We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Party”
Review of The Bull Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bull Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Barton Mills
Suffolk, England
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Christmas Party”
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

I was in a group of 50 that attended a Christmas pantomime party, it was a very good function with great staff who were very friendly and willing to help. Yes it was busy but not so packed you couldn't move. The food arrived hot and on time at the table and everyone got served at the same time. Very we'll organised.just a couple of faults, the dance floor could of been bigger and it was very warm. But I guess that's better than cold. Would we book up again? Yes we probably would. Well done for making our night fun and enjoyable.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Robbo1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    95
    47
    15
    28
See reviews for
76
205
14
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essen, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed one night for a Christmas party, the food was average, the bar prices were very expensive, the staff were friendly. The hotel also had a fishy smell in the corridor which was very unpleasant.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carriboo29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mildenhall, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I recently had a birthday party for 17 at the Bull Inn. Not only was the owner, Cheryl, wonderful to work with in setting up the party, the room was beautifully decorated wiht little touches that I hadn't expected. The food was wonderful and I am of the opinion that the fis & chips at the Bull Inn are the best I have had in the UK. Thanks again to the entire staff!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berkshire
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in late October. Staff on arrival were friendly. 'Themed' room was interesting, the bed was very comfortable , but overall it was a let down. Noweher to write/lounge/sit at a working table. Heating was moderate at best, and non-esitant in the bathroom. Although it faced away from the road, the room could get quite noisy with the A11 being just a few yards away.
Also new modern faucet in bathroom washbasin looked great, but was so positioned that if one turned it on more thatn a tricklle, the water splashed all over you.
Small things but they detract from the experience.
Ate in the restaurant twice. First time, I thought it was good. THe next night I had exactly the same dishes but they were well below standard and very different. At that point when I commented ( I did not complain, just commented) the answers were very defensive and not that customer friendly. The food is expensive, and not value for money.
WOuld I stay here again....No.
The whole place is quirky and out of sync with itself, if that makes any sense.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank horsedeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We decided to spend a day at Lakenheath watching the American Airforce. Close by we came across this quirky little gem. We prefer to stay at independently run pubs and this was no exception! We were well greeted on arrival and shown to our room (Lazy Cow!) where we had ordered champagne and flowers which were waiting for us. Over the head of the bed was a huge picture of dairy cattle which for us was like home from home as we live on the Isle of Wight and we see this out of the rear window of our apartment every day. Good sized clean room, everything you needed except bottled water, exceptional double shower. After a long journey and a quick freshen up we were down to the bar! Then came another lovely surprise. The food was absolutely tip top, could not fault it. Breakfast was no surprise after the evening meal ; everything freshly cooked to order and we were asked on more than one occasion was there anything else we needed. We will definitely be returning here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hedgehog56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I was a little apprehensive having read some of the reviews on here, but I have to say I can only assume the people who gave bad reviews were being a little too picky.

From being greeted at reception, staff were helfpul and friendly. We had booked a cosy double, but were given the option to upgrade to a house double if we'd like to wait 10 minutes, which of course we did. Everything was top-notch, the lady who booked us in let us leave our bags rather than take them into the bar, and didn't rush us once the room was ready.

The food in the pub was delicious - much more than basic pub food and priced very well, considering what was on offer. Another plus point was that everything was locally sourced. Breakfast was equally delicious, and again, we weren't rushed or hurried up to check out. We enjoyed every minute, and would like to thank the staff for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This is an old coaching inn which is clearly very loved and cared for. We loved that it was different, the food we had was superb value - there is a chalk board that tells you where the produce comes from. We loved the local "posh pops" - great alternative to the standard offering for non alcoholic drinks. I had a fillet steak burger which was to die for! I would rather pay for quality anyday and this was worth every penny - best quality burger i have ever tasted. Desserts were all homemade - my other half had the sticky toffee pudding - all i will say is OMG - WOW! We will be back really soon - keep up the good work!!! THANK YOU!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barton Mills
1.0 mi away
Riverside House Hotel
Riverside House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mildenhall
307 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Barton Mills
Travelodge Barton Mills
#2 of 2 in Barton Mills
293 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
897 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
1,183 reviews
19.3 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull Inn

Property: The Bull Inn
Address: The Street, Barton Mills, Mildenhall IP28 6AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Mildenhall > Barton Mills
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Barton Mills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bull Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bull Inn is not a B&B, it’s not hotel, but it is an award-winning boutique and quirky modern day coaching Inn, located near Mildenhall, Bury St Edmunds and Newmarket in the picturesque county of Suffolk. The Inn and its dedicated owners simply radiate character, style and an eccentric passion, which is simply infectious to all those who visit. Think funky and fresh within an amazing 500 year old coaching inn. The owners have created 15 individually designed boutique bedrooms, a 1 AA Rosette Restaurant, cosy pub with great wines, real ales and an open log fire for those cold winter evenings. There is also a fantastic courtyard to while away many a summer's day with family and friends. Improvement and refurbishment never ends at The Bull, with the passionate owners always seeking and trying new, exciting and sometimes crazy ideas! The Bull has a whole wall of accolades to boast including "Best Small Hotel in Suffolk," "Best Freehouse in East Anglia" and "Best Sunday Lunch" to mention a few and the whole business simply oozes character and a unique charm created by the hands-on owners. The team work hard to host events throughout the year, from live music nights, murder mystery dinners, charity evenings, themed Christmas parties and lunches with Santa. This unique destination inn is located in the picturesque village of Barton Mills, just 2 miles from Mildenhall. Barton Mills is just on the edge of Thetford Forest with the towns of Bury St Edmunds, Ely, Cambridge and Newmarket all within a short drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Book Direct Rooms and LateRooms so you can book your The Bull Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olde Bull Hotel Barton Mills
The Bull Inn Barton Mills, Mildenhall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing