We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Point Richmond
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
East Brother Light Station
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We stayed here recently for 1 night for a special occasion. The B&B was full with 4 other couples. It was a unique experience, taking the small boat over to the island, the tour about the island, chatting with the other guests, dinner and breakfast. We had absolutely picture perfect weather, so I think that made the stay even more enjoyable. We had the Marin room, which (in our opinion) was the nicest room in the house. There are new innskeepers and they are still working out the kinks. The food portions were small, but okay. The tour of the light house was just okay. They do like to pour the wine! Overall, a fun and romantic experience and would recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JeaFran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2012

We rented the entire B&B. Since dinner and breakfast are communal, you'll be sharing your meals with others on the island if you don't rent all five rooms.
The hosts were very friendly, the lighthouse was fascinating, the building and furnishings were charming and very clean although a little dated. The food was extraordinary but I hear there will soon be a new cook so this may not be predictive of the future.
It was so much fun seeing this little part of the bay that very few get to see. The entire experience was wonderful.
(Be forewarned that there is little water so you can't shower unless you stay more than one night. Also, there is a vertical ladder from the boat to the dock and the water is often choppy so this is not a trip for people with mobility problems.)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank KookaburraB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed for one night and had a wonderful time. The weather was great, the food was delicious and had an amazing time. There were two other couples on the island with us. We stayed in the San Francisco room and the view was something that I will always remember.

Room Tip: The San Francisco room was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alecsandrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The food was amazing. The hosts were friendly and informative. The room was warm with a beautiful view of the bay.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaliforniaRedGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

My husband & I were looking for someplace special to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. Who knew what an historic GEM we had right here in our own Bay Area! This amazing getaway is perfect for history buffs, lovers of Victorian architecture, gourmet foodies, seekers of romance, unique ambiance, or just peace & quiet. It was like traveling back in time for a pampered adventure. We were made to feel truly at home from the very moment we arrived.

Every detail was perfect. The light station has been beautifully restored so it feels truly historic without feeling old & worn. The bedrooms were lovely & cozy, decorated throughout with antiques. We chose the (beautiful) Two Sisters room because it was the most affordable (& worth every penny) but it was also the only room with a fireplace (fully equipped to make the fire tending easy) so we were able to add to the already wonderfully romantic atmosphere.

The building is spectacular, especially at night! The formal dining room was beautiful & inviting. The upstairs parlor was quite welcoming & very comfortable. And of course, exploring the lighthouse tower was a totally unique experience (our first time). Before we arrived, I was a little concerned about having to share a bathroom with two other guests but it was not a problem. In fact, if we didn't know that we were sharing it with another couple, we never would have even known.

Our hosts were absolutely lovely. They are newlyweds, who's love for what they do showed in every facet of our stay. Dina prepared a delicious, four course dinner, after our fascinating history lesson over hors d'ovres & cocktails in the parlor. Her homemade breakfast muffins & granola are fabulous as well! She has a totally unpretentious way about her as does her husband. They were genuine & friendly but respectful of your privacy at the same time. They seemed to take great pride in their roles as resident light station keepers & hosts.

The length of stay for one overnight seemed just the right amount of time. We highly recommend this historic gem to anyone wishing to break from the ordinary. Also, in these tough economic times, it feels good knowing that the cost to stay supports a wonderful historic landmark that will hopefully be here for many future generations of explorers.

Room Tip: Two Sisters room between Nov - March has a fireplace to use. Our guess about why this particular ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TessandMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

It has been quite a few years since we first visited East Brother Island. So why write now? Because everything the others say about the wonderful island is true and the quality is maintained perfectly where so many other special places lose their way with success. It is important to know that you can read these reviews next year or in three years and trust that the delight of this so very special place will still be there.

We took a B&B tour of Northern Central California throughout the wine country and coast. East Brother Island was the highlight of about 10 B&Bs on that trip. Many were great, a few were excellent, this one was best! We knew it when we experienced it and in hindsight it has remained at the very top of the list even though we have traveled to many exotic places throughout Latin America and Asia - even lived in some... Still on the top of the list.

Bring your sweetie, but be ready to like her (him) because your partner will be the focus of this romantic stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank not-so-easy-money
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

The experience is both exciting and restful. Fantastic gourmet food, great company, comfortable rooms. Don't miss staying on this island in the historic Victorian light house. Go the day and stay the night.

Room Tip: Only four available,two with bathrooms, two with bathrooms adjacent (not a big inconvenience). Marin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim- Carol Jo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to East Brother Light Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Brother Light Station

Address: 117 Park Pl, Point Richmond, CA 94801-3922
Region: United States > California > Point Richmond
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Point Richmond
Price Range: £149 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
East Brother Light Station Hotel Point Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing