We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Food.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bull Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bull Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Barton Mills
Certificate of Excellence
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing Food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

What a wonderful dining experience. The choice of food was wonderful and had something to suit my VERY fussy husband.

We orginally booked a table for the evening, However we had to change it due to a change in plans, The staff were very accomadating and changed our booking time for us.

Big thanks to all the staff especially Jade. Our waitress for the evening.

Big reccomendations will be coming your way!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NewMummy949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    87
    46
    14
    24
See reviews for
67
198
12
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

This venue has just one an award for being the quirkiest Inn in the Uk - for a wonderful dining experience don't fail to go - we haven't spent time staying at the Bull as we don't live too far away from this Inn but the rooms are brilliant so we have been told by friends

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Londonlass13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Warm and friendly staff who were very attentive. Great location for visiting Cambridge, Bury St Edmonds, Newmarket and Ely.
Food great, good quality and nicely presented.
Just off main road, but we had room at the rear so no road noise.
Lovely courtyard to enjoy in the sunshine.
Quirky and different.
Fabulous shower, nice bathroom, small but perfectly formed and spotlessly clean.

A few things to improve which would make it fabulous...
Heated towel rail needs to work so you can dry your towels. We did switch it on but it didn't come on which meant the towels were wet the next morning after an evening shower the night before.
Room a little chilly in the am and evening. Heating not on, the towel rail would have taken the chill off the room if working.
Room 12 - small but fine. Bed runner and cream cushions need a wash. Carpet needed a hoover before we arrived and also on the stairs each day.
White bedroom walls need a lick of white paint a bit tired and a picture or two would be fab.
Tea/coffee tray not ideal in the cupboard. A small unit where the suitcase rack is with the kettle on etc would be much better.

Would we stay here again...yes definitely, thank you for the hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotters626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We were greeted by very friendly staff at reception and infact all the staff we met throughout our stay were courteous, friendly and truly happy to be working there. We stayed in the Lazy Cow room as a treat. The decor was fun and to a good standard. We drank in the bar and ate in the restaurant and the food was outstanding, especially the pork dish I chose, relatively expensive but worth it as we had a lovely evening there. The breakfast was good with all locally sourced products which was a nice touch.
Our only criticism is tiny no but no soap in the room which was necessary and missed, but this is easy to rectify.

Room Tip: Book a themed room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyK777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
397 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 395 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Visited on a very busy night. Bar attendant was initially very matter of fact, however she cheered up no end and became very chatty and helpful.

The food is very good but it is very expensive for what is no more than a good pub. Despite this, I would visit again but not very often.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tim252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We've just come back from having a superb Sunday roast here. The staff are very good, the food was plentiful and very tasty and they cater for people who have a gluten and wheat intolerence, so overall excellent. We'll definitely be going back soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelesnails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

This is our favourite pub in the area! The staff are always eager to accommodate. The food is gorgeous. The prices are reasonable for the quality of food offered. We tell all of our friends about the Bull Inn and now you should tell all of yours :) Always a wonderful experience and the chateaubriand is out of this world! Totally worth the money! We will be visiting again soon. Can't wait!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank E C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barton Mills
1.4 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riverside House Hotel
Riverside House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mildenhall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
1.7 mi away
Worlington Hall
Worlington Hall
#4 of 5 in Mildenhall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
10.0 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
7.6 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel
Bedford Lodge Hotel
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull Inn

Property: The Bull Inn
Address: The Street, Barton Mills, Mildenhall IP28 6AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Mildenhall > Barton Mills
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Barton Mills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bull Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bull Inn is not a B&B, it’s not hotel, but it is an award-winning boutique and quirky modern day coaching Inn, located near Mildenhall, Bury St Edmunds and Newmarket in the picturesque county of Suffolk. The Inn and its dedicated owners simply radiate character, style and an eccentric passion, which is simply infectious to all those who visit. Think funky and fresh within an amazing 500 year old coaching inn. The owners have created 15 individually designed boutique bedrooms, a 1 AA Rosette Restaurant, cosy pub with great wines, real ales and an open log fire for those cold winter evenings. There is also a fantastic courtyard to while away many a summer's day with family and friends. Improvement and refurbishment never ends at The Bull, with the passionate owners always seeking and trying new, exciting and sometimes crazy ideas! The Bull has a whole wall of accolades to boast including "Best Small Hotel in Suffolk," "Best Freehouse in East Anglia" and "Best Sunday Lunch" to mention a few and the whole business simply oozes character and a unique charm created by the hands-on owners. The team work hard to host events throughout the year, from live music nights, murder mystery dinners, charity evenings, themed Christmas parties and lunches with Santa. This unique destination inn is located in the picturesque village of Barton Mills, just 2 miles from Mildenhall. Barton Mills is just on the edge of Thetford Forest with the towns of Bury St Edmunds, Ely, Cambridge and Newmarket all within a short drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Bull Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olde Bull Hotel Barton Mills
The Bull Inn Barton Mills, Mildenhall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing