We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff Friendly but disappointing”
Review of The Bull Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bull Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Barton Mills
London, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Staff Friendly but disappointing”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Recently stayed one night at the The Bull Inn. The first thing we thought when we arrived was how tired the outside of the building looked which was reinforced when we went to reception to sign in - the interior too is very worn, chairs in the bar very worn with tears, the awning in the courtyard had rips in it, the wooden flooring in the reception area was chipped, well worn as were the carpets, in fact the whole place needs a refurbishment! It is a lovely building and it's a shame to see it so worn looking. Not sure why everything outside is painted in Grey, walls, windows etc - a dismal colour at the best of times! The rooms are quirky and ours was OK but no complimentary bottles of water in the room was a surprise - this is pretty standard anywhere. The food was very nice and the serving staff and bar staff very friendly and polite. We would not venture back.

Room Tip: Do not choose a room at the back overlooking the courtyard - very noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    90
    47
    14
    27
See reviews for
71
202
14
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

If you want hospitality at its best then the Bull Inn is for you. We were due to arrive the day after a month's rain had fallen on Barton Mills the night before. Sadly our selected room had suffered water damage but at 1.51am the previous night I was emailed and offered an alternative non-superior room with appropriate price adjustment and complimentary breakfast. The admittedly smaller room still had an enormous very comfortable bed, a great en-suite (small but beautiful) - our evening meal and breakfast were excellent. We will return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 637phila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I recently stayed in the "Princess" Feature room which cost £135 a night! With this kind of price i had high expectations.

Unfortunately i was very underwelmed. The bedroom was very very hot, the staff had left a fan in the room but this didnt do much to help.

We ate dinner at the hotel and it was average. I ate the burger which wasnt to my particular tasting but was not bad and my boyfriend had the chicken special which he said was nice.

I think the most dissapointing thing about the hotel was the bed! I slept with a spring digging in my back all night, it was so uncomfortable!

Also i did notice there was no soap to wash my hands, when i asked at reception about this they advised me that they dont keep soad in the rooms as they get used once them thrown away but i could use the shower gel or request some from reception. I understand the need to reduce waste but this seems a little bit excessive.

We did eat breakfast at the hotel and i ordered poached eggs, which were far too over cooked and were more like hard boiled eggs!

The rooms look nice and it is a nicely decorated hotel but i think they need more attention to detail. It is lovely to have a hotel which looks nice and trendy but i think they should remember that a greats nights sleep and a nice breakfast are also important.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steyning, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at The Bull Inn when visiting relatives in the area. The Bull advertises itself as
"not a hotel, but it is an award winning boutique and quirky modern day coaching Inn" so we were not quite sure what to expect. Unfortunately, we were left very underwhelmed. We had Room 4 which had a very comfortable bed and the shower was good with nice soft towels. However, the decor, which is what they refer to as funky and quirky was very over-rated. Our room was a huge mismatch of colours which accentuated the smallness of the room too. There were brown curtains, black and white striped carpet, one wall was papered in a very busy turquoise, gold and fuchsia wallpaper, whilst our headboards (which were very large and not attached to the wall, so were very wobbly) were covered in a fuchsia and brown fabric. The rest of the walls were painted grey. Needless to say, room 4 does not appear anywhere in their promotional photos.
We paid £115 for this room, which I would consider overpriced as it certainly didn't have any of the little luxury touches I expect for that price, i.e. water in the room, a fridge or even fresh milk for the tea/coffee making, air con.
In short, I think we paid top price for a no more than average room, I would certainly not recommend The Bull Inn and will not be going back there.

Room Tip: Don't go, but if you have to, don't choose room 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

lovely quaint pub, a brilliant menu- which is available all day long. The staff are friendly and helpful. Reasonable prices for what you get. The food is fresh and very tasty. Spacious outdoor seating areas, cosy indoor seating and ample parking :) I would visit again. :) a great place for a date, a catch up with friends or a family meal.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Clare N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

It seems to be a common trait, when arriving ahead of schedule at a destination to be told you cant check in until 1.00pm or whatever it happens to be, what happened to i'm sorry sir you are a little early let me just check that your room is ready !

Anyway, first impressions, after a long sweaty drive, were not brilliant. We were not sure what to expect as 'novelty accommodation' is not normally an attraction but in any case it was definitely under whelming. The room for a double was in reality a little on the small side, with no complimentary water or a fridge this would be expected anywhere else in a £150 a night room. The room itself was clean and tidy but the décor was in need of a lick of paint in places.

Again, for this sort of money, you'd expect crystal clear clarity and perhaps a choice of channels and not just the usual digital free view. Downstairs and the bar staff were friendly, if not very slow which considering it was not very busy was poor.

All in all would we stay here again, NO, you don't mind paying good money for anything but just not when it was a little average.

Room Tip: Do not ask for room to the rear, as it overlooks the beer garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magoo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Independently owned Coaching Inn, with cow friendly decor, our room was quite funky even though it didn't have a name (only a number) all are individually decorated and the 'named' ones are more expensive. The bed was comfortable and bathroom was fine. We were very well looked after, but as we were off to a party elsewhere we didn't experience the bar service or evening meal. Staff/hosts were polite and friendly and breakfast was very good. I have given this a very good because of the price, our room was £130 per night with none of the luxuries of similar priced hotels, and no air conditioning, having said that I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: No tips, as our room location was very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wybos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barton Mills
1.0 mi away
Riverside House Hotel
Riverside House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mildenhall
293 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Barton Mills
Travelodge Barton Mills
#2 of 2 in Barton Mills
277 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel
Bedford Lodge Hotel
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
869 reviews
1.7 mi away
Worlington Hall
Worlington Hall
#4 of 5 in Mildenhall
103 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull Inn

Property: The Bull Inn
Address: The Street, Barton Mills, Mildenhall IP28 6AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Mildenhall > Barton Mills
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Barton Mills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bull Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bull Inn is not a B&B, it’s not hotel, but it is an award-winning boutique and quirky modern day coaching Inn, located near Mildenhall, Bury St Edmunds and Newmarket in the picturesque county of Suffolk. The Inn and its dedicated owners simply radiate character, style and an eccentric passion, which is simply infectious to all those who visit. Think funky and fresh within an amazing 500 year old coaching inn. The owners have created 15 individually designed boutique bedrooms, a 1 AA Rosette Restaurant, cosy pub with great wines, real ales and an open log fire for those cold winter evenings. There is also a fantastic courtyard to while away many a summer's day with family and friends. Improvement and refurbishment never ends at The Bull, with the passionate owners always seeking and trying new, exciting and sometimes crazy ideas! The Bull has a whole wall of accolades to boast including "Best Small Hotel in Suffolk," "Best Freehouse in East Anglia" and "Best Sunday Lunch" to mention a few and the whole business simply oozes character and a unique charm created by the hands-on owners. The team work hard to host events throughout the year, from live music nights, murder mystery dinners, charity evenings, themed Christmas parties and lunches with Santa. This unique destination inn is located in the picturesque village of Barton Mills, just 2 miles from Mildenhall. Barton Mills is just on the edge of Thetford Forest with the towns of Bury St Edmunds, Ely, Cambridge and Newmarket all within a short drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Bull Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olde Bull Hotel Barton Mills
The Bull Inn Barton Mills, Mildenhall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing