We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, some noises”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Port Hueneme
Certificate of Excellence
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great location, some noises”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I grew up in Port Hueneme and recently spent a week there. This hotel is a short 5 minutes walk to a great beach, with a pier, paved walking paths and a place to eat with tables facing the ocean. We had a room on the top floor, the 3rd, that was about halfway down one wing and facing the front of the hotel. We clearly heard people talking outside, luggage carts on wheels being pulled across red brick paving and traffic on the street. The hotel is on the corner of Hueneme Rd and Ventura Rd; Hueneme Rd leads to the Port just a few blocks down, so there is some heavy truck traffic. We didn't turn on the a/c or fan for the first few nights - the weather was perfect - but turned on the fan the last night, which effectively drowned out all outside noise. Our room was across from the ice machine, which made lots of noise. Since I don't think the hotel was full, I was surprised that they would assign us a room in a less than ideal location (and that's the main reason I didn't give 5 stars). Also, across the street is a Wendy's, pizza place, a small mini-mart and a café. The breakfast in the hotel was very good - hot pancakes, sausage or bacon, and a lot more.

Room Tip: Back side rooms might get less noise from sounds in the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarySaw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruben F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear GarySsss,

We thank you for sharing your experience with us. We at The Holiday Inn Express value the opinion of all our guests.We look forward to servicing your future needs.Once again we thank you for your stay.

Ruben Franco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    65
    18
    8
    5
See reviews for
58
47
15
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Recently we spent two nights at this hotel visiting family in the area. Overall stay was adequate, with clean sheets-but the rooom smelled faintly of cigarette smoke (as did our clothing and suitcases once we left) even though it was maked clearly as a "non smoking room." It did not pass what my sister calles "the hair behind the door test," which means I glanced behind the bathroom door and saw a long brown piece of hair that didn't belong to anyone in our party...looks like they missed sweeping. Free coctails are a plus, there were chips and nacho cheese available for free also. Breakfast highlight for the kids was a pancake machine! Proximity to the beach is a plus, but we were unable to get cell service inside the building and there was a charge for wi-fi which was a negative. Pretty pricey, would have been better if we'd rented a beach condo from a local owner on VRBO.

Room Tip: Double check for true non smoking rooms-if it's marked non smoking on the door and in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruben F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Marilyn d,

Thank you for talking the time and sharing your comments with us. We appreciate feedback from all our valued guests, as this is the best source for improving our service. We apologize for the issues you experienced with us. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Ruben Franco.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Texas
Level Contributor
117 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Hot water was slow coming, but was really hot once it arrived. We asked for a quiet room and the desk clerk accommodated us, putting us at the end of the hall. Since they were far from full, we figured it took a long time for the hot water to travel to that end of the hall.

This is a very nice Holiday Inn Express. Our room was large and comfortable—and quiet. The staff was most helpful with directions to local eateries and offering to help me with all the luggage.

This hotel is convenient to the Naval facility and I can definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dixie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruben F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Dixie M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We look forward
to seeing you soon in the near future.

Ruben Franco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
303 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We needed a place to stay for the one night as we were travelling north from Los Angeles- this was perfect, The hotel was a real surprise as I dont normally choose Holiday Inns. This had recently been renovated and due to great TA comments, we decided to give it a go. We were pleasantly surprised. The decor was really nice and the rooms were tastefully decorated with very comfortable beds and everything you need. The staff were friendly and a special mention to Michael who made us feel very special and welcome. In fact we I popped in to take a look at the room to compare it with another hotel, he did such a good 'sales pitch' we couldnt resist and glad we didnt as we was so right, the restaurant he recommended was also good. Breakfast was adequate and I would stay again if I was in that area. I loved the late checkout time of 12 noon- means you can sleep in and take your time

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrishyAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruben F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Trishy Auckland,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about the hotel and
the many things we have to offer. We at the Holiday Inn Express appreciate
your business. We look forward to assisiting you in the near future.

Ruben Franco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Church Stretton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

It was the end of a three week touring holiday and we were making our way back to LAX. We picked this hotel based on the TA reports and were not disappointed. It is tucked away a block away from the beach in a quiet location yet close to shops and restaurants. Helpful staff and well-maintained breakfast buffet. The room was clean, as was the rest of the hotel. We even had quiet air-con !

Whilst Port Hueneme has only a limited amount to offer, the location is good for Oxnard, Ventura, Santa Monica and some of the inland towns.

A comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigBunny24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruben F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear BigBunny24,

We at the Holiday Inn Express appreciate your comments about our hotel and the many things we have to offer.We look forward to assisting you in the near future.

Ruben Franco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2013

HIE in Port Hueneme is a hidden gem! My husband and I flew in and out of LAX with a vacation destination of Santa Barbara, CA. We like to stay in a central location and travel to different cities. Port Hueneme is approximately equal distance to LA and Santa Barbara; perfect for us. I was told that it had previously been a Country Inn & Suites that HIE renovated and completed in January. Big spacious rooms, lobby, and breakfast area, very clean and tastefully decorated but what really separated it from all others was the staff. Exemplary! The front desk was always very friendly and helpful and never hesitated in greeting you with smiles and conversation as you passed. A special thanks to Kristi and Michael. Michael has a list of his own favorite restaurants in the area that he will gladly print out for you and those that we tried were very good. I have never seen a hotel run as efficiently and staff was always cleaning, whether sweeping the large brick entryway or polishing the banister. When you passed housekeeping in the hallway they would stop what they were doing, stand against the wall and greet you kindly. The women manning the breakfast area were awesome. They kept the food and coffee replenished, cleaned the tables, and were cheerful and stopped to talk to you. They would even come to your table and dispose of your used dishes and cups. There is a naval base in Port Hueneme and during our stay there were many reserve units staying at the hotel. The military were courteous and friendly and you would hardly know they were there except at breakfast, when they all gathered. It was amazing how the breakfast staff kept everything moving like clockwork and still had time to smile and be pleasant. We departed 1 day early to stay in LA because of our planned activities and our flight out and that HIE didn't compare. At breakfast I had to ask twice if there was anymore decaf coffee and had to wait for things to be replenished. The staff seemed totally overwhelmed even though they had more workers and 1/2 the guests. HIE Hueneme also has a free manager's reception Monday - Saturday which included beer, wine, mixed drinks, tortilla chips, cheese dip, salsa, raw veggies, olives, jalapenos, and pretzels. From the hotel it is only a serene, lovely 2 block stroll down a tree lined street to Port Hueneme Park, Pier, Ocean. It was so pretty and peaceful and we enjoyed starting our day out with a stroll along the beach before venturing for parts unknown. We could not have picked a better location for our vacation. We enjoyed going to the Oxnard Farmer's Market nearby (Sundays) and had the BEST strawberries we've ever eaten. We loved Ventura Harbor with the shops, restaurants and views. When we departed after 6 nights we were actually hugged by the woman in the breakfast area (forgive me because I've forgotten your name) and by Kristi at the desk. It was an awesome experience and vacation.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruben F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Libby M,

We appreciate feedback from all of our valued guests.Thank you for taking the time and sharing your comments with us. we look forward to seeing you in future.

Ruben Franco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Nice rooms, located 1 blk from a very nice beach (no dogs allowed on sand, though!). Nice friendly staff! Here's the catch - They charge an additional $110 per night, per dog (no matter how small) non-refundable FEE. We were not told this when we booked this room through Hotels.com. Upon arriving and finding out having the dogs was going to cost us MORE than what we paid for the one night stay, we tried to cancel. Hotels.com would NOT give us our money back. So we were forced to pay the additional $110 Note -they were "nice" not to charge us $220 for two dogs and cut us a break. Lesson learned: always ask about additional non-refundable fees, avoid Holiday Inns, and never book through HOTELS.com!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Lisa N,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are so pleased you liked the friendliness of our staff. We sincerely apologize for the over-all issues you had during your stay. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Hueneme
3.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Best Western Oxnard Inn
5.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oxnard/Camarillo
10.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme

Property: Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme
Address: 350 E Port Hueneme Rd, Port Hueneme, CA 93041-3209 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Hueneme)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Port Hueneme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Port Hueneme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express, Port Hueneme, California. Port Hueneme, the "Jewel of the California Coast" is situated between Los Angeles and Santa Barbara and is within walking distance to the beautiful, pristine beaches of Port Hueneme. Our spacious, newly renovated guest rooms feature refrigerators and microwaves in every room and a complimentary Express Start breakfast served each morning. For exploring the area, the Holiday Inn Express is unmatched among hotels in Port Hueneme. Stay with us and you're just a short stroll from beautiful beaches, great shopping, excellent restaurants, fun attractions and local nightlife with Santa Monica and downtown Los Angeles under an hour away. Time your visit just right and you can join us for exciting annual events such as the Point Mugu Quiksilver Surf Competition, Port Hueneme Beach Festival, Ventura County Fair, Point Mugu Air Show, California Strawberry Festival, Banana Festival or Salsa Festival. Our government or business travelers will enjoy our close proximity to the main entrance of Naval Base Ventura County, the Port of Hueneme and many major businesses. The 24-hour Business Center and complimentary wired and wireless HSIA offer convenience, and our spacious meeting room is perfect for hosting meetings or events. This Port Hueneme hotel is also located just a few blocks from the new U. S. Seabee Museum and three miles from the Ventura County Maritime Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Port Hueneme
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Hueneme Hotel Port Hueneme
Country Inn Port Hueneme
Port Hueneme Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing