We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun unique place for a gathering of friends”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Point Richmond
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
East Brother Light Station
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
181 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“A fun unique place for a gathering of friends”
Reviewed 12 August 2011

I think it has all been said before.....how you think you are on the road in the movie "Deliverance" for awhile.....and this could NOT be the right place....but it is! Then the very unique experience of staying on an island, a very serene and quiet place, with only the noise of the birds and wildlife around. The food was fabulous as everyone has stated. I just thought I would add that we were invited there by my sister-in-law and her husband who made it a mini-family gathering and it was such a perfect place for that sort of thing. Sure is is a great place for an anniversary ...a perfect couple place as everyone has said....but it is also fun to go with a group of friends, or relatives. We had the best time and are going to recommend it to others. I am really klutzy and admit that I was worried about that ladder that we had to climb. Peter said that the sea was about as rough as it gets on our trip over and yes, the boat was bobbing some when I had to climb the ladder but it really was no problem! Once you get your feet on the ladder, it is not going anywhere:)
We stayed in Walter's Quarters......if you want to be alone, that is a plus for this room.....the room is much smaller than the others....the bed is just a double......or at least smaller than my queen bed at home. The bathroom is in the Fog room, which smelled like my dad's shop (he was a welder) and so for me...I loved that smell....might bother some. You did not smell it when you were in the room:) The bed was not really comfortable.....BUT I am telling you those few negatives......the whole experience was GREAT and I highly recommend that you try it:) It is hard to do the ratings below as this is just a one of a kind experience....so fun~

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
68
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

It's been said by previous reviewers: Great boat ride, Superior location, food far beyond expectation, great night sky and view of the SF skyline, excellent romantic potential, exceptional historian / chef hosts (engaged to be married, by the way)... Did I mention the incredible food?
Immense tankers travel nearby, seagulls, pellicans and seals lounge about, and in the morning we were introduced to the foghorn- memorable! It goes by far too quickly. -Tom

Room Tip: sleep is an option with a windowview like this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tr4par
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, CA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

The location of the lighthouse inn is incredible with 360° views from the island. The rooms and bathrooms are spotless. Our room, West Brother, had wonderful light from the large windows and a lovely view of the Marin coastline. At night, from the bed, you could see the moon and its reflection glistening off the water.

Getting there is an adventure but well worth the trip. The road over the hill into the harbor is in very poor condition; be forewarned. The boat ride was an easy 8-minute jaunt to the very private and peaceful island.

The innkeepers are charming and do a nice job of keeping things running smoothly. The food was good and attractively served. The price was a bit high considering the accommodations (shared bathrooms, no showers allowed for overnight guests) but it was a unique experience and we’re glad we went.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LS-Los_Altos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2011

You hate to lable anything "perfect" but the East Brother Light Station was. There was literally nothing to find fault about. The location is stunnung. The facility is well-maintained. The Sister's Room is spacious and comfortable. Peter Berhunt is a great host and tour guide. Dina Krasov is a demon cook. The time we stayed was sunny, the only sun in two weeks of rain (It would have been just as much fun in the rain). Yes, it was $325 and worth every cent. Appitizers and champaign on arrival. A four course dinner with two different wines. A wonderful breakfast. That's a bargain for San Francisco! Our fellow guests were great company.

A day on the EBLS is as restful as it gets. We shall return!

Room Tip: Look at the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Peripatetical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chester,sc
Level Contributor
115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2011

Our boat ride to the lighthouse was enchanting. The climbing up the ladder to" terra firma" was adventuresome. The views of San Francisco,San Rafael bridge,Oakland Bay Bridge,Mt."Tam",Two Sisters,West Brother Island....where do I stop? Location,location,location! The island is 100% East Brother property.The rooms were very clean as were the whole grounds. The meals were included in the tariff . Dina & Peter graciously prepared & served four very tasteful courses at dinner. Fellowship and experience after dinner was enlightening and cordial. Breakfast the next morning was very fresh with fruit and yogurt. Dina's granola was great. A spinach egg omlette completed breakfast. After breakfast a teaching tour of the total grounds was given. At 11 AM,it was time to return via boat to the harbor.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank palmettosojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Osos, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2011

Want to escape to an island? Want wonderful food, wines and attentive care, along with a dash of history and adventure? For many years I have been aware of East Brother Light Station, and we finally got there for my husband's birthday in early February. It is worth the effort - not only a charming Victorian 1870's lighthouse B&B, but a delightful trip into the past with gorgeous vistas of San Francisco from your rock in the East Bay. Your hosts Peter and Dina are gracious, attentive and knowledgeable, and Dina is a fabulous chef, using local produce, cheeses, wines and coffee. There are only five rooms, so it's cozy. We were very lucky with weather, which was so mild that we could have our homemade hummus and pita chips at the outside table, watching the sun set over Mt. Tamalpais and West Brother Island. Dinner was delicious and elegant: wild mushroom soup, a greens/Halouma cheese salad, roast chicken with garlic mashed potatoes, and both strawberry shortcake and creme brulee for dessert. Breakfast was also fresh and hearty - buckwheat crepes stuff with bacon and apricot jam, fruit, and various breads and jams. Wines, champagne and coffee complimented the menus.
It's a bit of an adventure getting to EBLS. You take a rough road across an abandoned Navy base to the charmingly funky San Pablo Yacht Harbor, where Peter picks you up with the EBLS boat. I was a little worried about the laddder one has to clijmb from the boat to the landing, but it is firmly anchored in concrete and has enough height that you don't have to crawl on your belly to get ashore, you can step onto the landing. Our group of six ranged in age from late 50's to 80, and we all scrambled up with no problem. Once on the island, Dina shows you around, and gets you settled, then Peter regales you with the story of the lighthouse's rise, fall, and restoration. In the morning, Peter will fire up the old 'diaphone' foghorn and blow it for you. It''s LOUD!
EBLS is not cheap - rates start at $295/night. But for a special occasion or just to get away to something a little magical, it is well worth the cost. I hope to go back when I am 80!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lanisteele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2011

I've known about East Brothers for about 25 years and finally made reservations to give it a try. As Vinnie (who was one of the other guests the night we stayed) mentioned the trip to the dock to catch the boat was an adventure in itself. This area is really in the backwaters of the bay just over the hill from an oil refinery. The not so maintained road takes you through an abandoned military reservation and past the remnants of old buildings and docks. The marina from which guests are picked up is definitely off the beaten path and is a place time forgot. The dogs are many and very friendly. Our host Peter arrived right on time and transported us to the island. The tide was low so we had to climb about 10 feet up a vertical ladder at the dock. Dina was there to meet us. I can't stress enough what a great team they are, personally and professionally.
My wife and I were in the West Brother room which provided a great view of the bay and Marin County. The whole trip could not have been better. Yes, it is crisp and windy at times but dress warmly and you won't have a problem. As noted before we had champagne and a selection of cheeses and other delights in the study and got to meet the other guests. The dinner was nothing short of magnificent. Dina is truly an artiste in the kitchen. After dinner you have pretty much complete run of the island including the lighthouse on top which provides a spectacular view. Our bedroom was cozy and warm and the foghorn nearby was no problem at all. We shared a bathroom with a mother and daughter which was not a big deal at all. Breakfast was at 9:00 and, again, was filling and oh so delicious. We had trout for dinner and crepes and eggs for breakfast. Again, Dina outdid herself. She and Peter take their meals very seriously and spend a lot of time visiting markets in the area searching for new items.
After breakfast there was more time to relax or explore. After a week of bad weather the skies were crisp and clear. Peter gave a tour of the old fog horn mechanicals and fired up a near century old compressor and blew the old and very loud foghorn. Then it was back on the boat and the adventure came to an end.
The whole trip exceeded our expectations and we plan to return and tell everyone about it. Dina and Peter have been there only a month said they'll probably be there about two years. Don't miss them! Also, our group of visitors made the trip even more enjoyable. All ten of us were fairly local (Napa, Marin, Sacramento and Antioch) and shared a lot of experiences. But even if that were not the case you all become fast friends. Great place!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heloman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Point Richmond
6.4 mi away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
461 reviews
6.9 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
541 reviews
7.8 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#2 of 4 in Sausalito
969 reviews
6.1 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Berkeley
6.3 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Brother Light Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Brother Light Station

Property: East Brother Light Station
Address: 117 Park Pl, Point Richmond, CA 94801-3922
Region: United States > California > Point Richmond
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Point Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
East Brother Light Station Hotel Point Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing