We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky, Friendly Coaching Inn”
Review of The Bull Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Bull Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Barton Mills
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Independently owned Coaching Inn, with cow friendly decor, our room was quite funky even though it didn't have a name (only a number) all are individually decorated and the 'named' ones are more expensive. The bed was comfortable and bathroom was fine. We were very well looked after, but as we were off to a party elsewhere we didn't experience the bar service or evening meal. Staff/hosts were polite and friendly and breakfast was very good. I have given this a very good because of the price, our room was £130 per night with none of the luxuries of similar priced hotels, and no air conditioning, having said that I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: No tips, as our room location was very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wybos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 484 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed on my own for 1 night when visiting Newmarket Races. The room was beautifully decorated with a quirky boutique style. Very clean and comfortable. Staff were friendly and welcoming. Would recommend to other and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank ChicaSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed here recently.The hosts were very friendly. Room was a good size and the bed was very comfortable . The only comment would be compared to similar hotels we have stayed at the prices was a lot higher

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Malcolm W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This is a must for anyone looking for accommodation in this area!! We had a wonderful stay. From the minute we walked through the door we were greeted by a lovely lady on reception, so friendly and very welcoming. The room had character and spotlessly clean.
We popped into the bar for a drink before dinner and the man behind the bar was as lovely as the lady on reception!
The food in the restaurant was absolutely delicious!! Staff were helpful and polite and the plates were hot which is very important to us. We will definitely be back. Love,loved loved it. Thank you so much. P.s breakfast was also superb

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We attended a Murder Mystery Dinner and stayed overnight with breakfast in July 2014. Staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. They volunteered to extend out checkout time when they realised we were having a precious night away from 2 small children (the bliss of a lie in!) and didn't bat an eyelid when we turned up for a cooked breakfast at 10:29 (breakfast finished at 10:30).

The food was good and they catered very well for my husband's very individual dietary requirements.

The decor is a little interesting (think black chandeliers and pink plastic - hence 4 stars rather than 5!) but overall that didn't detract from a lovely visit.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank LizardC2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

From check in to check out, friendly helpful staff. My room was clean and of a good size, as it was quite hot it was great to have windows that open fully and they provided a fan (although a little noisy) the bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in in ages. Food looked good but I are else where in the evening as arranged previously, however if breakfast was anything to go buy then it would have been excellent, great quality ingredients, hot and nicely cooked. All in all a pleasurable stay and I would recommend stopping here in fact I am looking forward to booking here again myself very soon.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephelloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Glad to only have had lunch in the pub, poor service and even poorer management reaction when we complained. We were very happy during past visits, but will not return after our last experience. Not very pleasant to eat from sticky tables wilth last night's beer spills - even worse to eat rocker salad with infused with sand!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chennells-Brook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barton Mills
1 mi away
Riverside House Hotel
Riverside House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mildenhall
318 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Barton Mills
Travelodge Barton Mills
#1 of 2 in Barton Mills
317 reviews
10 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
743 reviews
1.7 mi away
Worlington Hall
Worlington Hall
#4 of 5 in Mildenhall
114 reviews
7.6 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull Inn

Address: The Street, Barton Mills, Mildenhall IP28 6AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Mildenhall > Barton Mills
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Barton Mills
Price Range: £88 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bull Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bull Inn is not a B&B, it’s not hotel, but it is an award-winning boutique and quirky modern day coaching Inn, located near Mildenhall, Bury St Edmunds and Newmarket in the picturesque county of Suffolk. The Inn and its dedicated owners simply radiate character, style and an eccentric passion, which is simply infectious to all those who visit. Think funky and fresh within an amazing 500 year old coaching inn. The owners have created 15 individually designed boutique bedrooms, a 1 AA Rosette Restaurant, cosy pub with great wines, real ales and an open log fire for those cold winter evenings. There is also a fantastic courtyard to while away many a summer's day with family and friends. Improvement and refurbishment never ends at The Bull, with the passionate owners always seeking and trying new, exciting and sometimes crazy ideas! The Bull has a whole wall of accolades to boast including "Best Small Hotel in Suffolk," "Best Freehouse in East Anglia" and "Best Sunday Lunch" to mention a few and the whole business simply oozes character and a unique charm created by the hands-on owners. The team work hard to host events throughout the year, from live music nights, murder mystery dinners, charity evenings, themed Christmas parties and lunches with Santa. This unique destination inn is located in the picturesque village of Barton Mills, just 2 miles from Mildenhall. Barton Mills is just on the edge of Thetford Forest with the towns of Bury St Edmunds, Ely, Cambridge and Newmarket all within a short drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your The Bull Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olde Bull Hotel Barton Mills
The Bull Inn Barton Mills, Mildenhall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing