We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Swedish delight”
Review of Lingonberry Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Point Reyes Station
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lingonberry Farm
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Highlights of our stay:
- Extremely clean room and bathroom.
- Comfortable bed with very soft sheets. We stayed in the Oland room and had the twin beds pushed together to form a king.
- A little patio area with views to the garden , sheep, and hills beyond.
- A yummy pancake breakfast with Lingonberries, chicken sausage, cheese, tomatoes, cucumbers, pickled herring, and a strawberry rhubarb "dessert".
- Free internet
- Very cool alpacas
- Very quiet
- Provided milk and OJ for us in the morning when we left for an early flight home (we requested)
- Easy drive into town and to the National Seashore :)

Only (very minor) complaints:
- Who ever cleans should look up. There are spiderwebs in the corners and the exhaust fan is very dusty.
- It is echo-y so we felt like we had to be super quiet...maybe a few sound dampeners on walls or hung from ceilings would be helpful?

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Giumesciscotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2011

Quiet peaceful home to stay - b&b. The couple who run it are extremely kind and warm people. The room was clean and very comfortable - the breakfasts were outstanding. We spent two nights here and would return. Only one item kept me from giving it 5 stars - for $165/night on weekends, we would have liked clean towels in the bath each day. Since I clean the floor/hair with the towel I bathe with, it just seemed icky to use the same towel the next day. The notice in the bath asked to use the towels two days in a row. This was our only objection.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seetheworld010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We spent two nights at this bright, spotless B&B right outside of Point Reyes Station and enjoyed our stay. Our room had a nice balcony overlooking the organic farm next door, and alpaca's and sheep grazed in the meadow. Breakfast (with some lovely Swedish touches!) was fresh and tasty. Good value and good location, not too far from town and its restaurants, and close to the magnificent Point Reyes parks, bays and beaches.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LP55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

We came and stayed for a long weekend and had a wonderful time. Our host John introduced us to their wooly alpacas, including a newborn, and Susan made delicious breakfasts, serving up cakes, pancakes, and omelets: something different each morning. For our hikes they made sure we had binoculars and snacks. Our room was very spacious, private, and tastefully done, with a private little patio. A common sitting area with a fireplace offered a welcoming spot in the evenings to read or sit with the other guests over a glass of port.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maenic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

My husband and I treated my parents to a few days at Lingonberry Farm in January and had a fabulous time. Susan was helpful and friendly and prepared a wonderful Swedish-style breakfast. The rooms were lovely and the common room had a fireplace, games, and complimentary coffee, tea and port. My mother is Swedish and she loved seeing all of the books, Carl Larsson prints, and traditional Swedish decor.
The best part: After discussing a recipe that called for vanilla sugar (typical Swedish ingredient and something I couldn't find in the stores) Susan actually gave me a box of it to take with me!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank umichfansinCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010

Susan and John built their retirement house with bed and breakfast accomodations in Point Reyes Station with their guests in mind. The rooms are very spacious, each with a view, private, comfortable, and simply, but beautifully appointed. It is minutes from the spectacular Point Reyes National Park and the quaint town, with wonderful shops and restaurants. (Don't miss Osteria Stellina for dinner or the Bovine Bakery for sweets.) The Swedish-style B&B is new, with bright wide-pine floors and high ceilings and a lovely breakfast room with a gas fireplace and outside terrace. We could walk out each morning for a pre-breakfast stroll on a park trail, enjoy the company of their alpacas and sheep, admire the beautiful gardens and hillside scenery, and then return to the house for Susan's Swedish pancakes or egg souffle. This is our second visit to Lingonberry Farm and we will certainly come back.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JodyManchester_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

First off, if you've never driven in this part of California you should know that the roads leading to Point Reyes Station must rank as some of the most treacherous in the United States. Most of them aren't marked for long stretches. Some intersections point to a road to take to a town without naming the road, so orient yourself using towns. They are very winding with steep grades and all sorts of switchbacks. To increase the difficulty this is a haven for bicyclists, who demand that you "share the road." I would recommend getting to this B&B before nightfall.

Lingonberry Farm is a real farm on several acres of rolling countryside and along with hosts and guest is home to alpacas and sheep.

Sue met us on arrival and was very helpful with dinner and driving recommendations.

We stayed in the Dalarna Room, which was huge and beautifully decorated with Swedish knickknacks and wall hangings. It had a sliding glass door that opened onto a patio that had a nice view of the surrounding hills. The only amenity missing was a TV, which we considered a plus.

Having come from a stay in San Francisco, the quiet of the farm at night was remarkable. Early in the evening, though, the sheep would come to the dining room window and bleat. I thought it was kind of soothing and they eventually stopped before it got late.

Breakfasts were excellent, with Swedish cheeses, sausages, crackers, and herring. There was also American breads and muffins. On Saturday morning Sue made Swedish pancakes that were as good as my great grandmother's. This was coupled with great conversations with fellow guests who were from Europe.

This B&B is a find, and we were sorry we were only staying two nights. It's a great place to relax.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CptAhab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Point Reyes Station
3.2 mi away
The Lodge at Point Reyes
20.2 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,777 reviews
0.7 mi away
Point Reyes Vineyard Inn
Point Reyes Vineyard Inn
#5 of 15 in Point Reyes Station
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lingonberry Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lingonberry Farm

Address: 12430 State Route One, Point Reyes Station, CA 94956
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Point Reyes Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Point Reyes Station
Price Range: £101 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Lingonberry Farm Hotel Point Reyes Station

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing