We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riviera Oaks Resorts
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ramona
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Unexpected Oasis”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The resort and the accommodations proved to be an oasis in the desert after climbing the boulder filled mountains of Ramona to get there. The units were well decorated, stocked and maintained. Huge amount of room, storage and closets. The grounds and facilities were wonderful (pool, tennis, gym, horseback riding, etc.). The staff, from the front desk to housekeeping (Francisco & Linda) to the concierge (Rita) were the friendliest we have ever come across. Everyone wanted to please. The resort also has a stable on the property and Wrangler Ray gave me (my wife stayed back and took photos) 1/2 hour of instruction before taking me out on the trail. He was great and so was the ride. We highly recommend the resort and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NYTrendies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    56
    10
    6
    7
See reviews for
46
50
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Had a huge 2 bedroom suite. The location is a little remote bit it's really peaceful and serene. Our room faced Ramona Oaks Rd so there was some road noise, but I loved that the room faced the creek bed and trees. A little noise from the room above us but not too bad. Loved the pool/jacuzzi and the overall look and feel of the room and resort.
One weird thing was the heating and air. We couldn't get it to work. The front desk insisted that we needed to put our room key in a slot to operate the lights and air but no such slot existed. After several phone calls the from desk conceded that a few rooms didn't have the slot so maintenance would need to come. Took a day to get out a handyman to fix the unit. It had really awful confusing programming so it kicked off in the middle of the night and we woke up freezing. Also, you have to pay for wifi.
All that said, it's still the best place to stay in Ramona.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Aimster77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Riviera Oaks Resorts, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for your review, we are glad to read you had an enjoyable stay with us. It is also great for us to read that our staff provided you with the assistance you needed, however, we are sorry this problem occurred in the first place. We trust this has not ruined your stay and we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remington, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom villa and were absolutely astounded by the quality of the accommodations. We booked this through Expedia and will never do that again! Trying to get something through to that organization is difficult or next to impossible.

However the resort itself is absolutely beautiful we have a villa that is next to a park is very quiet it is peaceful we have virtually everything we need. We have stayed in a number of places in the San Diego area but this one beats anything we've ever been. February is the off-season and the price was very reasonable.

We actually booked the stay in two separate bookings and that is what caused the trouble with Expedia. It took me at least an hour and a half to get things straightened out and finally we just Accepted what they had and said thanks, And went to the desk and got everything all straightened out. We nearly always book direct and this is one of the reasons why we do so. It is always better to talk with a person and do it right the first time!

Room Tip: When you come in the wintertime remember it is the off-season be very kind to the people and deal di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Countryman36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Riviera Oaks Resorts, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
We are delighted to read that the comfort of our accommodations, convenient location and great customer service met, If not exceeded your expectations and contributed to you having a wonderful and relaxing stay here. It was very wise of you to look for money-saving opportunities during the less-traveled off-season. We thank you for sharing that tip with our future guest and your fellow travelers. We hope to see you coming back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Had 2 nights in October - room 521 Block E - 1 bed Unit.

We knew when we booked the stay that the rooms were not up to usual Diamond Resort standards, however, it had everything we needed ... large living/dining area (TV old fashioned large box shape - not flat screen), well equipped kitchen with large fridge/freezer, oven/hob, microwave, dishwasher, etc. The bathroom was OK - however we had ants on the floor and around the sink area. The bedroom was a good size too with huge mirrored wardrobe and another large TV.

We did not try any further facilities as we were out and about the days we were there.

All in all it was OK for a quick stop off in the area - however, we would not return unless it was freshened up by Diamond.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lindsay-and-Neil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a two bedroom villa. We checked in after midnight. The staff was prepared for our late arrival. They left a log for the fireplace. It was very spacious. Fireplace gives it a cozy feeling. Great for families, we will return!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ren12317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Studio City
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This is a timeshare which I needed to use. Was amazed at how serene this place was. Super large one bedroom. Very quiet and clean. 7 miles outside of Ramona. Wonderful amenities and wonderful staff. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: 78 goes almost there. Don't get lost using google map.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Riviera Oaks Resorts, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
We are really glad to learn that you had a relaxing time here with us, enjoyed your stay and found everything you needed in your guestroom. We were very pleased and delighted to read your comments and that our location contributed to you having a great stay here. We hope to see you coming back with another visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaCrosse, WA
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Got a timeshare exchange for our son and family. They only stayed one night instead of
a week. The room smelled, their breakfast rolls for the morning were full of ants by morning,
his 3 year old cut her foot on an exposed carpet tack and the family was bitten by ants. They
were offered another room but by then they had had enough!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rld70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramona
0.2 mi away
San Diego Country Estates
11.5 mi away
Ayres Lodge Alpine
Ayres Lodge Alpine
#1 of 2 in Alpine
817 reviews
17.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Diego - Rancho Bernardo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego/Rancho Bernardo
1.4 mi away
San Vicente Golf Resort
5.3 mi away
Ramona Valley Inn
Ramona Valley Inn
#1 of 1 in Ramona
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Oaks Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Oaks Resorts

Property: Riviera Oaks Resorts
Address: 25382 Pappas Rd, Ramona, CA 92065-4925
Region: United States > California > Ramona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ramona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riviera Oaks Resorts 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Riviera Oaks Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Oaks Hotel Ramona
Riviera Oaks Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing