We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic motel; good value” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gold Pan Lodge

Gold Pan Lodge
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Quincy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gold Pan Lodge
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Quincy
USA
Level Contributor
140 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Basic motel; good value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

There are apparently "newer" and "older" sections to this motel. My room had wood paneling and not the white walls as depicted in the travelers photo on this site. So, my review will be of the "older" portion of the hotel. We had two beds with a small desk in between. There was a flat screen TV, DVD player, fridge and microwave.

Pros: very close to where our activities were for the week; breakfast in the lobby, though limited; easy access from US-70 yet there isn't enough traffic to interrupt your sleep; friendly front-desk staff; excellent wifi coverage; beds were comfortable; air conditioning worked great.

Cons: the rooms are dark, mostly due to wood paneling and poor lighting; there was mold in the bathroom; at least one of the towels was soiled or stained-- either way it didn't look clean and I didn't use it. Overall, the shower area needs updating-- get rid of the mold; paint the walls.

I paid $80 a night for the room, which was reasonable. There are not many options for hotels in Quincy, so I would stay here again. However, I would probably ask for one of the newer rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a newer, remodeled room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheProf06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    8
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
12
8
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
manteca, ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

my son and I stayed at the gold pan lodge during the fourth do July holiday, we stayed 3 nights, The staff, was friendly, the room was clean and very comfortable at a reasonable price, But I must say, they really went beyond what was asked of a lodge or motel, on the third day of our stay our air conditioner went out, and this was on the fourth of July, they tried to fix it. we went out for dinner and visiting relatives, when we got back they had installed a new air conditioner, when I went to check out, I found out they had taken the air conditioner out of their lobby and installed it in our room, talk about excellent service, I highly recommend the Gold pan lodge, great price, and they go beyond hospitable, thank you staff

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Janine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

We paid $60 + tax for a one-night stay here in a room with a queen-size bed.

Not too much to say about it. The room was very small, the bed was comfortable, there was a large lounger-type chair that took up too much space between the bed and the wall.

While the room was very dated, it was also very clean, as was the bathroom. Wifi in the lobby and small breakfast room was strong, but the network in our guestroom wasn't functional during our stay.

The continental breakfast was very basic but plentiful.

Staff was very nice. The hotel is just west of the old downtown area and therefore convenient to restaurants.

The Gold Pan Lodge isn't going to win a prize for decor or sumptuousness but it's fine for a 1-night stay if visiting Quincy or passing through on Hwy. 70 / 89.

Places to eat:

For lunch/dinner consider Pangea. Good craft brews on tap, and a surprising selection of food that you wouldn't expect to find in a small mountain town like Quincy. Lots of vegetarian choices, plus sushi night on Thursday. Closed on Saturdays and Sundays.

For breakfast consider Morning Thunder, also very close to the motel.

There's also a popular coffeehouse (not really walking distance from the motel) in the same building as the Quincy post office, though kind of around the corner and in the basement.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RoomForRent1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2010

this is your ideal motel.. right price, clean enough, get-in, sleep, shower and get out kinda place.. nothing fancy but more than adequate..

check in was quick.. staff was friendly, internet was reliable, fast and free.. ample parking, quiet... has a refrigerator in the room.. it's a small town, so everything is nearby..

unless you expect a Westin style hotel experience at motel price.. this is a place i would gladly recommend to everyone and I would definitely go back..

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sheshagiri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2010

If you look in a dictionary under "basic motel", you'd see a picture of the Gold Pan. Nothing wrong with it, and nothing great about it. It's nice and clean and good value. The larger rooms (with 2 queen beds) have been refurbished with nicer furnitures. The one bed rooms are still with older furnitures. If you are looking for basic accommodation in central Plumas County, this is one of your best choices.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThanksSocialSecurity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

Quincy isn't noted for excellent accommodations. When you need a pet friendly location, the choices are even more limited. We had stayed at the Gold Pan Lodge over five years ago with our previous dog, so we booked again with pretty low expectations.

We have to say we were pleasantly surprised. The place was clean. That's probably #1 in our book that a motel has to pass hygienic basics. The carpet was clean as was the bathroom floor. No mold at the bottom edge of the shower curtain (one of those subtle cleanliness checks). The bath towels were nice and soft and fluffy, not the usual scratchy threadbare fare you typically get in classic motels. The rest of the room was nice and clean.

We did have to move rooms since upon entry to our first room we discovered that the refrigerator wasn't working. They quickly moved us to a new room. Contrary to another recent Trip Advisor reviewer, we experienced a helpful and friendly front desk staff.

The owners have been putting money into the place, that's clear. The A/C unit was pretty new with digital controls and it worked flawlessly. That was important given the hot weather in Quincy at the time. The A/C kept the room at the set temperature. The bathroom linoleum floor looked pretty new. The bed was comfortable (no sagging). The hot water was ample in a no frills shower/tub.

The room came with a refrigerator, small microwave and DVD player. Free movie DVDs were available in the office (but nothing looked particularly interesting to us so we didn't try the DVD player). The TV included HBO and a decent assortment of Sacramento and national cable TV channels (about 30-35 total). A small coffee pot with preloaded coffee brewing filters, sugar packets and powdered creamer was in the room but there were no tea bags or coffee stirrers (!) that you usually get. A no-frills continental breakfast (think those cellophane-packaged Svenhard's pastries) was available in the lobby. The free WiFi that actually worked was an unexpected bonus.

Be prepared that the rooms are pretty small, with only a few feet around the bed. A suite it is not! But it was functional, clean, basic sleeping quarters. Our little dog loved it and the pet surcharge was reasonable ($10 per night I believe). If you keep your expectations down, you're in for a nice, clean, comfortable stay at the Gold Pan Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TreasuryGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phoenix
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2010

they've got dvds and breakfast, but those are really outweighed by the truly terrible service. you can't watch the dvds, after all, if nobody will fix your tv (which happened). ended up moving locations for final couple days' stay in town.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bollenslund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quincy
24.4 mi away
Chalet View Lodge
Chalet View Lodge
#1 of 4 in Graeagle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Gold Pan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Pan Lodge

Property: Gold Pan Lodge
Address: 200 Crescent Street, Quincy, CA
Region: United States > California > Plumas County > Quincy
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Quincy
Number of rooms: 57
Also Known As:
Gold Pan Hotel Quincy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing