke: 3 inches deep with a picture of a fire and a fan blowing out heat! (e) the Wi-Fi only worked on our iPad when close to the reception area, and didn't work at all on my Android device.

For the price, it's not a bad value for the money, but it is (a) NOT a B&B, and (b) only a moderately average hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room on the top floor or in the south-west building if you want a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wharfmastersinn, Manager at The Wharf Master's Inn, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to review The Wharf Master's Inn! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again so that you can see the positive changes as we continue to incorporate them. The Wharf Master's Inn is now 27 years old and some ongoing renovations are inevitable, we schedule our daily construction tasks so that the work that we are doing will have a minimal impact on our top priority, you the guest!

Our relief Innkeeper was on duty during your stay so I don't know if you reported the issue with the jacuzzi tub jets not working properly. We clean the tub jets monthly and address any maintenance issues when they are reported. That said, we will make a point of checking the tub in the room that you stayed in to avoid negatively impacting our future guests.

We are so sorry that you had a poor breakfast experience as well. My wife Vicki has worked hard to improve our breakfasts and we will continue working to improve our performance in this area by insuring that our relief is maintaining a consistent product moving forward. The Wharf Master's Inn is an Inn (hence the name), we never purport ourselves to be a bed & breakfast so I am not sure of the cause for any confusion and hope that this response helps to clarify any misconceptions moving forward.

We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We spent 3 days at the Wharf Master's Inn last week. It s a beautiful and relaxing retreat. Our hosts, Vickie and Gene, were very accommodating.
Point Arena is a quaint little town about 30 miles south of Mendicino. The hotel is located in the Arena Cove which sits below the town. The hotel is located on the hillside with beautiful views of the Cove. You'll fall to sleep listening to the surf.
The rooms have plenty of space, with a large jet tub. The appointments are a little dated, but it is well maintained.
Breakfast is included, and there is the bonus of a waffle maker. Vickie baked up something new every day as well.
At the bottom of the hill next to the pier, is the wharf building. It houses 3 restaurants. We ate in all three and were pretty happy with the food. The coffee shop makes killer sandwiches and smoothies. The pizza place is very good as well. The Chowder House could use spending a little time training their staff in service fundamentals. That being said, they were not rude, so much as a little rough around the edges. The chowder in the bread bowl was very good.
You can walk out the back of the property and begin hiking the bluffs as they lead to the Light House. Highly recommended. There are cliffs, caves, blow holes, and wild life.
Just north of the hotel is Manchester State Park. It has a totally deserted and unspoiled 5 mile beach. We walked for over an hour before we saw another person.
The town of Point Arena has a few things you might want to do. They have restored their old movie theatre and it would be a good way to spend a rainy day. There is also an excellent bakery across the street from it.
The Uneda Eat Restaurant is open Wednesday through Sunday for dinner only. It is very good restaurant, and is well patronized by the locals. The owner Jill will make you feel very much welcome.
On the north edge of town is the MOA Gallery which houses the original art of Josephine and Gary the owners. Feel free to drop in and have a look around.
In this part of California you make your own entertainment. Hike the redwoods and the beaches.

Room Tip: Get sandwiches from the Cove Coffee and make a picnic on Manchester Beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 000MikeXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Point Arena
22.1 mi away
Sea Ranch Lodge
Sea Ranch Lodge
#1 of 1 in The Sea Ranch
771 reviews
14.0 mi away
Surf Motel
Surf Motel
#2 of 7 in Gualala
238 reviews
10.2 mi away
Whale Watch Inn by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
The Elk Cove Inn & Spa
22.9 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
634 reviews
14.2 mi away
Gualala Country Inn
Gualala Country Inn
#5 of 7 in Gualala
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wharf Master's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wharf Master's Inn

Property: The Wharf Master's Inn
Address: 785 Port Rd, Point Arena, CA 95468
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Point Arena
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Point Arena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wharf Master's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a cliff over looking a secluded cove sits the historic Wharf Master's Inn hotel. Stunning ocean views and luxurious accommodations await all who venture to this hidden location on California's magical Mendocino Coast. Most of our rooms feature a two person in room jacuzzi.electric fireplace, one queen size bed, and a private balcony that overlooks the ocean. What separates our room types is the view they have. We have three different types of views. Courtyard view - Grand Room Partial ocean view - Luxury Room Full ocean view - Executive Room Panoramic ocean view - Deluxe Room Whether you are looking for a private romantic getaway, are traveling with your family, interested in great fishing, golf or hiking along miles of pristine beaches, the Wharf Masters Inn is without question one of Northern California's premiere boutique hotels. We invite you to be our guests at the historic Wharf Masters Inn, a treasure to be shared by all ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Wharf Master's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wharf Master`s Hotel Point Arena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing