We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Port Hueneme
Certificate of Excellence
Brentwood, Tennessee
1 review
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

HIE in Port Hueneme is a hidden gem! My husband and I flew in and out of LAX with a vacation destination of Santa Barbara, CA. We like to stay in a central location and travel to different cities. Port Hueneme is approximately equal distance to LA and Santa Barbara; perfect for us. I was told that it had previously been a Country Inn & Suites that HIE renovated and completed in January. Big spacious rooms, lobby, and breakfast area, very clean and tastefully decorated but what really separated it from all others was the staff. Exemplary! The front desk was always very friendly and helpful and never hesitated in greeting you with smiles and conversation as you passed. A special thanks to Kristi and Michael. Michael has a list of his own favorite restaurants in the area that he will gladly print out for you and those that we tried were very good. I have never seen a hotel run as efficiently and staff was always cleaning, whether sweeping the large brick entryway or polishing the banister. When you passed housekeeping in the hallway they would stop what they were doing, stand against the wall and greet you kindly. The women manning the breakfast area were awesome. They kept the food and coffee replenished, cleaned the tables, and were cheerful and stopped to talk to you. They would even come to your table and dispose of your used dishes and cups. There is a naval base in Port Hueneme and during our stay there were many reserve units staying at the hotel. The military were courteous and friendly and you would hardly know they were there except at breakfast, when they all gathered. It was amazing how the breakfast staff kept everything moving like clockwork and still had time to smile and be pleasant. We departed 1 day early to stay in LA because of our planned activities and our flight out and that HIE didn't compare. At breakfast I had to ask twice if there was anymore decaf coffee and had to wait for things to be replenished. The staff seemed totally overwhelmed even though they had more workers and 1/2 the guests. HIE Hueneme also has a free manager's reception Monday - Saturday which included beer, wine, mixed drinks, tortilla chips, cheese dip, salsa, raw veggies, olives, jalapenos, and pretzels. From the hotel it is only a serene, lovely 2 block stroll down a tree lined street to Port Hueneme Park, Pier, Ocean. It was so pretty and peaceful and we enjoyed starting our day out with a stroll along the beach before venturing for parts unknown. We could not have picked a better location for our vacation. We enjoyed going to the Oxnard Farmer's Market nearby (Sundays) and had the BEST strawberries we've ever eaten. We loved Ventura Harbor with the shops, restaurants and views. When we departed after 6 nights we were actually hugged by the woman in the breakfast area (forgive me because I've forgotten your name) and by Kristi at the desk. It was an awesome experience and vacation.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruben F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Libby M,

We appreciate feedback from all of our valued guests.Thank you for taking the time and sharing your comments with us. we look forward to seeing you in future.

Ruben Franco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    65
    18
    8
    5
See reviews for
58
47
15
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Nice rooms, located 1 blk from a very nice beach (no dogs allowed on sand, though!). Nice friendly staff! Here's the catch - They charge an additional $110 per night, per dog (no matter how small) non-refundable FEE. We were not told this when we booked this room through Hotels.com. Upon arriving and finding out having the dogs was going to cost us MORE than what we paid for the one night stay, we tried to cancel. Hotels.com would NOT give us our money back. So we were forced to pay the additional $110 Note -they were "nice" not to charge us $220 for two dogs and cut us a break. Lesson learned: always ask about additional non-refundable fees, avoid Holiday Inns, and never book through HOTELS.com!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Lisa N,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are so pleased you liked the friendliness of our staff. We sincerely apologize for the over-all issues you had during your stay. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escalon, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here two nights. We had the King Suite. The room was large and comfortable. Everything very clean and nice decor. Bed and pillows very comfortable. We had a handicap room which we did not request, but we were fine with it. My only complaint would be that the bathroom could use a table or more counter space of some sort. There was very little counter space for setting anything down. The bathroom was very large, so there was room for adding something like a table. We found it to be quite here and we slept well. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlmondBlossomCapital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruben F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear DutchGirlRipon ,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with us.We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Ruben Franco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I stayed here on two seperate overnight trips within a 5 day period. All my needs were met and overall the stay was satisfactory. The rooms were clean, the property is well kept, and the staff is friendly and professional. Parking is plentiful and the location is walking distance from the beach and a very short drive from the naval base. The location is also a short distance from Point Mugu. The manager reception was ok, but the food choices were not ideal. we were offered vegetables and make your self nachos (with just cheese). The liquor was low quality and the beer was served from large pitchers filled in the back. Bud Light was all that was offered. The breakfast was a light buffet and prepared ahead of time. The staples such as cereal, yogurt, pastries, and instant oatmeal are offered.....but made to order eggs, pancakes, and hash browns would be a nice touch if that could be accomplished. A very big dissapointment was the pool. It is tiny and tucked in a sad corner behind the hotel.....I was hoping to relax poolside but its just not a reality at this location.

Room Tip: If you are here for military purposes they are very accomodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hellsumz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruben F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Hellsumz,

We appreciate feedback from all of our valued guests, as this is our best source for improving our service.Thank you for sharing your comments with us.We look forward to assisting you in
the near future.

Ruben Franco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schweich, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I was shocked to find out that the pet fee for a one night stay is $110. That made the overall cost for one night $257 which is astronomical for a Holiday Inn. The room was nice but we will never stay there with our pet again. I almost wish they would just not accept pets at that rate instead of allowing you to book and then surprising you with that rate when you get there. We had driven six hours and it was 11pm. To late to try to go somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jandee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Jandee M,

Thank you for the candid review of our property. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. We are sorry our hotel did not live up to your expectations and regret that you were not happy with the pet fee. We appreciate feedback from our valued guests as this is our best resource for improving our services.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Ok where to begin, I was up in the area on business and our company booked this hotel. We arrived early in the afternoon and we were told that check in was not until 4:00PM. My coworkers and I decided to do a little shopping for groceries and we got done quickly. When we returned to the hotel we were told that they had rooms available for all of us. This at 3:00 so we got our rooms early and when I walked in the room was clean nicely decorated with all the bells and whistles you would expect from this chain. The lady at the front desk was extremely helpful and the entire staff was very friendly. There are restaurants all around and the beach is only a couple of blocks away.They start serving breakfast (free) at 6:00 am and this was an unexpected surprise. The food was good but with a limited selection. I didn't try the pool or Jacuzzi but it's available if you want it. Once my workday was done I get back to a nice clean room to relax for a bit. My overall experience was very pleasant and I would definitely recommend this hotel for work or play.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clos_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruben F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Clos_13 ,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us.We look foward to seeing you in the future.

Ruben Franco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonbeach
Level Contributor
110 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Chose Port Hueneme as it was near Highway One on our drive from San Diego to Monterey... What a lucky decision... For an overnight stop the Holiday Inn has it all... Could not fault the hotel ... Helpful and professional staff... Large room with all amenities, breakfast included. We arrived after a days drive and hopped into a beautiful spa/ pool and had a wonderful relaxing hour before going out to dinner close by. If you are travelling do yourself a big favour and look it up!

Room Tip: No need to avoid any area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janetBonbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruben F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear janetBonbeach ,

We at the Holiday Inn Express appreciate your comments about our hotel and the many things we have to offer. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Ruben Franco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Hueneme
3.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Best Western Oxnard Inn
5.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oxnard/Camarillo
10.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme

Property: Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme
Address: 350 E Port Hueneme Rd, Port Hueneme, CA 93041-3209 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Hueneme)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Port Hueneme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Port Hueneme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express, Port Hueneme, California. Port Hueneme, the "Jewel of the California Coast" is situated between Los Angeles and Santa Barbara and is within walking distance to the beautiful, pristine beaches of Port Hueneme. Our spacious, newly renovated guest rooms feature refrigerators and microwaves in every room and a complimentary Express Start breakfast served each morning. For exploring the area, the Holiday Inn Express is unmatched among hotels in Port Hueneme. Stay with us and you're just a short stroll from beautiful beaches, great shopping, excellent restaurants, fun attractions and local nightlife with Santa Monica and downtown Los Angeles under an hour away. Time your visit just right and you can join us for exciting annual events such as the Point Mugu Quiksilver Surf Competition, Port Hueneme Beach Festival, Ventura County Fair, Point Mugu Air Show, California Strawberry Festival, Banana Festival or Salsa Festival. Our government or business travelers will enjoy our close proximity to the main entrance of Naval Base Ventura County, the Port of Hueneme and many major businesses. The 24-hour Business Center and complimentary wired and wireless HSIA offer convenience, and our spacious meeting room is perfect for hosting meetings or events. This Port Hueneme hotel is also located just a few blocks from the new U. S. Seabee Museum and three miles from the Ventura County Maritime Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, IHG, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Port Hueneme
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Hueneme Hotel Port Hueneme
Country Inn Port Hueneme
Port Hueneme Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing