We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hideaway at Ferrando's”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Point Reyes Station
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ferrando's Hideaway Cottages
Elk Grove
1 review
“Hideaway at Ferrando's”
Reviewed 26 January 2010

This is a fantastic place to stay. Homebaked treats every morning. All the trappings of home but with a better view. Greg and Doris have thought of everything in putting together a real hideaway. If I were a writer, I'd hole up there and write the Great American Novel. If I were a musician, I'd hole up there and complete a symphony.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlesBukowski69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
36
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2010

We are so grateful to the other travelers who submitted their review of Ferrando's Hideaway to TripAdvisor, because it was those reviews that convinced us to give it a try. It could not have been a nicer experience. Greg, one of the owners, greeted us upon arrival and showed us to our bungalow. (We stayed in the Alberti Bungalow.) It is a beautifully constructed building, with very comfortable and tasteful furnishings, including some artwork by Greg himself. The room was heated by a very efficient Franklin stove, which could be adjusted as needed. A high-speed internet connection was available at no charge, which came in handy for the few times we needed to connect with our workplaces. A TV was located in both the sitting room and bedroom. Right outside our bedroom was a hot tub, which is well-maintained, clean, and very private. Every morning we were treated to some delicious muffins, bread, and jam all baked by Greg's wife, Doris, in addition to orange juice, granola, yogurt, cheese, and fruit. We certainly didn't go hungry on this visit! In fact, it wasn't long before we felt like part of the family. Greg and Doris invited us on a some hikes, as well as to their home for dinner and drinks. Needless to say, we intend to return next year to this "home away from home."

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunteddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
159 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2009

Went there with my girlfriend (now she's my wife), and we were in heaven. The hosts were amazing, the jacuzzi was well used by us, and the bungalow was topnotch with a nice kitchen and bathroom (with a great walk in shower), and a great bedroom. They come fill up your jacuzzi when you are out exploring and they bring you fresh breakfast in the morning (with eggs form their own chickens), and cookies later in the day. But don't worry about privacy. This isn't really a B&B as most of us think of it. The properties are far enough way from the owner's house to ensure privacy, and you have full autonomy at the place. And the hosts are so nice that if you really, really want to be left alone, that won't be a problem.

The area is beautiful especially the National Seashore. Do yourself a favor and drive the length of it, then walk up to the top and look down. It's the same quality as Big Sur and you will never forget the view. The only downside of the area is that there aren't a lot of places to eat. Bottom line, it's been three years since my wife and I have been there and we still talk about the great time we had. And we have been to many places since.

Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank doke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, AZ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2009

We've been going to Ferrando's Hideaway for 14 years and it is Paradise. Doris & Greg are wonderful host's. Doris' baking is amazing and all the goodies she has to share are such a surprise everytime she delivers her baskets!!! We love the cottage the best but we have stayed in the bungalow also. Both offer amazing privacy and the private hot tub is so relaxing after a day exploring Point Reyes National Seashore. We love the hiking, the kayaking with Point Reyes Outdoors and the Farmers Markets (in the summer months). Spring in Point Reyes is like hiking in a coloring book there are so many wild flowers. If you go in the spring, be sure to hike to Chimney Rock or the Tule Elk Reserve. Being at Ferrando's and sitting outside, the sound of a car brakes the silence. The king bed is very, very comfortable. Doris's garden is wonderful and if you're there when the garden is in bloom, Doris has shared some of her vegi's and there is nothing like a tomato or carrot freshy picked and eaten. Yum. This is truly a fabulious find and would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AZSuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2009

We recently stayed for a couple of nights, looking for a quiet and romantic place near the coast. Doris and Greg made us welcome from the minute we arrived, even though we were drop-ins with no reservation, and we have a fabulous time. The cottage was comfortable and well-equipped. You could tell Doris and Greg had been running a B&B a long time because every time we said "I wonder if they have ..." they did! A binder of local information, books and even games were provided and the fridge was stocked with eggs (from their chickens), Doris' homemade jelly and more. The two person hot tub outside the bedroom door was inviting (and got lots of use) and the rest of the facilities were great. Freshly baked bread (or banana bread or apple/pear/rhubarb crisp) was on the doorstep each morning. That, and beans from a wonderful local coffee roaster, made for a perfect (peaceful and private) breakfast. A pleasant walk from downtown Point Reyes Station (with some nice restaurants and stores), this was the perfect hideaway. Doris and Greg are friendly but have a great system that let's them make you welcome while giving you lots of space and privacy. Perfect. We even got a jar of jelly to go.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamet123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spain
1 review
Reviewed 24 January 2009

If you are visiting the San Francisco Bay Area be sure to stay at Ferrando's Hideaway Cottages in Point Reyes just 50 minutes north of the Golden Gate Bridge . You will be sure to have a wonderful stay and the hospitality of the owners Doris and Greg is second to none. we have stayed there twice and hope to return this fall for a third time. There are two beautifully clean and charming cottages, located within walking distance of the village of Point Reyes, with all amenities including king size beds wood stoves and your own private hot tub. Your refrigerator is stocked with breakfast food and Doris delivers delicious melt in your mouth fresh baked goods by 8.30 every morning, she will also supply organic tomatoes and fruit which she grows on the property.We hiked the trails at the Point Reyes National Seashore, just minutes away and enjoyed the tule elk and many miles of unspoiled beaches. Point reyes is realy a magical place to stay and staying at Ferrando's Hideaway made it very special for us. we can't wait to return.

  • Liked — privacy and comfort in beautiful surroundings within easy reach of all we required
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fredcarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2008

We have just visited from England for the second time. When we planned our California trip this year, Ferrando's was our top priority. The bungalow is lovely, very private, very well equipped and comfortable. It's situated in wonderful Point Reyes at the head of Tomales Bay - in our view the most beautiful place in northern California.

All of this would be great anyway, but what makes it even more special is the warmth of the welcome from Doris and Greg. On boih visits they have taken us into their family. If you are invited to one of their pizza nights , then you are in for a real treat. Not just Greg's cooking, not just the flowing winer but the hospitality, the fun and the kindness. Doris's breakfast breads, muffins, peach crisps are heavenly and delivered right to your door every morning. We stayed three nights the first time, seven nights the second time and are already dreaming of returning in 09. This is a magic place.

  • Liked — the situation
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Britsincalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Point Reyes Station
3.0 mi away
The Lodge at Point Reyes
20.4 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Continental Inn
The Continental Inn
#1 of 1 in Tomales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
24.1 mi away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
1.0 mi away
Point Reyes Vineyard Inn
Point Reyes Vineyard Inn
#4 of 15 in Point Reyes Station
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferrando's Hideaway Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferrando's Hideaway Cottages

Property: Ferrando's Hideaway Cottages
Address: 31 Cypress Road, Point Reyes Station, CA 94956
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Point Reyes Station
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Point Reyes Station
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming cottages with private hot tubs, wood stoves, kitchen, BBQ, TV, internet/Wifi connection, surrounded by organic vegetable and flower gardens. Perfect for your special moments, honeymoons, anniversaries, etc. European hospitality and ambiance. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing