We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value in a Sleepy Town”
Review of Gold Pan Lodge

Gold Pan Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gold Pan Lodge
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Quincy
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Our family just returned home to the SF Bay area after spending the weekend in Quincy. We were there for the football game(Diablo Valley College vs Feather River College) on Saturday but arrived a day early. The moment we walked we felt welcome. The staff made sure we had everything we needed and also gave us wonderful suggestions on places to dine while in town. The room was VERY clean and soooo cozy! Especially with the snowy weather outside and the quiet little town atmosphere our stay was wonderful. I totally recommend the GOLD PAN LODGE to everyone visiting this sleepy little town.
Thanks to Janice and all of the staff for making us feel at home:-).
P.S. DVC won the game 27 - 17 GOOOO VIKINGS!!!

Room Tip: Get the non-smoking rooms on the 1st floor for better access to parking and less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ja'nnine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2012

i'm in the room right now--i've been on a 35 day tour promoting my new book with 14 readings/workshops in that time so i've stayed in a lot of motels in the last month plus--and this is the nicest one i've found especially for the price--clean--comfortable beds--no critters which is a concern of mine since i got eaten by spiders in Redding--free dvds, flat screen, stable fast wireless, refrigerator and micro wave and an awesome shower--the staff is very friendly--more like neighbors than strangers and when i needed to stay an extra 2 hours before checking out they were absolutely gracious and didn't charge even though i offered to pay extra.

5 stars in Quincy

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012 via mobile

Very silent at night the service was pretty average but the pillows weren't good. The rooms are cold in the winter and hot in the summer.But the heater and ac are great to make the room perfect.To get to pick out a free movie to watch during your stay.the breakfast is okay but not the best.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Quinn1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

There are apparently "newer" and "older" sections to this motel. My room had wood paneling and not the white walls as depicted in the travelers photo on this site. So, my review will be of the "older" portion of the hotel. We had two beds with a small desk in between. There was a flat screen TV, DVD player, fridge and microwave.

Pros: very close to where our activities were for the week; breakfast in the lobby, though limited; easy access from US-70 yet there isn't enough traffic to interrupt your sleep; friendly front-desk staff; excellent wifi coverage; beds were comfortable; air conditioning worked great.

Cons: the rooms are dark, mostly due to wood paneling and poor lighting; there was mold in the bathroom; at least one of the towels was soiled or stained-- either way it didn't look clean and I didn't use it. Overall, the shower area needs updating-- get rid of the mold; paint the walls.

I paid $80 a night for the room, which was reasonable. There are not many options for hotels in Quincy, so I would stay here again. However, I would probably ask for one of the newer rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a newer, remodeled room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheProf06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

my son and I stayed at the gold pan lodge during the fourth do July holiday, we stayed 3 nights, The staff, was friendly, the room was clean and very comfortable at a reasonable price, But I must say, they really went beyond what was asked of a lodge or motel, on the third day of our stay our air conditioner went out, and this was on the fourth of July, they tried to fix it. we went out for dinner and visiting relatives, when we got back they had installed a new air conditioner, when I went to check out, I found out they had taken the air conditioner out of their lobby and installed it in our room, talk about excellent service, I highly recommend the Gold pan lodge, great price, and they go beyond hospitable, thank you staff

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Janine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We paid $60 + tax for a one-night stay here in a room with a queen-size bed.

Not too much to say about it. The room was very small, the bed was comfortable, there was a large lounger-type chair that took up too much space between the bed and the wall.

While the room was very dated, it was also very clean, as was the bathroom. Wifi in the lobby and small breakfast room was strong, but the network in our guestroom wasn't functional during our stay.

The continental breakfast was very basic but plentiful.

Staff was very nice. The hotel is just west of the old downtown area and therefore convenient to restaurants.

The Gold Pan Lodge isn't going to win a prize for decor or sumptuousness but it's fine for a 1-night stay if visiting Quincy or passing through on Hwy. 70 / 89.

Places to eat:

For lunch/dinner consider Pangea. Good craft brews on tap, and a surprising selection of food that you wouldn't expect to find in a small mountain town like Quincy. Lots of vegetarian choices, plus sushi night on Thursday. Closed on Saturdays and Sundays.

For breakfast consider Morning Thunder, also very close to the motel.

There's also a popular coffeehouse (not really walking distance from the motel) in the same building as the Quincy post office, though kind of around the corner and in the basement.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RoomForRent1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2010

this is your ideal motel.. right price, clean enough, get-in, sleep, shower and get out kinda place.. nothing fancy but more than adequate..

check in was quick.. staff was friendly, internet was reliable, fast and free.. ample parking, quiet... has a refrigerator in the room.. it's a small town, so everything is nearby..

unless you expect a Westin style hotel experience at motel price.. this is a place i would gladly recommend to everyone and I would definitely go back..

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sheshagiri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Gold Pan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Pan Lodge

Address: 200 Crescent Street, Quincy, CA
Region: United States > California > Plumas County > Quincy
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Quincy
Price Range: £61 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gold Pan Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Pan Hotel Quincy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing