We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Poway
California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 18 June 2009

We gathered as a family for my Dad's memorial service so I had to wrangle 11 rooms and 25 people. Tim the General Manager was a great help as was all the staff. Very responsive to our needs and patient with large groups of people standing around visiting. The rooms were great-I heard no complaints from anyone in our group. The breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JP3California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwpowaygm, General Manager at Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We look forward to seeing you on your next stay. If there is anything we can do to make you next stay more enjoyable, please feel free to contact me.

Thank you,

Timothy Wizorek
General Manager
858-748-6320
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    47
    37
    30
    14
See reviews for
62
36
25
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
northern california
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2009

We booked the Best Western Country Inn in Poway, CA on-line without even knowing where &/or how good it would be. It wasn't very far from a relative we were visiting, so I was hoping for the best. I must say that I was pleasantly surprised. It was in a good area, the people were friendly and the room was very large & clean. Oh, the breakfast was wonderful. We will stay there again on our next visit down South.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loveoceans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwpowaygm, General Manager at Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We look forward to seeing you on your next stay. If there is anything we can do to make you next stay more enjoyable, please feel free to contact me.

Thank you,

Timothy Wizorek
General Manager
858-748-6320
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2009

There was a blackout one night while we were staying at the Ramada. We checked out and the Best Western charged us the same as we paid in the Ramada. I thought that that was great customer service and we booked another stay after that night.
Clean rooms, comfy beds and no mildew smell. Nice place to stay!
The breakfast is no great shakes, but it is adequate.

We booked again for our next trip in August

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergeant1642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwpowaygm, General Manager at Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2009
Thank you for your response. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to seeing you agian. If you need anything, please feel free to contact me.

Thank you,

Timothy Wizorek
General Manager
gm.bwpoway@excelhotelgroup.com
858-748-6320
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2009

We booked thru hotwire for 4 people. Hotel gave 1 king bed and wanted to charge more for double bed. Also warned they could give smoking if booked thru third party website. They cannot honor special requests if booked thru other website. Charged $1 for a safe we did not ask or use. Breakfast limited and some of it stale. Room interior was new, nice, clean and quiet. Exterior 2 star.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripkahuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwpowaygm, General Manager at Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2009
Thanking you for taking a few moments of your time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our property.

I apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We strive to ensure each and every guest experience is satisfying.

Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving. It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 858-748-6320.

Timothy Wizorek
General Manager
Best Western Country Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2009

There are only 2 reviews of this hotel now on this site. I myself posted a review some years ago and there are at least half a dozen more. This hotel has not had good reviews and, although it now appears to be under new management, I think it is only fair that people considering this hotel should have all the facts. It is now listed as number one in Poway! How this can be with the new and much nicer Hampton Inn opening recently in the Poway area is beyond me. Just because this hotel has changed its name from Country Inn to Best Western Country Inn does not mean the previous reviews are redundant.

Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jennyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwpowaygm, General Manager at Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2009
Let me start by thanking you for taking the time to write a review regarding our property.

Since your stay, we have made renovations to the hotel and have changed management as well as ownership.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you as we feel these changes have made our property a much more enjoyable place to stay.

If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 858-748-6320.

Timothy Wizorek
General Manager
Best Western Country Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northampton, ma
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2008

They must be renovating rooms or something, because my experience was nothing like the two previous reviews.

I checked in with a polite deskperson, Kathleen. I was traveling as a single, but was afforded a room with a king size bed, good size refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker.

The bathroom has new brushed metal fixtures with faux marble and large shower head. The water pressure was fine and hot water was steady in temperature and abundant. The whole room looks quite new.

I didn't use the pool or hot tub, so I can't vouch for that.

The only complaint would be that the traffic nearby is quite loud -- not alot of sound insulation from the door.

Overall, I would stay here again.

  • Liked — Great price on Priceline, Fridge & microwave in room.
  • Disliked — Traffic noise.
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fingirl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwpowaygm, General Manager at Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, 20 October 2008
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay. As you mentioned, we have been recently renovated and do whatever we can to make each guest's stay as great as possible. If you have any questions, please contact me at 858-748-6320. We look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you,

Timothy Wizorek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poway
1.8 mi away
Ramada Poway
Ramada Poway
#3 of 3 in Poway
312 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Diego-Poway
4.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn San Diego - Miramar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Carmel Mountain Ranch
6.7 mi away
Best Western San Diego/Miramar Hotel
5.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Diego - Rancho Bernardo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel

Property: Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel
Address: 13845 Poway Rd, Poway, CA 92064-4805
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Poway
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Poway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Country Hotel
Poway Best Western
Poway Country Inn
Best Western Poway
Country Inn Poway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing