We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice little inn not too far from sacramento.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westhaven Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Westhaven Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pollock Pines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A nice little inn not too far from sacramento.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

This inn was a very nice stop to break and rest for the night. Staff were helpful. They even had a playpen for my son to sleep. Clean. Had a porch on back of every room where we could watch the hummingbirds. It was reasonably priced. We stayed here again on our way back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Northameric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    14
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
10
6
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oroville, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

The room was actually very nice especially for being in a little mountain town and for costing much less than Best Western up the road.
Very large room, comfortable bed, good tv, and decent appliances.
The manager was very nice to deal with checking in.
We were originally booked to stay 2 nights and ended up registering for a third night.
All went well until the third night, that is when it got weird.
We got in pretty late the last night and noticed that the room was only partially cleaned as though the maid got pulled away to do something and forgot to come back. Clean bathroom towels simply laid on the floor, trash and coffee pot not emptied, and beds not made. It was very obvious they had started to work on the room and didn't finish! We didn't think much of it though and it was late so we put our groceries in the little fridge and went to bed. It was the next morning when we went to get our breakfast out of the fridge that we noticed it had been turned down from where we had set it when we checked in and all of our food was too warm and no longer good. We have started making it a habit to check these fridges when we get a room because more and more we are finding them turned off or unplugged probably in an effort to save energy. We specifically set the fridge the first night and it was fine until apparently on that third day it was turned down! When I complained to the manager he was very argumentative that this was impossible and treated me as though I had just made it all up for some reason! He said his maid had never had a complaint in 8 years and that I should have shown him the room the night before. The way he was behaving about the issue had me realize that yes maybe I should have grabbed his whiney foreign [--] by the hair and dragged him into the room the night before to show him. I hate it when some idiot hiding behind a desk thinks you the customer must just be completely dreaming something like this up as he seemed to behave. And he insisted the fridge must have just spontaneously changed itself! The knob was not loose nor was it bumped and we had to turn it up when we checked in so it is obvious they must turn them down between visits which in this case cost me money on groceries.

Here is what I believe happened...
We were originally scheduled to stay 2 nights so on the third day the maid came in, turned down the fridge, began to make the room, then realized we had extended for 1 more night so simply quit in the middle of cleaning figuring they would do it after we checked out.

Now, which do you think makes more sense?!
A foreigner trying to save money turns down the fridge between customers not knowing how long the room will sit empty as evidenced by our having to turn it up when we checked in, and saving expenses on not making the room during your visit until after you leave as some motels happily advice you upfront about...
...or I simply dreamed up the fact the room went half done and the fridge magically changes itself!
In summary...
The rooms are large, clean enough, quiet enough, and the manager friendly enough when he isn't trying to say you are a fat faced liar. It is fine if they want to wait to do the rooms and turn down the fridge in between visitors but they shouldn't try to make you feel like an idiot about it!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

I traveled with 2 of my grandsons to visit family in Pollock Pines and stayed at the Westhaven because the price was much lower than the Best Western. The owner was very nice and honored my AAA discount. After getting our PJs on, one of my grandsons announced he was hungry. We went to the office to see if they sold any snacks. Though the office was closed, the owner heard us and answered the door. He offered my grandsons a package of the breakfast muffins. They were delighted and his kindness made my evening much happier! The room was very comfortable and a good value.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeditationTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

We were their with our two dogs for an overnighter. The room was clean and spacious but the carpets were a bit disgusting but keep in mind I was in a room that allowed dogs. We were there in late December 2012 and it took a long time for the heater to get to comfortable temperature but in all fairness, we arrived at the hotel after midnight. Overall, the room was average. The office staff was friendly and accomodating. The dogs loved the snow in the morning! Breakfast was store bought muffins and packaged juice, not great but enough to get us to a better food destination!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NoStopSigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merida
Level Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

We were in Pollock Pines to visit family, and needed a clean and convenient place to stay. Westhaven is family-run, exceedingly clean and we were surprised that our room was so large. It's nice to be able to spread out and not feel cramped. This was a pretty run-of-the-mill hotel room except that it was REALLY clean and it was huge. There was also a nice balcony in the back that looked out to trees. The room had a microwave and refrigerator, a good sized TV with enough cable stations to keep us entertained and two queen beds. All this for under $100 bucks. Good deal!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YucatanLiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reno, nv
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

We found this place after first checking with the Best Western a mile down the road, something about paying 129.00 plus tax for 10 hours just didn't appeal to me. (I didn't even pay 100.00 for a night on the 43rd floor of The Shearton in New Orleans during Mari Gras)

The place seemed clean from the outside, the gentlemen as the desk said he'd give us a deal, showed us his chart and said 69.00, with tax it came to 79.00. He put us in Room 210 because of the newer 32 inch t.v., but, after an hour of running the a.c., the room didn't cool off and was at 85 degrees. My husband went and told the manager, he came and tried to fix it with no success so he moved us to the room next door.

The rooms were big with lots of room to move around, I liked all the windows, the balcony was a nice surprise.

Breakfast was disappointing, but, I really wasn't expecting much. We ended up with a twin package of muffins and a fruit punch capri sun.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernice743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearlake, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

To begin with: don't book your room here thru Travelocity.com...total rip-off...the price of Rm. 168(2 queen beds, kitchenette,covered patio, 2nd floor) was $67.00 per night(2 nights)...Travelocity gouged out another $20 per night just to do the booking(legallized extortion)...typical Middle Eastern hospitality...room was clean enough but, had a strong and mildly offensive odor(some sort of carpet cleaner detergent?) There are 2 pet friendly rooms but Travelocity agent could not speak English well enough to communicate the fact to the equally inept motel manager who gave me a hard time because I brought my pet. Lot of hiway noise out on patio...good view of adjoining propertie's back yards...spend the extra money and get a room at the Best Western Motel one mile further up the road.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to front desk are further away from hi-way noise...Motel 6 quality or lower
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pollock Pines
10.6 mi away
Historic Cary House Hotel
Historic Cary House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Placerville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
12.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Placerville Inn
8.3 mi away
Mother Lode Motel
Mother Lode Motel
#5 of 5 in Placerville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Gold Country Inn
Gold Country Inn
#4 of 5 in Placerville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
20.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Cameron Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Stagecoach Inn
BEST WESTERN Stagecoach Inn
#1 of 2 in Pollock Pines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westhaven Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westhaven Inn

Property: Westhaven Inn
Address: 5658 Pony Express Ct, Po Box 1616, Pollock Pines, CA 95726-9332
Region: United States > California > Pollock Pines
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pollock Pines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Westhaven Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Westhaven Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westhaven Hotel Pollock Pines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing