We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Comfortable Respite with a Taste of the Past”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Point Reyes Vineyard Inn
Skokie, IL
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“A Comfortable Respite with a Taste of the Past”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My wife and I, along with our adult daughter, stayed here one night as we were passing through the area on the way up to Sebastopol. The accomodations are generous, and welcoming, and truly like you are back in a home of your parents area. The accomodations are in a ranch house, directly adjacent to the vineyard, in a home that is quite literally out of the 60s. Yellow cumfy chairs, linoleum floors, mirrored closet doors, etc. The place is extremely clean and comfortable, and just like you are staying in your parent's older house.

There is internet connection and the bed was very comfortable. We stayed in the large room with private bathroom (the old master bedroom) and my daughter slept on a nice large futon pad they had available.

There was always a pot of hot water available for tea, and in the morning they came by, started the coffee, and put some breakfast items out on the kitchen table. They had some yoghurts, and cereal, as well as juice and milk (along with the coffee). They buy some pastries each morning from the local bakery that were excellent (we had almond bear claw, cinnamon muffin, etc.) along with a nice collection of local cheeses. Again, laid out nicely on a kitchen table that makes you feel as if your really at home.

The backyard eck is really calm and peaceful, and a wonderful place to have breakfast as you smell the fresh air and hear the soft chirping of the birds in the trees and the vineyard. The house has some lovely flowers out front, but relatively little in terms of landscaping around the house. There was also a really nice dog (Spot) who roams around the grounds during the day, but is kept by his house (made out of an old wine barrel) during the night.

In summary, it is a comfortable place that is just like staying at an old home of a friend or relative. While the host was very nice and friendly, and gave us some excellent suggestions for nearby restaurants and activities, we unfortunately did not get to talk to him very much (which is often one of the real pleasures of bed and breakfasts) as they had to leave early in the morning the day we left and were not around during breakfast. You also get a wine tasting of their wines with a stay there, but the normal wine tastings are just on the weekends, and we were there during the week, so we didn't get to try their wines out.

One small point - at one point during the day when the host came in to check up to see everything was OK, my wife was using the house bathroom since my daughter was using the bedroom one at the time my wife needed to go. The host kind of admonished us saying the bedroom bathroom was for us, and we were not to use the house bathroom since that is for any other guests (of which there weren't any other guests for the night we were staying).

Overall a pleasant and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clarita, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This place is kinda off the beaten path, but oh so lovely. Well appointed kitchen, bathrooms, lovely breakfast service every day. The owners could not have been any nicer and made our trip up there for our sons wedding ultra special. Highly recommend. Very clean, just a gem. Loved it all. THANK YOU!!!! The Fortner's

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmiesmauibarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We came to Pt.Reyes for a wedding and stayed at the vineyard for three nights. Steve was a cordial greeter and he and his wife provided an ample buffet breakfast each morning including an array of local cheese and baked goods.we were in the Champagne room, one of the three rooms in the1950s vintage ranch house which serves as the Inn and is close to the winery.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myrna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

My husband and I had a nice weekend away and stay at the inn.
The way the house is structured there is a single level home with three bedrooms. The champagne room has it's own in room bathroom and the other two rooms share a bathroom. The whole house was clean and comfortable. The Champagne room was fairly large, with a separate couch and table seating area and very comfortable throw blankets. Breakfast was more than I was expecting, hardboiled eggs, pastries, yogurt, cereal, fresh fruit and farm fresh cheeses. The inn was about a 2 minute drive into town. We are pretty picky about bed comfort and I'd give there's 3/5.
PROS
Clean
Good breakfast
Large room with separate sitting area
Complimentary wine tasting

CONS
Bed not especially comfortable (3/5)
Shower head is dorm room style.

Overall
I'd stay here again. (If 3 1/2 stars were an option I'd go with that).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eileenks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We stayed in the champagne room with its own bathroom. The other rooms shared a bathroom. The rooms you can stay in are rooms in a house near by where the owners live. We had the whole house to ourselves as there were no one else staying there that night, but arrived late at night and promptly went to bed after arriving. The bed was comfortable and the room nice. In the morning we were provided a variety of cereals, granola, yogurt, coffee, tea, pastries, really nice cheeses and crackers. We were quite happy with our pre-hike breakfast. The owner stopped by and chatted with me and was very helpful with suggestions on lunch and points of interest around Point Reyes National Park.

Room Tip: GPS steered us wrong. Looks for signs on the side of route 1 north of Point Reyes Station
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank W_Rock_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, CA
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2009

The Point Reyes Vineyard Inn is really a house that owners Steve and Sharon rent out - either the whole house, or separate rooms. The "two room suite" is really bedrooms two and three, and includes the adjacent bath. The house is well kept, the rooms are cozy, and the grounds are beautiful. Sharon is a wonderful hostess, and she comes from the main house each morning to make a lovely breakfast each morning - fresh fruit, pastries, cereal, boiled eggs and yogurt are on the menu each day.

We stayed with our 9 and 13 year old kids for 2 nights, and had the whole place to ourselves the first night. It was great! The vineyard is adjacent to the property, and Steve and Sharon live in the house next door. They have lots of great recommendations on what to see in do in the Point Reyes area, and they are wonderfuls hosts. We hiked around their property, which encompasses the vineyard and about 3 miles beyond it. They also used to own the dairy farm next door, now owned by their daughter and son-in-law. The kids played with their friendly dogs, and we sampled the wines at the tasting room next door (tasting is included with your stay).

A wonderful place we will definitely return to!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sushichix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2006

After a week running around in SF, I, my sister and my son spent 2 nights at the Vineyard. It was just delightful. Sharon is a fun hostess who knows a great deal about the area and its history. Steve made great restaurant recommendations (loved the Olema Inn!) and the jacuzzi in our room was a great way to end the day after some long hikes. My son really enjoyed the aviary, the vineyard, and the dogs (which stay outside). All in all, two of the most relaxing days I can recall having.

  • Liked — The spectacular views
  • Disliked — The cheap sheets - like sandpaper
  • Tips/Secrets — No cell service - a good thing, but nice to know in advance
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Narshkite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Point Reyes Station
3.9 mi away
The Lodge at Point Reyes
11.7 mi away
The Continental Inn
The Continental Inn
#1 of 1 in Tomales
87 reviews
19.5 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
502 reviews
21.6 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
550 reviews
16.6 mi away
Valley Ford Hotel
Valley Ford Hotel
#1 of 1 in Valley Ford
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point Reyes Vineyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Reyes Vineyard Inn

Property: Point Reyes Vineyard Inn
Address: 12700 Highway #1, P.O. Box 1177, Point Reyes Station, CA 94956
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Point Reyes Station
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Point Reyes Station
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Point Reyes Vineyard Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Point Reyes Vineyard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing