We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Resturant”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bull Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bull Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Barton Mills
Certificate of Excellence
Mildenhall, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Resturant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Came to the resturant here last night and had a fantastic meal. The atmosphere was superb and the staff were excellent. We had Jade as our waitress and she was very helpful. The food was some of the best food that i have tasted in a very long time. We went as a date night and have decided that we will make this a regular trip.

The meal was just wonderful and the service was excellent. I would absolutley reccomend the Pork fillet on the resturant menu and the Sticky toffee pudding. What a fantastic evening and a wonderful meal. thank you so much guys. Stacie

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    89
    46
    14
    26
See reviews for
69
199
14
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampshore
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Stayed here on a business trip - really warm welcome, convenient location, loads of parking and spotlessly clean.

Had an amazing nights sleep in a wonderfully decorated room.

Pub Fare was superb - really recommend the sausages and mash! Breakfast was devine.

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff would definately go again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

After checking a couple of other venues looking for somewhere to hold a small wedding breakfast someone suggested the Olde Bull and we are so glad that they did! The staff could not have done more to make our special day any more enjoyable. They went the extra distance to coordinate for our colour scheme and everything from their attention to detail in the room layout down to the superb food they provided was amazing. The moment we walked in the front door we were made to feel welcome and that nothing was too much trouble. We would not hesitate to recommend the Olde Bull for any function that you are planning.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

With a substantial time lag involved in sending out my dry cleaning, and a load of dirty laundry, the proprietor offered to launder my clothes, offered hangers to dry the clothing in my room, and even more spectacularly, didn't charge me a cent for the service. The food at the downstairs pub was superb (and I had multiple meals there), the service was friendly without being overbearing, and I would have no reservations in suggesting unequivocally that someone stay at the Olde Bull. Excellent all around.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cycarroll77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Staying here on a business trip and I can't wait till its over before I give a review!
Convenient location, plenty of parking, friendly welcoming staff, spotlessly clean, The food is delicious And well presented.
My room is great, spotlessly clean and decorated beautifully, I was walked to my room and shown around, attention to detail seems to be natural here, not forced like some other places I could mention. I looked at over 20 places before picking the bull inn and I'm positive that I couldn't have found better, it ticks all the boxes as far as I'm concerned and Im glad I found it. Staying here on business but I'll be returning here with my partner sometime. It's the perfect get-away

Room Tip: I stayed in coach house 1. Didn't see any of the other rooms but. Would heartily recommend this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

My friend (also work Colleague) is moving on. There are three of us that work together in an office, each of us have visited The Olde Bull Inn before in the past and between us decided that this would be the right place to have our farewell meal. The food was amazing and the staff was friendly and helpfull 10 out of 10. I was amazed by the new decor well done.

Room Tip: Sorry did not stay here as live local but i highly recommend eating here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mildenhall, Suffolk, England,
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed the eveing spent here. My collegues, myself and our partners came here for my leaving meal. I was taken back by the ambience of resturant, the waitresses were superb, and the food was out of this world. I would recommend anyone to come for a meal here, and I look forward to visiting The Olde Bull Inn again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barton Mills
1.0 mi away
Riverside House Hotel
Riverside House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mildenhall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
1.7 mi away
Worlington Hall
Worlington Hall
#4 of 5 in Mildenhall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel
Bedford Lodge Hotel
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
19.3 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
10.0 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull Inn

Property: The Bull Inn
Address: The Street, Barton Mills, Mildenhall IP28 6AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Mildenhall > Barton Mills
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Barton Mills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bull Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bull Inn is not a B&B, it’s not hotel, but it is an award-winning boutique and quirky modern day coaching Inn, located near Mildenhall, Bury St Edmunds and Newmarket in the picturesque county of Suffolk. The Inn and its dedicated owners simply radiate character, style and an eccentric passion, which is simply infectious to all those who visit. Think funky and fresh within an amazing 500 year old coaching inn. The owners have created 15 individually designed boutique bedrooms, a 1 AA Rosette Restaurant, cosy pub with great wines, real ales and an open log fire for those cold winter evenings. There is also a fantastic courtyard to while away many a summer's day with family and friends. Improvement and refurbishment never ends at The Bull, with the passionate owners always seeking and trying new, exciting and sometimes crazy ideas! The Bull has a whole wall of accolades to boast including "Best Small Hotel in Suffolk," "Best Freehouse in East Anglia" and "Best Sunday Lunch" to mention a few and the whole business simply oozes character and a unique charm created by the hands-on owners. The team work hard to host events throughout the year, from live music nights, murder mystery dinners, charity evenings, themed Christmas parties and lunches with Santa. This unique destination inn is located in the picturesque village of Barton Mills, just 2 miles from Mildenhall. Barton Mills is just on the edge of Thetford Forest with the towns of Bury St Edmunds, Ely, Cambridge and Newmarket all within a short drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bull Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olde Bull Hotel Barton Mills
The Bull Inn Barton Mills, Mildenhall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing