We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique and peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Windsong Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Point Reyes Station
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Windsong Cottage
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unique and peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Luxurious yurt (not an oxymoron). Fully provisioned comfy getaway cottage at Point Reyes National Seashore. Nice kitchen, kingsize bed, jacuzzi, internet access. Overlooks pastoral scene with grazing horses in front and elk behind. Minutes from Point Reyes Station which has fine restaurants and gourmet bakery and food shops. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
43
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Ramon, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We love this place. We've stayed here several times and it has always felt like home. Point Reyes Station is such a relaxing place and Tony's Yurt is just the perfect place to stay. Private yet close to everything and so different. And when you arrive the fridge has some local foods for you to snack on! Love it here!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank G H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
192 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Spent two nights at Windsong Cottage. It's beautiful with lots of natural light, in a charming setting. Don't be put off by having to pay by check in advance. I thought it was a little odd, but it's just the way the owner does business/ When we pulled up, he met us at the door and showed us around. There were six eggs, English muffins, butter, orange juice, fruit, and milk waiting in the fridge. Two drawbacks: it's small, really intended for two people (like the table has two chairs) and the kitchen is very tiny. But it's priced much less than other B&Bs in the area. There is a skyhole in the center of the yurt and it gets bright inside pretty early. I'm pretty sensitive to light when I sleep, so I was glad I had a sleep mask. This would be a lovely place to spend time with a significant other.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pat909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Very cute, cozy place. It's a yurt, quite a large one, half of which is the bedroom, and the other half is a living room and kitchenette. Beautiful view from the living room of Tomales Bay. Excellent location, minutes from Point Reyes Station.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank insearchoflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

I had a relaxing time. Only drawback is you won't want to leave.
There are tons of birds to watch and peace and quiet. The owner was helpful and takes care of the location fairly well. They provide you with food for breakfast.
There is a hot tub and grill. I will be sure to visit again when the weather is warm!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosaugen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

My wife and I were looking for a quiet, relaxed, comfortable place to spend a few days near Pt. Reyes. Windsong Cottage was perfect. It was easy to arrange the reservation and everything was exactly as advertised. The cottage itself is sturdy -- there was some howling wind and we didn't feel a draft at all. The hot tub is protected from the wind -- and at night you can see some stars from the tub -- which is delightful. Having a well-stocked kitchen was also really nice for preparing our own breakfast. And, the location is excellent -- being very close to the town of Pt. Reyes Station.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ezusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell, California
Level Contributor
122 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

My husband and I spent two nights in Windsong Cottage. So peaceful! Everything was lovely from the food for making breakfast to the view of the sunset from the living room. I brought stew and chicken casserole so that we could eat dinner in the yurt both nights. Thanks to all the Tripadvisor contributors, we knew exactly what to expect in the way of food: fresh fruit, eggs, orange juice, milk, English muffins, and butter. Plenty for two breakfasts! The location was ideal for us. Even though Pt. Reyes National Seashore was closed due to the government shutdown,
we had a wonderful time hiking on Mt. Tamalpais about 40 minutes away. After hiking, we slept so well in the very comfortable bed. I hope that we can return to this beautiful spot in the near future!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Point Reyes Station
3.3 mi away
The Lodge at Point Reyes
20.2 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Continental Inn
The Continental Inn
#1 of 1 in Tomales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.7 mi away
Point Reyes Vineyard Inn
Point Reyes Vineyard Inn
#4 of 15 in Point Reyes Station
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
4.0 mi away
Point Reyes Hostel
Point Reyes Hostel
#1 of 2 in Point Reyes Station
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsong Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsong Cottage

Property: Windsong Cottage
Address: 25 MC Donald Ln, PO Box 84, Point Reyes Station, CA 94956-9759
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Point Reyes Station
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Point Reyes Station
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay in our 'Yurt,' a round cozy cottage nestled in the hills of Point Reyes Station. Private hot tub, California king bed, kitchen. Truly a wonderful experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Windsong Cottage Hotel Point Reyes Station

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing