We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Breakfast Anywhere!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Port Hueneme
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Everything about the place was WONDERFUL, but the complementary breakfast was a show-stopper! Delicious food, huge selection, something for everyone. Our room was gorgeous and very clean, and the housekeeping staff was delightful... actually the entire staff was amazing! Location can't be beat- a short walk to the beach, great Thai food across the street, some little shops and great coffee a block or two away. Free parking! We were there for 5 nights and I have nothing but good things to say... so many little things, like the cookies in the lobby and the evening social (wish they did that every night). The pool was fantastic, like a warm bath, and the hot tub was perfect... we were in that pool for HOURS every day! Not sure when we'll be headed that way again, but I know we wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else! FYI, this is the only time I have ever given a hotel ALL "excellents!"

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012

My family and I just stayed here and we have no complanits, the beds were comfortable and the staff was real pleasant!! Two blocks form the beach and not mention the free breakfast was a big hit!!! Very clean deffintly looking forward to another stay.

Thanks!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

The breakfast was one of the best we've ever had from a hotel, and the pool was clean and heated, we all loved it. And the beach is within walking distance.
My only complain is that even though I booked a suite ( we had our 3 kids) the room only had 2 queen beds; they accomodated a rollout bed for extra $10 per night.
Overall a great stay, we will stay here again if possible.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angelica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012 via mobile

I am so glad we found this hotel. Monday through Thursday, they offer complimentary drinks at night- 2 per person! Not just beer and wine, they have liquor too! And then the free breakfast in the morning was great- waffles, eggs, biscuits, gravy, bacon, sausage, cereal and fruit.

The location was good too. We chose this location because we wanted to stay near the beach for a few days. The hotel is about a 2-3 min walk from the beach. It is not crowded at all, that's the good thing. And the beach itself is clean and pretty. However, you have a factory to your right and smoke stacks to your left, so the overall beach scenery is not the best California has to offer. But, if you are on a budget, it is worth it for all the perks the hotel has.

It is about a 15-20 min drive to Malibu, and then another 30 mins or so to Santa Monica. The drive there is very scenic, so the time goes by fast.

Lastly, the service was great at the hotel. We booked a nonsmoking room, but when we got there, our room smelled like cigarette smoke. They switched our room immediately. We really appreciated their hospitality. If you are on a budget, and want to stay near the beach and near the more popular California cities, this is your best bet!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hakeb150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012 via mobile

Our first room had an awful smell of cigarette smoke so I called the front desk and they changed our room. The 2nd one was large and clean. The bed was comfy and the price was good especially with free parking, breakfast and 2 drinks per person.
We stayed here to have a cheaper room than Santa Monica. It was about an hour drive and Santa Barbara was 30 minutes. The scenery on the drives were nice. The beach in port hueneme was within walking distance, about 2.5 blocks. There was manufacturing plants on each end of the beach which messed up the views but the beach itself was nice and not crowded at all. If you have a reason to stay in port hueneme/Ventura or don't mind driving this is a good place to stay. Nothing fancy but a good clean hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebus20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

This hotel is in a good location near the beach. It is clean and the rooms are large and well maintained. The internet was reliable and free. The bed was reasonably comfortable. All in all it does all the basic things well at a decent price. You won't be wow-ed nor will you be disappointed. One thing to note is that my room on the second level on the wing with the breakfast room downstairs provides the "pleasure" of smelling at breakfast time like the breakfast room below. Unless you love waking up to the smell of waffles in your room, you may want a room elsewhere in hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajnsnnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Beds are hard as a rock. My hip was out of place when I woke up. Pillows are great. Front desk staff was okay...but I needed directions to Point Mugu & the young girl @ the desk had no idea where it was...
Breakfast was yummy...
There was no complimentary newspaper.
There were no oranges.
No complimentary drinks on the weekends.
Breakfast starts at 7 on the weekends not 6.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
Thank meowingcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Hueneme
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor
3.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort
10.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn, Oxnard/Camarillo
3.2 mi away
Best Western Oxnard Inn
9.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 23 in Ventura
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme

Address: 350 E Port Hueneme Rd, Port Hueneme, CA 93041-3209 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Hueneme)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Port Hueneme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Port Hueneme
Price Range: £96 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express, Port Hueneme, California. Port Hueneme, the "Jewel of the California Coast" is situated between Los Angeles and Santa Barbara and is within walking distance to the beautiful, pristine beaches of Port Hueneme. Our spacious, newly renovated guest rooms feature refrigerators and microwaves in every room and a complimentary Express Start breakfast served each morning. For exploring the area, the Holiday Inn Express is unmatched among hotels in Port Hueneme. Stay with us and you're just a short stroll from beautiful beaches, great shopping, excellent restaurants, fun attractions and local nightlife with Santa Monica and downtown Los Angeles under an hour away. Time your visit just right and you can join us for exciting annual events such as the Point Mugu Quiksilver Surf Competition, Port Hueneme Beach Festival, Ventura County Fair, Point Mugu Air Show, California Strawberry Festival, Banana Festival or Salsa Festival. Our government or business travelers will enjoy our close proximity to the main entrance of Naval Base Ventura County, the Port of Hueneme and many major businesses. The 24-hour Business Center and complimentary wired and wireless HSIA offer convenience, and our spacious meeting room is perfect for hosting meetings or events. This Port Hueneme hotel is also located just a few blocks from the new U. S. Seabee Museum and three miles from the Ventura County Maritime Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Port Hueneme
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Hueneme Hotel Port Hueneme
Country Inn Port Hueneme
Port Hueneme Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing