We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing View”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Point Arena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Point Arena Lighthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing View”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We didn't stay in one of the rentals but we did visit the light house and museum and went on the lighthouse tour. He took the 144 steps to the top of the lighthouse, I didn't make it. But he took plenty of pictures to show me. Apparently this is the closet point to Hawaii. Another fact is, The air off the ocean is the purest air you can breathe. We love visiting lighthouses and this was another great story and lots of history.

Room Tip: dress warm its really windy there
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb-Jon06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    23
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
61
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Hills, California
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed one night at the Point Arena lighthouse. we stayed in the smallest room, and our door looked right out to the lighthouse. It was the Keeper's room. It was small, but very clean, and we had the best view. Our window looked out the beautiful ocean and our door was all glass and we woke up looking at the lighthouse! It was so cool and we, along with a few other people, were the only ones on the grounds in the evening and morning. There is no food or breakfast so be prepared. We loved the experience and would def recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: If you want a little kitchen and more room, then don't stay in the Keepers room, but we were the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindyda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The 5 star review is for being able to stay in one of the most beautiful locations you can imagine. The lighthouse sits right out on the point and the the old keepers quarters which are the rental units are behind it. On one side are the Stornetta Public lands and Manchester State Park on the other. The location is stunning with the cliffs, the ocean, the sea lions and the whales. I would highly recommend this to anyone who wants to take in the beauty of the natural world.

We stayed in the Assistant Keeper's House 4 (3 bedroom) even though it was just 2 of us because that is all that was left. Well worth it for the location alone. The house itself is old and nothing fancy but very clean and well maintained. It had a wood burning stove and they provide a very nice fire set up with everything you need. We stopped at the grocery store at Gualala on the way in and I was glad we did. You are a few miles from the town of Point Arena and most of the establishments (town of less than 500) closed early. The kitchen had everything we needed but for a three bedroom house it did not have a large amount of dishes - just a warning if you are bringing a larger group. When we arrived we found a lovely half bottle of a local wine and some local chocolates awaiting us. They also equip the kitchen with coffee and tea which I appreciated a great deal. There were many little touches that show they have really thought about what you need for a comfortable stay.

I do have to leave you with two cautionary notes. The first is that the wi-fi did not work. The signal was fine but it wasn't able to connect you to anything. They needed to reset something along the server connections but the ISP did not seem to be able to fix it. We were counting on that wi-fi for a meeting connection so that was a disappointment. The second is that the rate for the house doesn't seem that much higher then the B&B down the road, but they also charge a $50 cleaning fee. Don't forget to incorporate that into your decision on price.

The hike along the Stornetta Public Lands during our stay was beautiful. The perfect weather didn't hurt either!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

It was the best vacation my wife and I ever had. We spent 3 nights here and the staff thought of everything, we only needed to bring in our food for the 3 days and ourselves. We were able to see some whales swim by, the historical venue was perfect and the beautiful sunsets were to die for. Don't look up at night if you do not want to see the stars and planets glowing. We will be back there again. AWESOME PLACE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gardnerville, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Staying at the Pt. Arena Lighthouse rentals was one of the best experiences I have ever had; this is one the most beautiful, serene and relaxing places ever. We stayed in the Lighthouse keeper's apartment. It was roomy and had everything needed for a weekend stay, including a full kitchen. The views are AMAZING, both from the rental units as well as from the lighthouse itself. The people at the museum and gift shop were extremely nice and helpful. The secluded nature of this place is what helped make this a perfect wedding anniversary getaway.

It is quite secluded and most restaurants and stores are a little drive away, either in the small town of Point Arena or others along the coast. Did I mention the views? We were able to see numerous sea lions and even saw a couple of whales making their migration off the coast! One can walk all over the property and it really is a wonderful place to visit. We were lucky to experience some really great weather, with it getting to the upper 60's and sunny each day and down to close to 40 or a little below. The gas fireplace was a welcome bit of warmth during the night. The bed and furniture were very comfortable. Overall, I wish I were able to extend our stay and hope to return again some day!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MABLETON
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed here after seeing this site in the movie "Forever Young." It is on a point that extends several miles into the ocean and is surrounded by sandstone cliffs where the waves crash into small coves. You can walk to the cliff edges in about 30 seconds from the rooms and watch birds and other wildlife. We saw lots of harbor seals in the coves when we were there. The room rate includes a complimentary tour of the lighthouse museum and lighthouse. During our tour of the lighthouse we saw some gray whales migrating south. The peace of the place is hard to describe. If it is clear, you can see thousands of stars. You can hear the surf crashing into the cliffs and birds calling. Sunsets are magnificent. I recommend the Keeper's Room. It faces the lighthouse and if you pull the blind up, you can sit in your room and watch the light rotate at night about 100 yards from your door. We absolutely hope to come back here again sometime.

Room Tip: The Keeper's Room is small, but feels cozy, not cramped. It is the only room that faces directly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrislast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Ronde, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Very comfortable cabins near the coast. We loved just lounging about in our very modern cabin. The weather was crisp, so the gas fireplace was a real treat.

We watched wildlife come to the door to check for food - there wasn't any, but the animals were just making the rounds.

We went on several excursions to several of the small towns in the area and ate several meals at the small café at the resort. We both like to eat out and except for the café right there on the property it was a bit of a drive to go out for meals.

We'd like to return sometime in the spring or summer to see how the area is then.

Room Tip: Each cabin is separate, so I don't think one is better than another
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kneal97347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Point Arena
24.5 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
3.2 mi away
The Wharf Master's Inn
The Wharf Master's Inn
#1 of 2 in Point Arena
293 reviews
17.2 mi away
Surf Motel
Surf Motel
#2 of 7 in Gualala
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
The Elk Cove Inn & Spa
13.5 mi away
Whale Watch Inn by the Sea
17.4 mi away
Gualala Country Inn
Gualala Country Inn
#5 of 7 in Gualala
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point Arena Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Arena Lighthouse

Property: Point Arena Lighthouse
Address: 45500 Lighthouse Road, Point Arena, CA 95468
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Point Arena
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Point Arena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Point Arena Lighthouse accommodations feature four Keeper's homes, one Keeper's apartment & one Keeper's room for your vacation pleasure. Whether you stay one night or one week, your experience here in our vacation rentals and incredible location will leave you feeling rejuvenated and inspired. Fall asleep to the sound of crashing waves against the cliffs, or be serenaded by the howling wind as it rushes across the Point. Perhaps you will hear the faint barking of sea lions or the call of a black cormorant or two, your closest neighbors at this remote location. We offer the luxurious Assistant Keeper's House 4 as our showplace cottage. It is a a fully renovated and re-imagined 3 bedroom, 2 bath home with gourmet chef’s kitchen, beautifully furnished living and dining rooms, custom tile baths, designer furniture and linens in all bedrooms, unique art and decorative features and more! Like all of our Assistant Keeper's Houses it includes a a wood burning fireplace (we provide the wood and kindling), full kitchen, satellite television, CD/DVD player, gas fireplace in the master bedroom and the most incredible views along the California coast, as the Point is surrounded by water on three sides. Our other two Assistant Keeper's homes offer more rustic accommodations, but still offer full 3 bedroom, 2 bath houses with fully stocked kitchens, comfortably furnished living and dining rooms, unique art and decorative features, satellite television, CD/DVD player, gas fireplace in the master bedroom and more! These units are also pet friendly, and share the same incredible views that all of our cottages offer. The Head Keeper's House is a 1 bedroom, 1 bath full home with a fully stocked kitchen, dining room, sleeper sofa in the nicely appointed living room and of course the wood burning stove with all the wood and kindling provided, satellite television, CD/DVD player, books, games and more. The Keeper's Apartment is great for a couple looking to have a romantic cottage on the ocean that allows them all the comforts and amenities of home. This cottage has a queen bedroom, living room, dining room and fully stocked kitchen, and bathroom with shower. It is beautifully furnished and offers a gas fireplace in the living room to keep you warm and cozy on those cool coastal nights. Our most intimate and romantic option is the Keeper's Room. This small but fully featured room boasts a queen bed, sitting area with table and chairs, gas fireplace, microwave and mini-fridge and a full bathroom. This is our only cottage that does not offer a kitchen, but you can find many fine restaurants in the area. All of our rentals include unlimited Lighthouse Museum & Tower tours and full access to our 23 acres of grounds for all guests during their stay. You will also find a welcome gift of a bottle of Husch Vineyards wine and chocolates from Mendocino Chocolate Company waiting for you in the dining room of your Assistant Keeper’s home. Finally, you will sleep deeply and awake refreshed because of the sound of the ocean lulling you to sleep on our super comfortable Tempur-Pedic mattresses. Renting an historic Keeper's Home is a great way to have fun and support the ongoing preservation of the Point Arena Light Station at the same time. We offer seasonal specials. Reservations are required. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Point Arena Lighthouse Hotel Point Arena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing