We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great mix of Olde and new!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bull Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bull Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Barton Mills
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great mix of Olde and new!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

My husband and I stayed for just one night at the Olde Bull Inn, as we were dining at the nearby Tuddenham Mill. The Inn is a lovely old building which has been decorated in the style of a more modern boutique hotel providing a great balance between luxury and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was spacious and well appointed. We ate out (and didn't surface in time for brekkie!) but the food we saw looked lovely and the restaurant/bar areas were very inviting. The only downside was that the room was swelteringly hot and unfortunately opening the one small window didn't make too much impact. I think this must be because of the heat from downstairs as it was better during the night once the bar had closed. That said, we would still happily stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimbodia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    89
    46
    14
    26
See reviews for
69
199
14
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed at the Olde Bull Inn for one night and were very happy with the experience. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and went beyond their duties to make our stay memorable. The food and service was outstanding. The breakfast was one of the best we have ever eaten - freshly cooked and local produce. The accomodation was fantastic! The Zebra Room was clean and had everything we needed to make our stay comfortable. We cannot give the Olde Bull Inn enough praise for everything they did during our stay. We would highly reccommend this place for anyone wanting to get away for something that little bit special. Well done to all at the Olde Bull Inn, with special thanks to Cheryl Hickman.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mildenhall, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

An excelent experience all round
We held a birthday party there for 24 people having a 3 course dinner off the menue..
From the time we arrived to the time we left the service was excelent. Nothing was too much trouble.
The food was second to none and some of our friends said it was the best meal they ever ate.. It was served hot and fresh in double quick time which was no mean feet for 24 people.
Service at the tables was also excelent. The glasses were kept topped up and nothing requested was too much trouble. The Bull is top of the list as a place to return and eat.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coronado, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

What a wonderful time I had at the Olde Bull Inn. I spent two weeks in one of the cabins and was pleased with the space and cleanliness. Everyone, from the owners, to the staff, and waitresses was courteous (Thanks Jade!) and helpful. The food was extraordinary and the Draft selection in the Bar was exemplary. Overall, the prices were reasonable. OH! you have to do the walk by the River/Canal in Barton Mills, absolutely gorgeous; you can walk into Mildenhall along the river and walk back through Barton Mills.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristopherWalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

We stayed just one night as we were visiting family nearby. On arrival we had a lovely warm welcome. We came down to the bar area which had a relaxed friendly atmosphere, we had a light bite to eat which was freshly prepared and very tasty, just what we needed after a long journey!

We booked a feature room 'Daisy' which was good, quirky wall paper! Ensuite had a super drench shower, they also had the forethought of putting another shower attachment in for us ladies not wanting to get our hair wet!

The owners Cheryl and Wayne were superb hosts and always at hand, nothing was too uch trouble all staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Full English breakfast was delicious, had obviously gone to a lot of effort to make sure all elements on plate were tasty. Cooked freshly so takes a little time, but hey it's worth it.

The whole atmosphere of 'The Olde Bull' was lovely, the owners have done an amazing job on turning this once tired coaching house into a fine place to stay, as it deserves to be. We will definatley stay again. I am amazed that this is the owners first venture into the hospitality world, they are doing a sterling job with a super friendly set of staff around them. Good luck on your continued success.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 601Diane1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012 via mobile

My partner and i first visited this hotel in April last year. We have been back a few times since, we have always been on our own and used it as our get away from the stresses of daily life.
We went back last month with our daughter who is four, who they went above and beyond to accomadate.
I cant reccommend this place enough, the food is brilliant (including the childrens food)
Its probably also worth saying the breakfast is amazing.
and as for rhe bad customer service reviews. I would say that these must be from other small hotels in tbe area.
The old bull cant be faulted

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheVanityFairey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Booked for one night as we were house hunting in the area , we were a little concerned that because the hotel was just next to the main road that it would be noisy but we slept like lambs. The food was better than we expected and the staff were polite and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barton Mills
1.0 mi away
Riverside House Hotel
Riverside House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mildenhall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
1.7 mi away
Worlington Hall
Worlington Hall
#4 of 5 in Mildenhall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel
Bedford Lodge Hotel
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
19.3 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
10.0 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull Inn

Property: The Bull Inn
Address: The Street, Barton Mills, Mildenhall IP28 6AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Mildenhall > Barton Mills
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Barton Mills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bull Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bull Inn is not a B&B, it’s not hotel, but it is an award-winning boutique and quirky modern day coaching Inn, located near Mildenhall, Bury St Edmunds and Newmarket in the picturesque county of Suffolk. The Inn and its dedicated owners simply radiate character, style and an eccentric passion, which is simply infectious to all those who visit. Think funky and fresh within an amazing 500 year old coaching inn. The owners have created 15 individually designed boutique bedrooms, a 1 AA Rosette Restaurant, cosy pub with great wines, real ales and an open log fire for those cold winter evenings. There is also a fantastic courtyard to while away many a summer's day with family and friends. Improvement and refurbishment never ends at The Bull, with the passionate owners always seeking and trying new, exciting and sometimes crazy ideas! The Bull has a whole wall of accolades to boast including "Best Small Hotel in Suffolk," "Best Freehouse in East Anglia" and "Best Sunday Lunch" to mention a few and the whole business simply oozes character and a unique charm created by the hands-on owners. The team work hard to host events throughout the year, from live music nights, murder mystery dinners, charity evenings, themed Christmas parties and lunches with Santa. This unique destination inn is located in the picturesque village of Barton Mills, just 2 miles from Mildenhall. Barton Mills is just on the edge of Thetford Forest with the towns of Bury St Edmunds, Ely, Cambridge and Newmarket all within a short drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bull Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olde Bull Hotel Barton Mills
The Bull Inn Barton Mills, Mildenhall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing