We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above expectations”
Review of Black Heron Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Point Reyes Station
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Black Heron Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Above expectations”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed with my husband at the Grand Suite View and were very pleasantly surprised. The view is indeed awesone and the suite itself very spacious. I really liked the nice touch of having some basic stuff in the fridge for breakfast (but for European visitors would be nicer to have fresh bread and jam/butter than a tea or coffee cake - just a suggestion for the future).
We loved the binoculars and the cozy atmosphere.
Some previous reviewers complained about the fact that nobody welcome them when they arrived but actually we loved this - it enforces the feeling of intimacy and quiet. The black heron inn is like a retreat for nature and silence lovers. And if you need help, Mamie answers email (thanks Mamie!) which is exactly what I would expect
Loved our stay and we would go again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yomta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    30
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
96
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shaker Heights, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

First of all, one needs to know that address 51 comes AFTER 61, not before. That makes finding the place much simpler. The view is fabulous. The atmosphere is fabulous. The banana nutbread is fabulous. Owner is friendly and accommodating. This is a great place for a short vacation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdventureTraveler113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I recently spent three days at Black Heron Inn and found it a good experience. I stayed in the Bay View Room which was clean and ready to occupy. Fresh fruit, loaves of fresh bread and continental breakfast items provided a start to the day and snacks along the way. The view was soothing, the nights silent and dark. I was able to write for several hours each day, with no interruptions or distractions, except the call of birds.I enjoyed having wifi but no cell service, and the Point Reyes National Seashore is beautiful. The only drawback to the quiet would have been noisy neighbors. There is not much noise insulation between the two rooms on the ground floor of the Inn. Also, a microwave would have made heating water for tea easier. I highly recommend the Inn if quiet and beauty are on your "to do" list.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosalie51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed at the Black Heron Inn two nights. When we woke up the first morning, we saw a green heron at the pond without having to step out the door. The Inn was comfortable, quiet and had an incredible view. The innkeepers provided us with soy mile and gluten free cookies for breakfast. The bed was comfortable and the living room chairs were perfect for reading a book or watching a movie. Great restaurants only a mile or two away. Plus Pt. Reyes and Tomales Bay State park are easily accessible making this location excellent for hiking, paddling or cycling.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheringham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We spent 4 days at the Black Heron Inn so we could explore the wildlife of the nearby Point Reyes area - sure there was plenty of birds moving through on migration and we saw the start of the Grey Whale movement as well as the odd Racoon and Tule Elk as well as Californian Sealions and Elephant Seals. To be fair however the countryside around The Black Heron Inn was just as rich in wildlife ... particularly birds. From Green Herons to Wild Turkeys viewable from the veranda to the colony of Dark crowned Night Herons at the end of the drive.
Stay here ... keep your eyes open and you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wildlifetours1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This was our second time at Black Heron Inn, our first in the beautifully situated Grand View Suite. This was just what the doctor ordered -- a quiet mid-week stay in gorgeous surroundings. If you're looking for a more typical B&B experience, with shared meals and new best friends and chatty hosts, be aware that this is not for you. But if you want an almost cabin-like freedom and privacy, not rising to meet a breakfast schedule, not wondering when the housekeeping service might drop in, then absolutely give Black Heron Inn a try. The view from your dining nook is amazing. (The attached photo was taken at sunset, shortly after our check-in.) The provided breakfast foods, coffees, teas, and fruit are tasty and fresh; no stove or oven, but the microwave does the job, and the grocery and restaurants of Pt. Reyes Station are a quick drive, or nice walk, away. Bathroom is nice and clean, and the upstairs king sized bedroom area is cozy. You can walk to town (bring a good flashlight at night!) and on the way be sure to check out the incredible night heron colony where the driveway meets the road. And of course, the glories of Point Reyes are a short drive away -- you can do a nice hike and still have time to relax with tea or coffee and a good book. Oh -- the t.v. is big, appears new, and is great for evening DVDs ... if you can stay awake in the reclining leather chairs! We loved our stay and will absolutely be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

A wonderful spot, comfortable accommodations, and great view just a minute or two from excellent restaurants in Point Reyes. Great place to base a Pt. Reyes birding outing. Especially liked the Black-crowned Night Heron rookery right on the property!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank efm-ak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Point Reyes Station
3.1 mi away
The Lodge at Point Reyes
20.3 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,269 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Continental Inn
The Continental Inn
#1 of 1 in Tomales
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
21.3 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
490 reviews
3.6 mi away
Point Reyes Hostel
Point Reyes Hostel
#1 of 2 in Point Reyes Station
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Heron Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Heron Inn

Property: Black Heron Inn
Address: 51 Cypress Road, Point Reyes Station, CA 94956
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Point Reyes Station
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Point Reyes Station
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Heron Inn, features sweeping views of Tomales Bay and the majestic Inverness Ridge, is located next to the Point Reyes National Seashore and is one mile from Point Reyes Station and about one hour away from both San Francisco and Napa. The location makes Black Heron Inn the perfect Northern California getaway. The Inn has 3 guest rooms. In the Grand View Suite you will enjoy a 270°panoramic view, two floors to spread out in, a cozy upstairs loft featuring a king size bed, and a three-sided glass enclosed tower lounge perched high above the landscape below. The other guest rooms have great views, private entrances, spacious decks, and are furnished with queen size beds, sitting areas, private baths, robes and marble wet bars. A continental breakfast is provided in your guest room on your arrival. Get away from it all and take a relaxing trip out to Point Reyes and the Black Heron Inn."Lodging at Point Reyes includes some of the rarest settings in California...the beautiful Black Heron Inn with bluff-top views of Tomales Bay and the Inverness Ridge"...Tom Stienstra, Outdoors, San Francisco Chronicle. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing