We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ehh, nothing special”
Review of Sushi Holic

Sushi Holic
Ranked #37 of 50 Restaurants in Port Hueneme
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Colorado
Level Contributor
251 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Ehh, nothing special”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

The food was very average. The server was friendly, but a bit new and untrained. The guys behind the counter weren't particularly friendly and when our server asked them the couple of the questions we had (why is the super white only served seared), they looked aggrivated. We have some particularly good sushi restaurants in Colorado, so maybe we were expecting it to be super because it's on the coast. Also, we noted that the locals were definitely greeted much more warmly. That's understandable, but in a touristy area, it seems that strangers should be greeted with extra (fake or not) enthusiasm. We had the gyoza, super white pieces and a sashimi combo, all of which were decent, but nothing super special. With all the sushi joints in the area, we probably would not come back.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank BrananMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    1
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Got the bake lobster roll and the lobster was way too tough. Hostess/server had an attitude the whole time. We ordered a roll with soy paper instead of seaweed and when we told her the roll was made wrong she argued with us. Took over 20 minutes to get out 3 rolls (one arrived wrong) and the place only had 3 tables (including ours), for a total of 7 customers total. This place has NOTHING on kabuki, heck there's a place at the oxnard harbor better than this. I'd recommend not wasting your time...sorry. I remember when this place was good...it just isn't anymore

Helpful?
Thank sami855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Hueneme, California, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best Sushi in the Area”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We moved to Port Hueneme about 5 years ago, and tried all of the sushi restaurants in the area. This became our go-to sushi restaurant. (Even after ownership changed hands and names). They are always friendly and the fish is always fresh. We go about once a month and they have made a point of remembering what we like to drink and eat. Never disappointed!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lunch box”
Reviewed 23 December 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

They have great lunch specials and fast service if u want a healthy lunch quick then this is the place to go!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sushi Holic also viewed

 
Port Hueneme, CA
 

Been to Sushi Holic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing