We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, cozy”
Review of Windsong Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Point Reyes Station
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Windsong Cottage
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Simple, cozy”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Very cute, cozy place. It's a yurt, quite a large one, half of which is the bedroom, and the other half is a living room and kitchenette. Beautiful view from the living room of Tomales Bay. Excellent location, minutes from Point Reyes Station.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank insearchoflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
44
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
usa
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I had a relaxing time. Only drawback is you won't want to leave.
There are tons of birds to watch and peace and quiet. The owner was helpful and takes care of the location fairly well. They provide you with food for breakfast.
There is a hot tub and grill. I will be sure to visit again when the weather is warm!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosaugen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My wife and I were looking for a quiet, relaxed, comfortable place to spend a few days near Pt. Reyes. Windsong Cottage was perfect. It was easy to arrange the reservation and everything was exactly as advertised. The cottage itself is sturdy -- there was some howling wind and we didn't feel a draft at all. The hot tub is protected from the wind -- and at night you can see some stars from the tub -- which is delightful. Having a well-stocked kitchen was also really nice for preparing our own breakfast. And, the location is excellent -- being very close to the town of Pt. Reyes Station.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ezusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell, California
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

My husband and I spent two nights in Windsong Cottage. So peaceful! Everything was lovely from the food for making breakfast to the view of the sunset from the living room. I brought stew and chicken casserole so that we could eat dinner in the yurt both nights. Thanks to all the Tripadvisor contributors, we knew exactly what to expect in the way of food: fresh fruit, eggs, orange juice, milk, English muffins, and butter. Plenty for two breakfasts! The location was ideal for us. Even though Pt. Reyes National Seashore was closed due to the government shutdown,
we had a wonderful time hiking on Mt. Tamalpais about 40 minutes away. After hiking, we slept so well in the very comfortable bed. I hope that we can return to this beautiful spot in the near future!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF Bay Area
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

It felt luxurious to arrive at such a quiet, beautiful little sanctuary, with no lobby or check-in process to deal with. Just straight through the gate, greeted by the garden, the view across Tomales Bay, and thoughtfully appointed cottage. I could have spent the weekend sitting on the strategically aligned sofa, watching the sunsets and moon from, the early morning sunlight, horses, rabbits and birds soaring - and sipping tea from the lovely selection, reading some of the fascinating collection of books on the shelves. The kitchen had everything we needed for making breakfast and snacks, the coffee table had a good listing of local restaurants, things to see and hiking trails to explore. We slept deeply with the sounds of nature in the distance, awoke refreshed. We knew the owner was in fact next door and ready to help as needed.He was such a friendly person. We'll definitely visit again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Devi1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This was a beautiful piece of paradise for my husband and I. It is so close to Point Reyes yet very private. The yurt was well equipped with all the basics plus some. The bed was very comfortable as well. I would recommend the experience to anyone wanting a tranquil vacation experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank cheri s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayward, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

As a surprise for my wife's birthday I booked the Windsong Cottage. My wife wondered as we got off Hwy 1 onto a dirt road. Finally found the sign on the fence. She was very pleased to find the very comfortable accommodations. A bowl of fresh fruit, a great view of Tomales Bay and an assortment of breakfast goodies. Tony had things in great order. Nice and clean with various utensils and dishes so you could cook if you want. He had the makings for great coffee, which we enjoyed. But we went into town and ate at the Station Cafe. A most relaxing couple days away.
We recommend this.

Room Tip: Has only 1 bed. But has a sofa bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RAY A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Point Reyes Station
3.3 mi away
The Lodge at Point Reyes
20.2 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,434 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Continental Inn
The Continental Inn
#1 of 1 in Tomales
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
502 reviews
23.9 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
21.0 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsong Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsong Cottage

Property: Windsong Cottage
Address: 25 MC Donald Ln, PO Box 84, Point Reyes Station, CA 94956-9759
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Point Reyes Station
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Point Reyes Station
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay in our 'Yurt,' a round cozy cottage nestled in the hills of Point Reyes Station. Private hot tub, California king bed, kitchen. Truly a wonderful experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Windsong Cottage Hotel Point Reyes Station

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing