We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The river grill at garcia river casino”

Garcia River Casino
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Garcia River Casino features great dining and entertainment, plus hundreds of your favorite slot machines! Take Riverside Drive in Point Arena then first left on Windy Hollow Road. Drive 1.8 Miles to the Casino.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
181 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“The river grill at garcia river casino”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

8-10 tables behind a 4 foot divider wall did not protect you from the cigarette smoke in this Indian casino. You place your order at a window into the kitchen and someone will bring it to your table. You have to get your own silverware near that window. The staff was very friendly. It was 5:30pm on a Monday and the casino was slow. I would venture to say those there were senior ciitizens. We ordered 2 bowls of their famous clam chowder, Each came with 4 pieces of garlic toast, 6 butterflied "Shrimp in a basket" with fries and "fish & chips" a half pound of cod fish with fries, $10,50 and $11 respectively. The shrimp came with lemon wedges and a little cup of sweet chili sauce. The fried cod came with 2 cups of tarter sauce. They brought out our main dishes first saying they needed more time to heat the chowder (bummer). About 5 minutes later out came the award winning chowder. Our fish and shrimp and fries got cold while we ate the chowder, The chowder was 5 star, the cod 3 star and the shrimp 4 star.
We were happy that the casino wasn't busy as the smoke made us a bit uncomfortable. My wife had a glass of house wine. Our bill was over $42! We might return just for a bowl of chowder if we are in the vicinity.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lloyd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    16
    10
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Davis, California
Level Contributor
141 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Gone way down hill!”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

This was our third visit to Garcia River Casino, and will be our last. Our previous visits were both very good. I previously reviewed the place and gave it the highest reviews.

First of all, upon arrival we were unable to get players cards because their printer was apparently broken. Then we sat at machines and discovered that they had removed the one cent slots. Next, we attempted to play the two cent and nickel machines, and most of the machines would not accept bills or their own vouchers. When brought to employees' attention we kept hearing that it just happens.

After finally getting a couple of machines to work for a bit, we decided to eat some lunch. We really have enjoyed their food from the River Grill on past visits. When we went to order, their menu prices had recently been raised significantly. When we pointed out that their current website and the pamphlets at the counter both listed the cheaper price, the gal just responded by saying the higher pricing was new. For reference, the Ribeye steak sandwich was raised over $2.00 and the Reuben sandwich was $3.50 more.

We ordered and waited for our food. When it arrived, the rib eye was two thin cuts of meat, where it had previously been a rather thick juicy cut. The Reuben sandwich was much thinner than before. We must say the flavor remained excellent, which is the only reason for more than one star. $28.00 was too much for that lunch.

If I had to guess, the casino and grill are suffering from the lack of business and won't be open much longer. There was barely any customers when we we there. I hope they pay attention and make the necessary changes to get it back up to par. As of this point we won't be back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRC412, General Manager at Garcia River Casino, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Jim G,

At Garcia River Casino we try our best to deliver a consistent product in all areas of the casino, and so we were sorry to hear that your expectations were not met on your most recent visit.

Regarding your comment that “they had removed the one cent slots”, we would beg to differ since that is simply not the case. Our ratio of one cent denomination slots has not changed and we continue to offer a wide selection of 1 cent games. Periodically we make changes to the game mix to bring in new games and we do move slots around occasionally, but our diversity of denominations remains suitable for players of all types.

As with any business that depends heavily on technology, we occasionally experience brief technical glitches. We regret that you encountered this during your visit and understand your frustration. We are glad to hear you did get to play your machines.

Thank you for your comment on the excellent flavor of your food. Periodically, like most restaurants, we have to adjust our pricing to keep up with ever increasing food costs. We recently made some minor pricing adjustments and menu changes, while adding several new items. As a matter of clarification, the Reuben Sandwich was raised only $1.00 and the Steak Sandwich increased only $1.50 and now features an excellent New York cut. Many menu items remain unchanged. The River Grill is known for offering excellent value and quality and we believe our pricing and quality of product reflect that. All of our guests continue to enjoy free unlimited sodas, tea and coffee while visiting the casino and grill.

We appreciate your past favorable comments and hope that your next visit will be more memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Lakes Az
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A real GEM”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was off the beaten path. it is small and friendly and food was affordable and wonderful! We LOVED it!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Banos
Level Contributor
280 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“The Most Reasonably Priced Food in Pt. Arena”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Casinos often have reasonably priced food to draw in gamblers. This is probably the case here. Food was good. Food was served quickly. Nice clean place. We will go here again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento Ca
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Small casino, but not crowded when we were there during a weekday. Restaurant is very good. Complimentary coffee and soda. Lot of fun.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank iemeagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Garcia River Casino also viewed

 
Point Arena, Mendocino County
Point Arena, Mendocino County
 

Been to Garcia River Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing