We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of Heaven....”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Point Arena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Point Arena Lighthouse
Certificate of Excellence
torrance
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A piece of Heaven....”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This place was wonderful. We stayed in the Lighthouse Keeper's apartment. It was a very large 1 BR with a fully equipped kitchen. It was well maintained, nicely furnished, and extremely quiet. My wife mentioned the mattress was soft, but it didn't bother me. Be sure to bring your groceries so you don't have to leave the property. Shopping nearly is limited. There was no 4G, but good wi-fi. A fantastic place, especially if you want to get away from all the hustle and bustle. Just step outside your door and it's you, the ocean, the stars, and the lighthouse. And since there are only a handful of units, it's never "crowded". Iwish we had stayed for more than 1 night. Note: town of Point Arena seemed a bit quirky ... seemed like grown up hippies.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank k k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    23
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
61
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed one night in the Keepers Room. The place is so peaceful you hear only the noise of the sea. In the night all the stars can be seen and in the day the view of the coast is beautiful. Regarding the room it has everything you need!!! We loved this experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MiyanouD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
502 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We drove up to Point Arena during our trip up the coast just to see the lighthouse and coastline. We were not disappointed!!! The view from the road leading up was incredible!!! We also saw some harbor seals out on the rocks sunning themselves. Just beautiful!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildomar, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed at the lighthouse for four nights. My husband,me, my sister and her husband stayed in unit 4. It was amazing! It's 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. There was more than enough room and all the basics were there. The view from every window were stunning. Once the lighthouse closes its just you and the other renters. So amazingly peaceful. Units 3&4 are separated by a garage and don't share any common walls. Very quiet. Just remember that these are vacation rentals and not hotel rooms. There isn't any maid service or toiletries provided. Cookware and dishes are all provided. Four nights weren't enough, we are hoping to go for a week next year.

Room Tip: Unit 4 is the most private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Johnellec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
968 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 421 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

For my birthday my wife booked this location, knowing that I love rugged coastal areas, lighthouses and unique experiences. This one was a keeper.

She was able to book the Headkeeper's Quarters at the Lighthouse itself. A really large one bedroom living room kitchen dining area bathroom and windows galore, breathtaking views iof the coast from both sides of the quarters, back door front door, a unique experience.

Great nights sleep, the museum and lighthouse admissions are included in this inexpensive amazing bit of History.

Room Tip: This is a specialty location, everything has great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank AARDVARKKILLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whittier, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2013

for light house lovers this is one not to miss. located on the beautiful northern California coast wind blown and salty and a beauty, very impressive.. we didn't stay at the hotel, we just stopped by to look at the scenery and to take pictures.. it's a beautiful spot for photographers!

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Phantombear52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Haven, Fl
Level Contributor
175 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

My wife and I recently drove up Highway #1 to see the spectacular views of the California shoreline and to see the Point Arena Lighthouse. The location of the lighthouse was absolutely breathtaking. The surrounding area is majestic with the Lighthouse in the background. The lighthouse and gift shop were very impressive. We chose not to actually take the tour to the top of the lighthouse because we came for the scenery and to learn a little about the lighthouse and surrounding area. The staff at the museum and gift shop were very friendly and informative. We would highly recommend coming to this lighthouse for the magnificent views. We love the California shoreline.

Room Tip: Take the drive up the Pacific Coast Highway for superb views and to see the lighthouse. It is truly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarpeDiem0212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Point Arena
24.5 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
3.2 mi away
The Wharf Master's Inn
The Wharf Master's Inn
#1 of 2 in Point Arena
292 reviews
12.0 mi away
The Elk Cove Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Coast Guard House Historic Inn
17.2 mi away
Surf Motel
Surf Motel
#1 of 7 in Gualala
234 reviews
13.5 mi away
Whale Watch Inn by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point Arena Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Arena Lighthouse

Property: Point Arena Lighthouse
Address: 45500 Lighthouse Road, Point Arena, CA 95468
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Point Arena
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Point Arena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Point Arena Lighthouse accommodations feature four Keeper's homes, one Keeper's apartment & one Keeper's room for your vacation pleasure. Whether you stay one night or one week, your experience here in our vacation rentals and incredible location will leave you feeling rejuvenated and inspired. Fall asleep to the sound of crashing waves against the cliffs, or be serenaded by the howling wind as it rushes across the Point. Perhaps you will hear the faint barking of sea lions or the call of a black cormorant or two, your closest neighbors at this remote location. We offer the luxurious Assistant Keeper's House 4 as our showplace cottage. It is a a fully renovated and re-imagined 3 bedroom, 2 bath home with gourmet chef’s kitchen, beautifully furnished living and dining rooms, custom tile baths, designer furniture and linens in all bedrooms, unique art and decorative features and more! Like all of our Assistant Keeper's Houses it includes a a wood burning fireplace (we provide the wood and kindling), full kitchen, satellite television, CD/DVD player, gas fireplace in the master bedroom and the most incredible views along the California coast, as the Point is surrounded by water on three sides. Our other two Assistant Keeper's homes offer more rustic accommodations, but still offer full 3 bedroom, 2 bath houses with fully stocked kitchens, comfortably furnished living and dining rooms, unique art and decorative features, satellite television, CD/DVD player, gas fireplace in the master bedroom and more! These units are also pet friendly, and share the same incredible views that all of our cottages offer. The Head Keeper's House is a 1 bedroom, 1 bath full home with a fully stocked kitchen, dining room, sleeper sofa in the nicely appointed living room and of course the wood burning stove with all the wood and kindling provided, satellite television, CD/DVD player, books, games and more. The Keeper's Apartment is great for a couple looking to have a romantic cottage on the ocean that allows them all the comforts and amenities of home. This cottage has a queen bedroom, living room, dining room and fully stocked kitchen, and bathroom with shower. It is beautifully furnished and offers a gas fireplace in the living room to keep you warm and cozy on those cool coastal nights. Our most intimate and romantic option is the Keeper's Room. This small but fully featured room boasts a queen bed, sitting area with table and chairs, gas fireplace, microwave and mini-fridge and a full bathroom. This is our only cottage that does not offer a kitchen, but you can find many fine restaurants in the area. All of our rentals include unlimited Lighthouse Museum & Tower tours and full access to our 23 acres of grounds for all guests during their stay. You will also find a welcome gift of a bottle of Husch Vineyards wine and chocolates from Mendocino Chocolate Company waiting for you in the dining room of your Assistant Keeper’s home. Finally, you will sleep deeply and awake refreshed because of the sound of the ocean lulling you to sleep on our super comfortable Tempur-Pedic mattresses. Renting an historic Keeper's Home is a great way to have fun and support the ongoing preservation of the Point Arena Light Station at the same time. We offer seasonal specials. Reservations are required. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Point Arena Lighthouse Hotel Point Arena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing