We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice comfortable place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Americas Best Value Inn Oxnard / Port Hueneme

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn Oxnard / Port Hueneme
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Port Hueneme
california
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A nice comfortable place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

I was surprised that this place turned out to be so nice. Its basic but extremely clean. We wanted to be in walking distance to the ocean. It was a pleasure to have the refrigerator & microwave. Only 1 thing was a bit out of the "nor", was the hard mattress. It was convenient to eateries & a brisk walk to the beach. We would stay there again. We were disappointed that there was no pool or Jacuzzi, but we did not go there to swim.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karen2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    13
    7
    1
    8
See reviews for
10
14
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
154 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

On the plus side: This place is cheap, quiet, clean and I slept really well.
On the down side: The check in process felt like cashing a cheque in a third world country. The room faced a residential area on one side and the street on the other. The residents started drinking and arguing loudly quite early in the day but actually became quiet when I wanted to sleep. The window of the room had what looked like a bullet hole and it seemed to originate from the outside.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SwedishMagnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neeta P, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Oxnard / Port Hueneme, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
We take pride in offering affordable and clean accommodations here at America's Best Value Inn. Thank you so much for your feedback. After reading your review, I did investigate the damage to the window. It appears as if the damage was caused by a sharp stone. The window has been replaced. We do hope that you will come back for another visit soon. It was our pleasure to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

While this motel is basic, the facilities were clean, the kingsize bed was super comfortable so we had a great night's sleep, the mini fridge had a freezer for our ice packs, the shower was hot and soothing and the owners helpful for food suggestions. They were quiet so they upgraded us I think....nice! The basin was in the main room which was helpful. Good affordable accommodation.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neeta P, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Oxnard / Port Hueneme, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
So happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you will visit us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

Have stayed here a few times. Rooms are clean. Newer rooms are very good size. Staff is very pleasant. Given the price point and proximity to the beach and restaurants a very good deal. Will definitely stay here again! Make sure you ask for one of the "newer" rooms as they appear to be larger in size with more amenities.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cbad2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

In times past, this was a pretty nice property and, as its name suggests, a good value. Not any more! Rooms and especially bathrooms in terrible shape. 1. past "guests" have carved names and slogans into the furniture! 2. no telephones (either stolen by guests or not provided). 3. dirty blankets 4. insufficient towels 5. no clothes hangers 6. drawers don't operate without tugging 7. tv remote cracked and missing doors 8. toilets sometime do not flush 9. drains sometimes drain very slowly 10. grout in bathroom dirty and/or missing 11. rooms not cleaned every day of stay... just fresh towels.

We gave this place a couple of tries because the folk are very pleasant... but we gave up because the owners will not put penny one into the many many problems. Something is wrong and the environmental health folk need to take a look.

Room Tip: Oh yes... to choose a good room, go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJM921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neeta P, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Oxnard / Port Hueneme, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
We are pleased to announce that a number of our rooms have new furniture, bedding, and baths.
You make have visited us during this transition and we do apologize. I brought your comments to our housekeeping department and we have stocked out rooms with more towel and hangers. Thanks for bringing this to our attention. I did notice that you you have visited us a few times before and I hope that you give us another try when you are out in this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Port Hueneme hotels

Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Very pleasant people who run this motel, even gave us an upgrade! Room was large and very clean. just down the road is the Sea bees museum which is worth a visit. A very safe motel. Although breakfast is included there wasn't a lot to choose from except cakes. Steill well worth the money, very pleased with our stay

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank witcheshouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

Ok, the place is clean and has a good rate. But strange things seem to be happening.... 1) the laminated paper @ the front desk and on the room door lists some general "hotel rules", only the 2nd rule is NO PROSTITUTION! Ummm, what? Also the room sort of smelled like citrus cleaner @ first, but now smells like animal urine/kitty litter. Not sure what is up w/ that, cuz there is no carpet, but maybe they used to allow pets and just covered up the bad carpet w/ wood tiling? Owner is kind of weird and seems to stalk the grounds a lot. As long as my car dosent get busted into, guess I'm cool w/ it. @ any rate, since it was clean, cheap, and has fast internet, I guess its allright. Most places in Cali are frustrating, and this hotel is no different. Just wish id had a stuffed nose that night!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmericanTravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neeta P, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Oxnard / Port Hueneme, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
We have been in business for over 35 years in Port Hueneme. Our motto is to run a reputable business. The sign that you mention is dated from over 35 years ago. And thanks to your feedback, we have removed it from our property. Since your visit, new carpet has been installed in the rooms. We certainly hope to see you back at our property very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Hueneme
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor
2.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Oxnard Inn
5.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn, Oxnard/Camarillo
5.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oxnard/Camarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Oxnard / Port Hueneme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Oxnard / Port Hueneme

Property: Americas Best Value Inn Oxnard / Port Hueneme
Address: 340 E Pleasant Valley Rd, Port Hueneme, CA 93041-2746
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Port Hueneme
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Port Hueneme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Oxnard / Port Hueneme 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Oxnard / Port Hueneme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing