We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a delightful retreat!”
Review of Black Heron Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Point Reyes Station
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Black Heron Inn
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a delightful retreat!”
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We had a nice time at this tucked away B&B type get-a-way. We arrived to a lovely room. The fridge had milk and OJ for breakfast so be sure to check in there. There was a coffee maker, toaster, granola, coffee and fresh (delicious) fruit to enjoy. There was also two loaves of homemade bread. It was all the benefits of a B&B without having to gather together with the hosts or the other guests. The place was quiet and we never saw or heard another person unless we were out by the cars. The place was full but we never ran into anyone. On the day we checked out we noticed that there were about 10 diverse DVDs in the cabinet under the T.V. and wished we had known that before. But then again we really don't need TV on an anniversary trip right? We stayed in the Bay room and think that perhaps the Grandview Suite (upstairs) may have had a slightly better view but only because it was up a little higher.

Only one suggestion for the innkeepers is to refresh the towels in the bathroom while we are out. We could have used fresh ones on the second day but had to make due. Certainly by the second night new towels would be necessary.

The weather was delightful. We had cool nights and nice days. The bathroom has an awesome heater under the counter that keeps you super warm while in the bathroom. No need to use the room heater as the temp was perfect. If you are going in the summer it's notable that this place has no a/c and may be a little warm during the day.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TrvlnFmly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackheroninn, Owner at Black Heron Inn, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
We provide extra towels in all our guest rooms and leave our location phone numbers in case guests would like more of anything. We value our guests privacy and let them know that they are welcome to contact us for any information, etc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    30
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
96
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We stumbled across the Inn on the Pt Reyes lodging website and decided to give it a try. Really nice out of the way spot. We stayed in the Grandview suite on the third floor. The view was lovely and the room comfortable with a very nice continental breakfast provided. Only wish the room had ceiling fans and/or air conditioning as it got a bit warm mid-afternoon.

Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Walt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

A beautiful spot off the beaten path in Pt. Reyes. Great room, view & breakfast at a reasonable price. Limited services but we didn't care. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BunkyVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here - beautiful view from our picture window - pelicans on the pond. The bed was very comfortable and the spacious room was very thoughtfully furnished. Only wish we could have stayed longer.

Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivyland, PA
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We love northern California, and this inn captures that foggy-breezy-sunny-cool August day. Sitting on the deck you feel like you're part of the rolling meadows and Tamales Bay. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2011

This was such a wonderful place to stay. We stayed in the Ridge View reoom and it was so peaceful. We ate our breakfast on our balcony, looking over the great meadow views. Love the binoculars they provide (it's the little things that really add up). Bed was comfy and the room was a good size. We went on a little walk across the meadow to look at the view of the sea and cliffs. We will definitely come back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melika174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We really enjoyed our stay in the Grandview Suite at the Black Heron Inn. Clean and comfortable accommodation and very well provisioned. This property adjoins protected wetlands and has a wonderful view of the wildflowers, rolling hills and lagoon. Our unit had a sunny private deck with Adirondack chairs, an expansive wet bar with refrigerator (pre-stocked with breakfast items), a sitting area below and a bedroom loft with a comfortable king-sized bed. One caveat -- if you have any difficulty with stairs, you should reserve one of the two lower units instead since the bathroom and bedroom are located on different levels.
One of the nicest things about the inn is the privacy and quiet, yet you're only 5 minutes from Point Reyes Station. If you go, make sure to reserve a table at Osteria Stellina for dinner. It has the best local food.
The binoculars, selection of books and dvds, bathroom amenities and full-sized coffeemaker were definite pluses.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlust625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Point Reyes Station
3.1 mi away
The Lodge at Point Reyes
20.3 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,380 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Continental Inn
The Continental Inn
#1 of 1 in Tomales
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
545 reviews
23.8 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
Point Reyes Vineyard Inn
Point Reyes Vineyard Inn
#5 of 15 in Point Reyes Station
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Heron Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Heron Inn

Property: Black Heron Inn
Address: 51 Cypress Road, Point Reyes Station, CA 94956
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Point Reyes Station
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Point Reyes Station
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Heron Inn, features sweeping views of Tomales Bay and the majestic Inverness Ridge, is located next to the Point Reyes National Seashore and is one mile from Point Reyes Station and about one hour away from both San Francisco and Napa. The location makes Black Heron Inn the perfect Northern California getaway. The Inn has 3 guest rooms. In the Grand View Suite you will enjoy a 270°panoramic view, two floors to spread out in, a cozy upstairs loft featuring a king size bed, and a three-sided glass enclosed tower lounge perched high above the landscape below. The other guest rooms have great views, private entrances, spacious decks, and are furnished with queen size beds, sitting areas, private baths, robes and marble wet bars. A continental breakfast is provided in your guest room on your arrival. Get away from it all and take a relaxing trip out to Point Reyes and the Black Heron Inn."Lodging at Point Reyes includes some of the rarest settings in California...the beautiful Black Heron Inn with bluff-top views of Tomales Bay and the Inverness Ridge"...Tom Stienstra, Outdoors, San Francisco Chronicle. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing