We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveller rating
98
74
22
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
98
74
22
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews military personnel evening reception and breakfast short walk to the beach channel islands the breakfast area rooms are quiet daily breakfast nice feature breakfast staff refrigerator and microwave hot breakfast large room the entire staff following morning comfortable stay a nice place to stay third floor
Filter
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 207 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Recently we spent two nights at this hotel visiting family in the area. Overall stay was adequate, with clean sheets-but the rooom smelled faintly of cigarette smoke (as did our clothing and suitcases once we left) even though it was maked clearly as a "non smoking room." It did not pass what my sister calles "the hair behind the door test," which means I glanced behind the bathroom door and saw a long brown piece of hair that didn't belong to anyone in our party...looks like they missed sweeping. Free coctails are a plus, there were chips and nacho cheese available for free also. Breakfast highlight for the kids was a pancake machine! Proximity to the beach is a plus, but we were unable to get cell service inside the building and there was a charge for wi-fi which was a negative. Pretty pricey, would have been better if we'd rented a beach condo from a local owner on VRBO.

Room Tip: Double check for true non smoking rooms-if it's marked non smoking on the door and in the room, let your nose be your guide and request a different room immediately. Wish we had
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marilyn d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruben F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Marilyn d,

Thank you for talking the time and sharing your comments with us. We appreciate feedback from all our valued guests, as this is the best source for improving our service. We apologize for the issues you experienced with us. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Ruben Franco.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Hot water was slow coming, but was really hot once it arrived. We asked for a quiet room and the desk clerk accommodated us, putting us at the end of the hall. Since they were far from full, we figured it took a long time for the hot water to travel to that end of the hall.

This is a very nice Holiday Inn Express. Our room was large and comfortable—and quiet. The staff was most helpful with directions to local eateries and offering to help me with all the luggage.

This hotel is convenient to the Naval facility and I can definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dixie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruben F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Dixie M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We look forward
to seeing you soon in the near future.

Ruben Franco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We needed a place to stay for the one night as we were travelling north from Los Angeles- this was perfect, The hotel was a real surprise as I dont normally choose Holiday Inns. This had recently been renovated and due to great TA comments, we decided to give it a go. We were pleasantly surprised. The decor was really nice and the rooms were tastefully decorated with very comfortable beds and everything you need. The staff were friendly and a special mention to Michael who made us feel very special and welcome. In fact we I popped in to take a look at the room to compare it with another hotel, he did such a good 'sales pitch' we couldnt resist and glad we didnt as we was so right, the restaurant he recommended was also good. Breakfast was adequate and I would stay again if I was in that area. I loved the late checkout time of 12 noon- means you can sleep in and take your time

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrishyAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruben F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Trishy Auckland,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about the hotel and
the many things we have to offer. We at the Holiday Inn Express appreciate
your business. We look forward to assisiting you in the near future.

Ruben Franco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

It was the end of a three week touring holiday and we were making our way back to LAX. We picked this hotel based on the TA reports and were not disappointed. It is tucked away a block away from the beach in a quiet location yet close to shops and restaurants. Helpful staff and well-maintained breakfast buffet. The room was clean, as was the rest of the hotel. We even had quiet air-con !

Whilst Port Hueneme has only a limited amount to offer, the location is good for Oxnard, Ventura, Santa Monica and some of the inland towns.

A comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigBunny24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruben F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear BigBunny24,

We at the Holiday Inn Express appreciate your comments about our hotel and the many things we have to offer.We look forward to assisting you in the near future.

Ruben Franco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

HIE in Port Hueneme is a hidden gem! My husband and I flew in and out of LAX with a vacation destination of Santa Barbara, CA. We like to stay in a central location and travel to different cities. Port Hueneme is approximately equal distance to LA and Santa Barbara; perfect for us. I was told that it had previously been a Country Inn & Suites that HIE renovated and completed in January. Big spacious rooms, lobby, and breakfast area, very clean and tastefully decorated but what really separated it from all others was the staff. Exemplary! The front desk was always very friendly and helpful and never hesitated in greeting you with smiles and conversation as you passed. A special thanks to Kristi and Michael. Michael has a list of his own favorite restaurants in the area that he will gladly print out for you and those that we tried were very good. I have never seen a hotel run as efficiently and staff was always cleaning, whether sweeping the large brick entryway or polishing the banister. When you passed housekeeping in the hallway they would stop what they were doing, stand against the wall and greet you kindly. The women manning the breakfast area were awesome. They kept the food and coffee replenished, cleaned the tables, and were cheerful and stopped to talk to you. They would even come to your table and dispose of your used dishes and cups. There is a naval base in Port Hueneme and during our stay there were many reserve units staying at the hotel. The military were courteous and friendly and you would hardly know they were there except at breakfast, when they all gathered. It was amazing how the breakfast staff kept everything moving like clockwork and still had time to smile and be pleasant. We departed 1 day early to stay in LA because of our planned activities and our flight out and that HIE didn't compare. At breakfast I had to ask twice if there was anymore decaf coffee and had to wait for things to be replenished. The staff seemed totally overwhelmed even though they had more workers and 1/2 the guests. HIE Hueneme also has a free manager's reception Monday - Saturday which included beer, wine, mixed drinks, tortilla chips, cheese dip, salsa, raw veggies, olives, jalapenos, and pretzels. From the hotel it is only a serene, lovely 2 block stroll down a tree lined street to Port Hueneme Park, Pier, Ocean. It was so pretty and peaceful and we enjoyed starting our day out with a stroll along the beach before venturing for parts unknown. We could not have picked a better location for our vacation. We enjoyed going to the Oxnard Farmer's Market nearby (Sundays) and had the BEST strawberries we've ever eaten. We loved Ventura Harbor with the shops, restaurants and views. When we departed after 6 nights we were actually hugged by the woman in the breakfast area (forgive me because I've forgotten your name) and by Kristi at the desk. It was an awesome experience and vacation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Libby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruben F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Libby M,

We appreciate feedback from all of our valued guests.Thank you for taking the time and sharing your comments with us. we look forward to seeing you in future.

Ruben Franco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews