We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel we've ever stayed in!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites San Diego-Poway
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Poway
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best hotel we've ever stayed in!”
Reviewed 14 June 2010

We decided to stay in this hotel because the reviews we read for hotels in the immediate San Diego area were unnerving. We wanted a safe, quiet, comfortable place to stay. We've stayed in other Hamptons, but this one is the cream of the crop. It's gorgeous inside and out. While it's true it doesn't have a restaurant within walking distance, there are several within a few minutes' drive. The furnishings in the room are top-notch, the beds are wonderfully comfortable, there are more outlets in the room than I've ever seen in any hotel room, the bathroom has a marble countertop and a very nice ceramic tile pattern in the tub surround, and the area is relatively quiet and appears safe. The breakfast area is very nice, and the breakfast itself is extensive and delicious - apart from the fruit salad, which didn't taste right (I imagine it's frozen and not fresh). Our only regret was that this was the first night of our week in CA, so it was all downhill from here!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InfrequentVacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    118
    22
    13
    9
See reviews for
227
88
22
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rocou
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2010

Been staying there 3-4 nights per month since beginning of the year. Staff is friendly, rooms nice and large, lobby/breakfast room doubles as a good place for quick meetings during the day. The negatives are few: no restaurant/bar, starcases way at the end of the corridors (in a 3-story hotel with slow elevators), and the Hampton Inn classic throw-away breakfast tableware that turns a pretty good breakfast into a cheapo and not ver ecologic experience.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rocou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
101 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2010

Excellent business hotel in Poway, San Diego County. Built about 1-1/2 years ago, this Hampton Inn and Suites offers a friendly and helpful staff, great and comfortable bedrooms, reasonable rates, a full daily breakfast, pool, workout room. I would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay here again. The photos are a good representation of this great Poway hotel.

The wonderful breakfast buffet offered pastries, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, omelettes, bacon, belgian waffles, and was well worth the value. Coffee and tea are offered in the lobby all day. Very relaxing space for a motor hotel.

The bedroom was super clean with a great bed. It was furnished with a 42" flat screen TV, microwave and mini fridge, free wifi internet, coffee maker, ironing board, and a spacious and nicely finished bathroom. My room had only a large walk in shower, not sure if other rooms had a bathtub. Excellent value for a clean and new hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasminedogLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoBay, CA
Level Contributor
114 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2010

We needed to spend the night for a volleyball tournament nearby (just around the corner.)

This Inn was new, clean, beautifully decorated, spacious rooms with supremely comfortable beds with beautiful linens, and a generous continental breakfast (included in the price) with many satisfying options, including make-your-own waffles, toast-your-own bagels, and a kind of novel breakfast pizza that was surprisingly good. Unlike many places, the breakfast area was not too crowded: there was plenty of room to assemble what you wanted, and lots of tables with chairs, and counters with stools to sit, in a light, bright, spacious wide-open room.

If this place were not so far out, away from my favorite kinds of vacation activities, I'd book a week there. We really were pleasantly surprised and very comfortable. Well done!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCbacktoLAhooray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto-ish
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2010

This was my 3rd trip to this Hampton Inn and I stayed for 8 nights. It felt just like home to me. The staff is very friendly, courteous and helpful. Being only a year old, the hotel is in great condiiton, and the decor is the new Hampton styling. The room (I was upgraded to a suite being Hhonors Gold) was ideal - large LCD TV, free wi-fi, spacious desk, fridge and microwave. The lounge area is very comfortable and encourages you to spend time there, in the morning at breakfast or in the evening as well. The pool is very spacious and nicely set up, the exercise room is ideal for this size of hotel, and the business center is also ideal. I haven't felt this comfortable at a hotel in some time - and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stiffy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2009

The staff was so great! The decor is amazing. Felt like I was in a luxury hotel! Fantastic breakfast for a complimentary quick, warm continental. Free 24 hour business center (leave the laptop at home) and in-room Internet. Clean, luxury bedding, marble countertops. New.
Only drawback is a little distance from the freeway. Not far though.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tarilynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2009

I booked this for $119 on hotels.com, expecting to find a perfectly adequate motel room. Instead, we were pleased and surprised to find a room that was a clear cut above what I expected for this brand and price. The room was spacious, felt very freshly renovated, and had unexpected designer touches: open wooden cabinets with plush spa-style rolled towels, granite countertop, large glass-enclosed shower, nice spa toiletries. The lobby and breakfast area was very fresh and nicely designed too.

The only mild drawback was traffic noise, at least in our room facing the front side of the hotel, on a larger street. The back side is probably quiet as I think it backs up on an office park.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank TomChatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poway
4.2 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Carmel Mountain Ranch
1.2 mi away
Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel
2.1 mi away
Ramada Poway
Ramada Poway
#3 of 3 in Poway
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Diego - Rancho Bernardo
6.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego/Rancho Bernardo
11.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites San Diego-Poway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites San Diego-Poway

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites San Diego-Poway
Address: 14068 Stowe Dr, Poway, CA 92064-6846
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Poway
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Poway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites San Diego-Poway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from San Diego, our recently renovated hotel offers convenient access to local restaurants, dining, and recreation, as well as proximity to I-5 and I-15. Guests enjoy complimentary hot breakfast, free internet access and an outdoor pool with a hot tub and cabanas. Each room includes a microwave, mini fridge, and flat screen TVs. Nearby attractions include the San Diego Zoo, Sea World, the Bernardo Winery, Golf, and Downtown San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites San Diego-Poway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites San Diego Poway
Hampton Inn & Suites San Diego Poway Hotel Poway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing