We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Owners Completely Renovating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Port Hueneme
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2013

My husband and I have lived just down the block from this hotel for 3 1/2 yrs. We've had friends stay there and they were very pleased with the Hotel. Our Election Voting Poll is located in one of the meeting rooms so we've been inside many times and it is a very nicely decorated, clean, classy hotel. Our friends said they were very impressed with the breakfast; that it was delicious and plentiful. Port Hueneme is a quiet, attractive beach community; we have always felt quite safe walking around the beach and the neighborhoods, day or night. We've also watched the progress of the renovation and quite frankly been blown away that everything is being replaced, even tho it looked pretty good the way it was to us!! The absolute best thing about Port Hueneme is that it is so peaceful and the beach is not crowded. We're a little off the beaten path-- and we like it that way-- but it's only 5 minutes to Oxnard Marina with restaurants and shops, 10 minutes to downtown Oxnard, and 10-15 minutes to downtown Ventura. We are also only a mile from the huge Ventura Navy Base which houses the U.S. Seabee Museum and about 6 miles from Ventura Harbor and the National Park Visitors' Center for the Channel Islands, which are visible from the beaches. We feel sure, from what we've seen, this Hotel will be even better than it has been when they fully re-open as Holiday Inn Express.

Room Tip: This is a very quiet community so I would say they are all good locations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YAYASister70128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruben F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear YAYASister70128 ,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your comments about the many things we have to offer at the hotel.

Ruben Franco
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2013

My husband and I recently wanted to stay here, but we found out over the phone,
that this hotel has been sold to Holiday Inn Express. It is currently under remodel.
We stayed at the Country Inn and Suites in Ventura instead, but it was a disappointment.
On the way home, we stopped by this property in Port Hueneme to check it out.
We found that the hotel is partially currently open and we spoke to the manager. She told
us that the hotel is being completely redone. The new starting price will start at 109 dollars per night. They are serving breakfast, but it is upstairs now. It seems pricier, but it will have the
same large rooms with new everything. It is such a beautiful spot with the ocean so close, I
hope that it is as good as Country Inn & Suites was.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruben F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Laura W,

Thank you sharing your experience with us.

Ruben Franco
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Everything about the place was WONDERFUL, but the complementary breakfast was a show-stopper! Delicious food, huge selection, something for everyone. Our room was gorgeous and very clean, and the housekeeping staff was delightful... actually the entire staff was amazing! Location can't be beat- a short walk to the beach, great Thai food across the street, some little shops and great coffee a block or two away. Free parking! We were there for 5 nights and I have nothing but good things to say... so many little things, like the cookies in the lobby and the evening social (wish they did that every night). The pool was fantastic, like a warm bath, and the hot tub was perfect... we were in that pool for HOURS every day! Not sure when we'll be headed that way again, but I know we wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else! FYI, this is the only time I have ever given a hotel ALL "excellents!"

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

My family and I just stayed here and we have no complanits, the beds were comfortable and the staff was real pleasant!! Two blocks form the beach and not mention the free breakfast was a big hit!!! Very clean deffintly looking forward to another stay.

Thanks!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

The breakfast was one of the best we've ever had from a hotel, and the pool was clean and heated, we all loved it. And the beach is within walking distance.
My only complain is that even though I booked a suite ( we had our 3 kids) the room only had 2 queen beds; they accomodated a rollout bed for extra $10 per night.
Overall a great stay, we will stay here again if possible.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angelica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012 via mobile

I am so glad we found this hotel. Monday through Thursday, they offer complimentary drinks at night- 2 per person! Not just beer and wine, they have liquor too! And then the free breakfast in the morning was great- waffles, eggs, biscuits, gravy, bacon, sausage, cereal and fruit.

The location was good too. We chose this location because we wanted to stay near the beach for a few days. The hotel is about a 2-3 min walk from the beach. It is not crowded at all, that's the good thing. And the beach itself is clean and pretty. However, you have a factory to your right and smoke stacks to your left, so the overall beach scenery is not the best California has to offer. But, if you are on a budget, it is worth it for all the perks the hotel has.

It is about a 15-20 min drive to Malibu, and then another 30 mins or so to Santa Monica. The drive there is very scenic, so the time goes by fast.

Lastly, the service was great at the hotel. We booked a nonsmoking room, but when we got there, our room smelled like cigarette smoke. They switched our room immediately. We really appreciated their hospitality. If you are on a budget, and want to stay near the beach and near the more popular California cities, this is your best bet!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hakeb150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012 via mobile

Our first room had an awful smell of cigarette smoke so I called the front desk and they changed our room. The 2nd one was large and clean. The bed was comfy and the price was good especially with free parking, breakfast and 2 drinks per person.
We stayed here to have a cheaper room than Santa Monica. It was about an hour drive and Santa Barbara was 30 minutes. The scenery on the drives were nice. The beach in port hueneme was within walking distance, about 2.5 blocks. There was manufacturing plants on each end of the beach which messed up the views but the beach itself was nice and not crowded at all. If you have a reason to stay in port hueneme/Ventura or don't mind driving this is a good place to stay. Nothing fancy but a good clean hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebus20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Hueneme
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor
3.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort
5.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oxnard/Camarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
5.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn, Oxnard/Camarillo
2.5 mi away
Inn at Oxnard
Inn at Oxnard
#10 of 14 in Oxnard
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme

Address: 350 E Port Hueneme Rd, Port Hueneme, CA 93041-3209 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Hueneme)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Port Hueneme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Port Hueneme
Price Range: £100 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express, Port Hueneme, California. Port Hueneme, the "Jewel of the California Coast" is situated between Los Angeles and Santa Barbara and is within walking distance to the beautiful, pristine beaches of Port Hueneme. Our spacious, newly renovated guest rooms feature refrigerators and microwaves in every room and a complimentary Express Start breakfast served each morning. For exploring the area, the Holiday Inn Express is unmatched among hotels in Port Hueneme. Stay with us and you're just a short stroll from beautiful beaches, great shopping, excellent restaurants, fun attractions and local nightlife with Santa Monica and downtown Los Angeles under an hour away. Time your visit just right and you can join us for exciting annual events such as the Point Mugu Quiksilver Surf Competition, Port Hueneme Beach Festival, Ventura County Fair, Point Mugu Air Show, California Strawberry Festival, Banana Festival or Salsa Festival. Our government or business travelers will enjoy our close proximity to the main entrance of Naval Base Ventura County, the Port of Hueneme and many major businesses. The 24-hour Business Center and complimentary wired and wireless HSIA offer convenience, and our spacious meeting room is perfect for hosting meetings or events. This Port Hueneme hotel is also located just a few blocks from the new U. S. Seabee Museum and three miles from the Ventura County Maritime Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Hueneme Hotel Port Hueneme
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Port Hueneme
Country Inn Port Hueneme
Port Hueneme Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing