We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is hostelling at it's finest!”
Review of Point Reyes Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Point Reyes Hostel
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“This is hostelling at it's finest!”
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Although this has the usual hostel set-up (communal dining and living areas etc), this was far removed from most hostels I've stayed at. We stayed in the newly built accommodation separate from the main building and as such, shared the facilities with only a few other people. The dining/kitchen area in this block was amazing, nicer than my own house! We enjoyed it so much we stayed an extra night and if we ever return to California, we will somehow try and incorporate a night at Point Reyes Hostel into our trip.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank mouflonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    25
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
13
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Carson City, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Having never stayed in a hostel before, I have to admit I was somewhat apprehensive. However, my fears were soon put to rest. We stayed in a private room, with mattresses that were more comfortable than a lot of B&B's where we have stayed. For the first time staying, I was glad that no one else was sharing the rest of the two bedroom dorm with us. The kitchen we used was well equipped with everything we needed to cook some really good meals. Of course, the hiking, the wild life, and the ocean are always to be enjoyed on Point Reyes. And be sure you eat at Drake's Bay Cafe for a little seaside ambiance.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank orgnizd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

I stayed here one Saturday night in May 2012. I stayed in the women's dorm for $24. The hostel is in a great, isolated location on Point Reyes. You can walk or drive a short distance to the beach. A trailhead is about a quarter-mile away. All of Point Reyes is a short drive away. The bed was super comfy with a memory-foam mattress and lots of blankets. The dorm had its own bathroom with two toilets and two showers, which were clean. There is a big kitchen with lots of room for people to cook. The seating area was very comfortable to sit and read. There is also an outside grill and picnic area.

The hostel is several, winding miles from any store so you have to bring all your food with you. Also, there is no TV or WiFi so bring your books.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IMAndreaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Carlos, CA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Stayed at a private room on a new year's day break. I read on their hostel website that the private rooms are hard to reserve, but apparently they've opened up 4 newly built private rooms in Dec 2011, thus the availability was quite good when I called. Those new private rooms are located in a separate, dedicated building across from the older main hostel building, and the building has it's own brand-new kitchen that are shared only among those staying in those private rooms. I really liked the kitchen - clean, large, high ceiling, patio and sofa setting area, a long farmhouse table. Bathroom and shower rooms are shared between 2 private rooms. I don't have much experience with hostels in the USA, but this place was definitely one of the cleanest and more secluded place to stay (secluded both in terms of the hostel location itself and among guests).

Can't speak much about the main hostel building, but it looked cozy and welcoming.

The private room costed $120 per night for us and we shared the room with friends (4 adults and some small kids). It was really a great bargain and a wonderful stay all in all. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChihiroSaito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Point Reyes Hostel is a great location for hiking in the Point Reyes Seashore. The hostel beds are very comfortable with bedding provided and ample blankets. The 10PM Quiet Time is honored. The one disappointment was the during the day (10-4:30) you are not allowed to stay at the hostel. You MUST leave the property and noit return until 4:30 PM. You can leave your gear there, but you cannot return until 4:30 PM. So make sure you take a long hike!

Room Tip: Elk Preserve is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HollisCross621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Good if you want to relax, the service is pretty good, it's not too close to anything but whatever when you go to this kind of trip you know you are gonna drive a lot.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elvillatoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

The hostel is nestled deep into the woods, 5 to 10 miles from the visitors center, 2 miles from the beach and a little over half an hour away from the lighthouse. When I drove in, I was first struck by the flowers growing along this cottage-like building. When I entered, there is a lovely common area and large kitchen where you can cook if you would like. There is also a patio available where you can eat or relax outside. I was in the women's dorm on a Sunday evening. There was a high school group there that cooked a meal together but slept in the family area, so I was alone with two older women. The quiet hours are from 10pm to 7am and you are encouraged to shower and get any other noisy activities out of the way before then. Internet is available for $2 every 30 minutes but I was warned it was slow. Cell/Internet reception is extremely hard to get in the area and so I would strongly recommend getting any internet research done before you arrive. There were two toilets and two showers available in the women's dorm with the potential for possibly 10-12 women to sleep in the bunks. Everything was clean and the bed was plenty comfortable. I got a little warm that night as the only air conditioning I'm aware of was the open window, but it was fine.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EbethDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Point Reyes Station
3.9 mi away
The Lodge at Point Reyes
14.2 mi away
The Continental Inn
The Continental Inn
#1 of 1 in Tomales
87 reviews
21.2 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
502 reviews
19.3 mi away
Valley Ford Hotel
Valley Ford Hotel
#1 of 1 in Valley Ford
117 reviews
21.5 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point Reyes Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Reyes Hostel

Property: Point Reyes Hostel
Address: 1390 Limantour Drive, off Limantour Road, P.O. Box 247, Point Reyes Station, CA 94956-0247
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Point Reyes Station
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Point Reyes Station
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Point Reyes Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a secluded valley of the Point Reyes National Seashore, HI-Point Reyes is surrounded by 140 miles of trails winding through uniquely diverse habitats perfect for hiking, biking, and wildlife watching. The only lodging offered within the park, the hostel provides a fully equipped guest kitchen, cozy common areas with great views, and an outdoor patio and barbecue, along with the chance to experience the wonders of this unspoiled coastal wilderness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Point Reyes Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point Reyes Hotel Point Reyes Station

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing