We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Point Reyes Schoolhouse Compound
Nearby Hotels
Cottages at Point Reyes Seashore(Inverness)(Great Value!)
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Continental Inn(Tomales)(Great Value!)
US$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
US$94
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn Marin & Suites(Novato)(Great Value!)
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Petaluma(Petaluma)(Great Value!)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Metro Hotel & Cafe(Petaluma)(Great Value!)
US$145
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$156
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$191
US$178
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
31
8
2
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
8
2
3
2
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2011

My family and I actually live rather near Pt. Reyes, about 45 minutes away. But driving out to West Marin, and Pt. Reyes, is like a little bit of heaven...or Europe...it is just other-worldy. The compound of little cottages in the Schoolhouse is both charming and delightful. The grounds and gardens, even in this fall season, are full of flowers...everything is neat, clean and comfy, and just a stroll to the main street and delicious Bovine Bakery, bookstore, western wear, etc. etc. We were lucky and got to meet the owner, who has been there for 30+ years. She is amazing, a published author on West Marin, and a wealth of information! I think the Schoolhouse is the best-kept secret in Marin!! We will definitely go back!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sydney r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

A group of 12 of us recently spent a couple of nights at this wonderful place and it was so interesting because we used several of the rooms/cottages and they're all decorated differently and SO BEAUTIFULLY. We got to roam from one cozy spot to the next, enjoying all of the lush gardens and romantic settings. The owner is an artist and author, and her creative genius is visible in every view. We walked into town to have lunch, drove down through the ranches to the beaches, and took a picnic to celebrate our reunited group of friends. Lovely, magical, and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babettegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

This is one of my favorite places in the world. It's lovely, peaceful, and not overly cute or fancy. I've stayed in almost every unit on the compound and love them all, though Jasmine Cottage may be my favorite because of the curtained alcove where the bed is. Everything is comfortable and peaceful, and sets the perfect setting for relaxation and time with family or your partner. You can hang out in the gardens, cook for yourself, walk to town, go for a hike, read a book in the cottage. There's no place I would rather spend a weekend.

Room Tip: Again, I love Jasmine Cottage, but they are all beautiful.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We stayed here the week before a family wedding with the intent to explore the Pt. Reyes area. We rented the Schoolhouse which was like staying in a beloved family home. It was very clean and there were really beautiful flowers to greet us. The house had many separate areas which allowed different members of the family to do many different things. We walked to town for delicious meals and cooked our own with amazing produce from the local farmer's market. We will be back!

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
Thank 212NYC11th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Loved the feel and setting of the barn loft in Schoolhouse Compound. Number of goofy things that could easily be remedied, and we wondered why they had not. Microwave and toaster on a shelf in the kitchen, but no place to plug them in without moving them. No coffee filters for the drip coffee system. Lack of electrical outlets in the first place, and most did not work. Two elements on the range did not work. No BBQ on our patio as promised, so we moved one from another part of the property. Dishes dirty and cookware dusty. Still a beautiful and peaceful place to stay. Just up the hill from town so nice for walking to shops.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Havejeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews