We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveller rating
105
76
22
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
76
22
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews military personnel free breakfast pancake machine short walk to the beach rooms are quiet the breakfast area refrigerator and microwave yogurt large room santa barbara the entire staff free parking oxnard hie pier jacuzzi properties
Filter
Updating list...
130 - 135 of 216 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This is an awesome hotel. We had a quick and easy check-in process. After gathering our thing from the car we used the bellman cart to take out thing up to the room. When we entered the room it was exactly like the pictures in the photos. We had a two queen bedroom with the view of the parking lot which allowed use to keep an eye on the car. The beds were comfortable and each bed had 4 pillows with 2 pillowcases that had "soft" and "firm", I choose the 2 soft pillows. The TV was a nice size and all the hookups one may need for a video game or a Google Chromecast. There was also a microwave and micofridge that was a great bonus. The bathroom was nice and roomy. The only drawback was that the shower didn't have a closeable door and when taking a shower the floor would get wet. The shower had 3-4 settings and for the first time I've been in a hotel where the shower head was adjustable to my height (6'). The breakfast was good and the cinnamon rolls are a must have. They hotel also provides a little snack in the evening consisting of cheese and nachos, pretzels, and drinks (no liquor though). The area of the hotel is nice and there is a Subway, Wendy's, and Liquor store directly across the street which is in walking distance. If you like walking and taking in the soothing sun the beach is in walking distance of the hotel. But if you have kid like me and rather drive than walk it is a short distance. There is a parking fee of $2 for an hour and it goes up from there. I will stay here again with no hesitation. The staff is amazing and super friendly. Great place, great people, great time, and lasting memories.

Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YUKEY717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruben F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear YUKEY717,

Thank you you for taking the time and sharing your great comments about the Holiday Inn Express and the many things we have to offer. We look forward to seeing you in the very near future.

Ruben Franco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I grew up in Port Hueneme and recently spent a week there. This hotel is a short 5 minutes walk to a great beach, with a pier, paved walking paths and a place to eat with tables facing the ocean. We had a room on the top floor, the 3rd, that was about halfway down one wing and facing the front of the hotel. We clearly heard people talking outside, luggage carts on wheels being pulled across red brick paving and traffic on the street. The hotel is on the corner of Hueneme Rd and Ventura Rd; Hueneme Rd leads to the Port just a few blocks down, so there is some heavy truck traffic. We didn't turn on the a/c or fan for the first few nights - the weather was perfect - but turned on the fan the last night, which effectively drowned out all outside noise. Our room was across from the ice machine, which made lots of noise. Since I don't think the hotel was full, I was surprised that they would assign us a room in a less than ideal location (and that's the main reason I didn't give 5 stars). Also, across the street is a Wendy's, pizza place, a small mini-mart and a café. The breakfast in the hotel was very good - hot pancakes, sausage or bacon, and a lot more.

Room tip: Back side rooms might get less noise from sounds in the parking lot.
Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GarySaw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruben F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear GarySsss,

We thank you for sharing your experience with us. We at The Holiday Inn Express value the opinion of all our guests.We look forward to servicing your future needs.Once again we thank you for your stay.

Ruben Franco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Recently we spent two nights at this hotel visiting family in the area. Overall stay was adequate, with clean sheets-but the rooom smelled faintly of cigarette smoke (as did our clothing and suitcases once we left) even though it was maked clearly as a "non smoking room." It did not pass what my sister calles "the hair behind the door test," which means I glanced behind the bathroom door and saw a long brown piece of hair that didn't belong to anyone in our party...looks like they missed sweeping. Free coctails are a plus, there were chips and nacho cheese available for free also. Breakfast highlight for the kids was a pancake machine! Proximity to the beach is a plus, but we were unable to get cell service inside the building and there was a charge for wi-fi which was a negative. Pretty pricey, would have been better if we'd rented a beach condo from a local owner on VRBO.

Room tip: Double check for true non smoking rooms-if it's marked non smoking on the door and in the room, let your nose be your guide and request a different room immediately. Wish we had
Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marilyn d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruben F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Marilyn d,

Thank you for talking the time and sharing your comments with us. We appreciate feedback from all our valued guests, as this is the best source for improving our service. We apologize for the issues you experienced with us. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Ruben Franco.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Hot water was slow coming, but was really hot once it arrived. We asked for a quiet room and the desk clerk accommodated us, putting us at the end of the hall. Since they were far from full, we figured it took a long time for the hot water to travel to that end of the hall.

This is a very nice Holiday Inn Express. Our room was large and comfortable—and quiet. The staff was most helpful with directions to local eateries and offering to help me with all the luggage.

This hotel is convenient to the Naval facility and I can definitely recommend it.

Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dixie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruben F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Dixie M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We look forward
to seeing you soon in the near future.

Ruben Franco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We needed a place to stay for the one night as we were travelling north from Los Angeles- this was perfect, The hotel was a real surprise as I dont normally choose Holiday Inns. This had recently been renovated and due to great TA comments, we decided to give it a go. We were pleasantly surprised. The decor was really nice and the rooms were tastefully decorated with very comfortable beds and everything you need. The staff were friendly and a special mention to Michael who made us feel very special and welcome. In fact we I popped in to take a look at the room to compare it with another hotel, he did such a good 'sales pitch' we couldnt resist and glad we didnt as we was so right, the restaurant he recommended was also good. Breakfast was adequate and I would stay again if I was in that area. I loved the late checkout time of 12 noon- means you can sleep in and take your time

Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrishyAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruben F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Trishy Auckland,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about the hotel and
the many things we have to offer. We at the Holiday Inn Express appreciate
your business. We look forward to assisiting you in the near future.

Ruben Franco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews