We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good overall” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Via Mar Inn and Tennis Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa Via Mar Inn and Tennis Club
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Port Hueneme
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
204 reviews
181 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Very good overall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Nice, clean rooms. Very good sleep quality. Front desk people quite friendly. Nice touch with fresh donuts always served in the reception area.
The breakfast is in a separate building on the second floor so if you are handicapped it would be difficult to get up the stairs.
The internet connection was rather weak in my room but I managed.
The location was excellent with lots of restaurants within walking range.
For Southern California, the rate was "reasonable" at $110 per nite through "booking.com"
This is a good price considering the quality of the hotel.
Definitely will come back again if the price holds.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ILoveIsrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    74
    23
    15
    12
See reviews for
39
55
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Room is clean. Comfy bed. Small bathroom but its ok. Quite area. The only complaint i had is the front desk lady who check me in is kinda races type. Talk to me like i am dumb...other than that i will consider going back to this place on my next vacation.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank adventurelovers6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

This older hotel is very well maintained! The room was very spacious and immaculate, bed was very comfortable! We were able to park just outside of our room. The parking lot was well lighted and clean! Breakfast was very good, We didn't get into the swimming pool, but sat out beside it for a while and talked with some of the other guests. The pool and its area were clean. Was an 'interesting' drive from I5, but well worth the effort! Will stay there again if we are in the area. Even though we were quite a distance from the office, we had no trouble with the WiFi as another reviewer stated, but we didn't try to stream netflix, just access the internet.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suebrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

If you've ever been responsible for upkeep of a home, the man's jobs of keeping doors and windows working, electric, plumbing, etc., it will be evident to you that whoever is in charge of that for this motel is tops. When traveling, it's annoying to run into the same fix-it problems one has back at home - the reminder kinda spoils the fun. So kudos to el hombre de la casa here, it was a joy to feel the expertise of the resident handy man at every turn.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank tomwood200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
446 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 425 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Casa Via Mar Inn & Tennis Club is an older property with several two-story buildings that features a number of tennis courts. First floor guest parking is in front of your room. Some rooms may involve a short walk (rooms 227 – 230) and any second floor room involves carrying ones luggage up a flight of stairs. Rooms 221 – 226 may be some of the quieter rooms based on their location on the back side of the property away from the main roads and at a longer distance from loading and unloading vehicles.

Our room, 123, is a big room with a kitchenette. The room has two queen beds, a desk that doubles as a dining room table, a big closet to store lots of luggage, free wifi and a flat-screen TV. The kitchenette includes a sink, under-counter refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker. Things often not included, but are here; an electric can opener, toaster and place-settings for four. Under the sink you will find dish soap and sponges. We did not use the kitchenette as a free hot breakfast is provided on-site. There is also a happy hour in the early evening but we did not take advantage of it so I can't comment on the level of happiness.

Room 123 is next to a breezeway where the pop and ice machines are located. Because the machines and the room shared a common wall there was a steady hum at the head of the beds. It became “white noise” after awhile and not a problem for sleeping during our two-day stay. The mattress was firm and comfortable. The tub/shower combination provided a decent shower. With all the amenities provided in the room, oddly, there was no shampoo.

The motel was conveniently located near many restaurants, grocery and drug stores. It is also close to the harbor where the boat to the Channel Islands National Park departs.

If we were to return to the area we would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
96 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

I've been staying here for almost 3 years on and off, and this motel continues to be top notch. I love the staff, the rooms are clean, the parking is easy and the breakfast is good. I'm publicly giving it a couple of notches off here in hopes that it will finally cause management to install proper wifi - unless you are in one of the rooms close to the office, you will find that wifi cuts out constantly, if you can get a signal at all. If you're hoping to stream netflix, etc...this is a total bummer. I'm back to 5 stars as soon as they fix this!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank idoltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 373 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed for three nights as part of a tour of southern California. The price was good, the (free) breakfast was excellent. The kitchenette and the coffee maker in the room were very useful. We would stay there again if we were ever in the area. Try El Chilito (next door) for good value Mexican food.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RLP50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Hueneme
1.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Oxnard Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme
4.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn, Oxnard/Camarillo
4.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oxnard/Camarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Via Mar Inn and Tennis Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Via Mar Inn and Tennis Club

Property: Casa Via Mar Inn and Tennis Club
Address: 377 W Channel Islands Blvd, Port Hueneme, CA 93041-1722
Region: United States > California > Port Hueneme
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Port Hueneme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Via Mar Inn and Tennis Club 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Via Mar in conveniently located in Port Hueneme, next to the Port Hueneme Naval Base, and only minutes to beaches, variety of shopping, dining, and entertainment. 74 beautifully appointed rooms that contain many unique amenities. These inclusive in one low price. * Complimentary hot breakfast, Complimentary T-1 wireless internet access, Heated pool and Spa, Six Championship Tennis Courts, Free movies with popcorn, Refigerators, hair dryers, iron and ironing board in every room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Via Mar Inn and Tennis Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Via Mar Inn And Tennis Club Hotel Port Hueneme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing