We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A unique stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Point Richmond
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
East Brother Light Station
Redwood City, CA
Level Contributor
173 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A unique stay”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Although rather pricey for a nice, but not special room this place is worth going to if for nothing else the unique experience of staying on a small island with a light station and B & B on it.
Start out with an interesting drive to the pier then a small boat ride to the island. Soon you will get champagne and very nice hors oeuvres. Followed by a nice dinner with wine and the other guests.
The rooms are small, but if you get one of the rooms on the second floor you will have a private bathroom and very nice view.
The innkeepers are wonderful and you will get an interesting tour and information about how the light was keep in the "old days."
All in all this was a very interesting and enjoyable experience. (One night was sufficient as there is nothing much on this very small island).

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms are en suite .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1ajf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
66
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We went to the island in early 2013 to discuss arrangements for our intimate wedding there (this site does not allow us to input a correct date). We were extremely upset to find later that the new "light keepers" were actually not fully prepared to proceed, leaving us unable to find another venue that could accommodate the date we had chosen - which then caused a number of our guests to be unable to attend our wedding because we had to change the date.

It appeared to my husband and I that the reputation of the "inn" had been built on the prior performance of a couple who had left many months before, and that the replacement couple turned out to be another example of the kind of people who come to the San Francisco Bay Area to sell the gems of our home like gimmicks. As natives, we are quite familiar with most of the fine qualities of this region, which we treasure and which others exploit.

Not only did it take 2-3 weeks for the "light keepers" to follow up, but they presumed to gouge us for an event of a dozen people (it's amazing what the word "wedding" does to vendor fees). Although certainly not sophisticated in terms of the level of service that their pricing should convey, the "light keepers" were trained in how to be somewhat vague in order to avoid liability. The proposed menu was not "gourmet," the proposed officiant fee was twice what anyone else was charging, and they failed to tell us up front that a large additional fee - above and beyond the already high price of the rooms (we'd planned to rent all of them) - would be charged just to use the place. When we tried to investigate exactly who to contact to protest the failure to disclose, we discovered that the management of the light station is couched in some obscurity; we ended up writing a letter that was never even acknowledged, much less answered.

The up side is that East Brother Light Station is a piece of history that people should visit, but we recommend that folks either go for an inexpensive day trip or scale down their expectations related to any overnight stay. In terms of the staff, their advertising is a bit overblown when it comes to quality.

Room Tip: The smallest room is very small and not as interesting as advertised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jefkjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Awesome is an understatement. Hidden gem. Victorian B&B Lighthouse on a rock in the middle of the bay looking onto San Fran at night. Ferry out for dinner, sunset, & more. Much more social than most B&Bs with the 4 couples sharing dinner and breakfast together at the large table, meeting new people was half the fun. Working the light and fog horn was cool.
Sitting in the top of the light for sunset with champagne and my Jenni was the best! This is one of those memories you keep talking about and people keep asking about with that look of wow and envy.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Hills, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My Husband and I stayed at this LIght house a few weeks ago and it was just amazing! We were picked up by a boat and taken to the little island. We then had champagne and appetizers with 8 other very nice people we met. at 6:30 we had a gourmet sit down dinner with all of us together and unlimited wine poured. It was a fantastic dinner! We took so many photos, the wildflowers were blooming, we were surrounded by the water and could see Richmond Bridge. The next morning we had a wonderful breakfasts with all of the guest! it was a great way to start out our trip! I would recommend this experience to everyone! also the rooms were so cute and nicely decorated!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cindyda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed there for one night and it was fabulous! The dinner was scrumptious and the camaraderie among the five couples was great. Jude and Richard are outstanding hosts - we will be sure to tell everyone back home in Miami what a gem this place is!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wanderingcubes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewgmurray
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The fiance surprised me with a night here on the island. Absolutely a great night away from SF, felt like a world away but so close. Champagne, cheese, wine, four course dinner - couldn't ask for better food or drink.

The light house is from 1870 so you can't expect luxury accommodations but they make up for it with comfortable beds and great hosts. Fun history lesson and interactive with firing up the old diesel engines to blast the fog horn.

Great night away.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank andrewgmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chino Hills, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We are from So Cal and this is a secret in San Francisco. We brought our 15 yo son. We all enjoyed it so much. Incredible place to go and gorgeous views from every place you are. The islands history is amazing. Go up into the light house day and night and the view ---WOW - the light is SO bright at night. A must do. The number of guests is 10 plus 2 innkeeper. Its very friendly and welcoming. You have a lot of space to relax and enjoy the views . The inn is spectacular. Nicely renovated for all of us to enjoy, very clean and comfortable beds. The food was very, very good (homemade -outstanding). There was enough activities for my son to enjoy and explore. So so much to see . Highly recommended and must do in San Francisco. Thanks to Jude and Richard for making our stay #1.
The Fog Horn activity is very interesting and fun!!

Room Tip: view the website and pick the one you want. You are not in it very much. Staying one night means...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank nenafamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Point Richmond
6.4 mi away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
6.9 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
6.3 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
5.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Corte Madera Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Brother Light Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Brother Light Station

Property: East Brother Light Station
Address: 117 Park Pl, Point Richmond, CA 94801-3922
Region: United States > California > Point Richmond
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Point Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
East Brother Light Station Hotel Point Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing