We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Even better than before, still the best value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Vicente Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
San Vicente Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ramona
Certificate of Excellence
Wheat Ridge, Co
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Even better than before, still the best value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Our group of friends come each March for a little golf vacation. We love it here, the golf course is in great condition, and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. Since my review last year (April 2011), there have been noticeable improvements in the restaurant/bar food and service. They have a new chef, the food is tastier, and operations seem to run smoother. The restaurant is also busier so make reservations. A new menu is more oriented to burgers, pizza, salads, and sandwiches but still includes entrees and nightly specials. The bar, which now extends onto an outdoor patio, is very pleasant. The restaurant is now open for breakfast on Mondays and lunch & dinner are served in the bar on Mondays. All of the staff are friendly and helpful and a joy to be around.

Room Tip: top floor rooms have high ceilings; wireless internet does not always extend to the rooms further aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJ_co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BESTGOLFSPOT, Public Relations Manager at San Vicente Golf Resort, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Thank you for continuing to choose San Vicente Golf Resort for you vacation getaway. We are very proud of our new Par Lounge and Deck with more improvements on the way! Your comments regarding the quality of our food and service are especially appreciated. Having a new venue was only the beginning to creating the best experience for our guests. We will continue to learn and train accordingly to exceed your expectations.

We thank you for your patronage and very much look forward to having you with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    56
    18
    2
    1
See reviews for
41
51
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

We happened upon this condo/restaurant/golf resort by accident and were pleasantly surprised by the ambiance. Very friendly and helpful staff, you are made to feel at home. The condo was clean, updated, comfortable bed and lovely view of the golf course from the private patio. This is a very reasonably priced property with a very good restaurant and cozy bar with friendly locals and guests and a fun, relaxed atmosphere. We would do a return visit and next time play golf!

Room Tip: We had a room in the second floor with a great view of the golf course and lovely landscaping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happytraveler485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BESTGOLFSPOT, Public Relations Manager at San Vicente Golf Resort, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Thank you for your kind words. All of us here at San Vicente Golf Resort pride ourselves on giving the best service we can. Our resort is a unique place to experience so much or just relax. We hope to have you with us again. Try the different seasons as Mother Nature puts on a beautiful display for each of them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

We were in the area for one night; our son competed in his first race at Barona Oaks Motocross Park. We don't have a trailer like a lot of the other racers and honestly this was the only place to stay for miles other than the Barona Casino which didn't appeal to us. I read all of the great reviews before booking and San Vicente did not disappoint! The hotel is older, but is very clean and the grounds are beautiful and well kept. We are not golfers but did enjoy the great view of the course from our room. We ate dinner at The Oaks Grille and it was fabulous. The service was great too, and Mary Lou was very sweet and accommodating. The best part is we paid over $90 less than we would have for a comparable room at Barona Casino. We have already booked our next stay in a couple of weeks and this will be our place of choice when we come to race.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tami912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BESTGOLFSPOT, Public Relations Manager at San Vicente Golf Resort, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Thank you so much for taking your time to submit a review about our resort. All of us are very proud of our property and will provide the best service we can to ensure a great experience for every guest. We look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

We booked our stay with this resort after reading the reviews on tripadviser. We live in San Diego County and wanted to celebrate our wedding anniversary away from the crowds and city life. We originally booked our stay for the first weekend in February and where unable to keep the reservacation. Mary Lou was kind enough to reschedule our room without charging a cancelation fee considering we canceled less then 24 hrs in advance. We stayed on the top floor overlooking the golf course. Our room was ready when we checked in. The room was very clean and airy. The ceilings are vaulted, which made the room appear larger, where the ceiling meets the roof there are window which bring in more light. The grounds are well kept and very nice. We ate two meals at the Oaks grill, the breakfast was just ok. The dinner on the other hand was fantastic. If your a golfer this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinmama124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BESTGOLFSPOT, Public Relations Manager at San Vicente Golf Resort, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thank you so much for choosing our resort to celebrate your anniversary. Our employees take great pride in the service provided and are happy to assist however we can. We hope you choose to return often as we do have "mild" changes of season which provides a different backdrop for your visit. San Vicente Resort is AAA Triple Diamond Awarded and our rooms certainly meet the criteria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

We stayed at the resort for two days and nights during our honeymoon. Although we don't golf, we were looking for a quiet remote place to relax. We sure found it! The room faced the golf course, so the early bird golfers woke us up each morning, but that was fine. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room was very nice and clean. The resort and its restaurant had a great staff. Special thanks to Ana, Cynthia, Maxine, Teri, and Mary Lou. We will definitely return and would recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swcarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BESTGOLFSPOT, Public Relations Manager at San Vicente Golf Resort, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Congratulations! and thank you so much for including the San Vicente Resort in your very special event. We appreciate you taking the time to comment on our property. Many of our employees have over 20 years employment with us and each take great pride in providing the best service possible. The people that you mentioned are absolutely amoung that group! We look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington State
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

I chose to stay at San Vicente when visiting family in Ramona. I made the mistake of making the reservations through Expedia rather than directly with the resort. Expedia assured me that I was booking adjoining rooms, when in fact there are none.

When we checked in, our two assigned rooms were only two doors away from each other. However, one room wasn't made up yet. The next room, one floor up, also wasn't made up. At last, the final top floor room was ready for occupancy. This didn't inspire confidence. However, we were comfortable enough once we settled in, just disappointed that instead of the adults' room and the kids' room, my husband and I had to split into separate camps with our three kids.

The resort's rooms are average, but a good value for the price we paid of around $75 each per night. Two queen beds, small table/chairs, TV, balcony or patio facing the golf course, fridge, very large closet, sink area, toilet/bath together. Our shower head was so low I had to stoop to use it, plus borrow a bathtub stopper from another room when I needed to bathe the kiddies.

The rooms are arranged oddly. They are paired around stairwells, with first floor rooms on the ground floor below the motel-style parking level, second story rooms at parking level, and third story rooms upstairs. If you walk down the stairs to the ground floor rooms you feel that you are entering a musty dungeon, but your room will have a ground floor patio. This staircase arrangement made it especially inconvenient for our family, which ended up on the first and third floors several staircases apart.

We were given vouchers for $4 off per person in the dining room each day, which made the cost of breakfast very inexpensive. The service staff was attentive, and the breakfast choices were tasty.

We used the swimming pool which has several lanes and is used by outside groups for swim practice and exercise classes, but at least one lane is reserved for guests. We didn't use the attractive tennis courts or go golfing.

After a rough start, we had a comfortable stay. The resort is a good value, just don't expect anything fancy.

Room Tip: Bottom floor stairwells are musty, but rooms have ground floor patio. Middle floor rooms are parkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miriamoly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BESTGOLFSPOT, Public Relations Manager at San Vicente Golf Resort, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Thank you for taking time to share your San Vicente Resort experience. Yes, our guestroom distribution is unique. Our apologies that your rooms were not ready and the other inconveniences you mentioned. Our entire staff takes great pride in the property and we appreciate input to make it better. Updates are on the planning table. For future stays please contact us directly so that we can insure your needs are met appropriately.

We look forward to you staying with us again and enjoying all the amenities we offer. Next time check out the two equestrian centers - they are amazing.

Again, thank you for your coments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

Excellent restaurant on the property. It had a good variety and great atmosphere. TVs for sporting events. Excellent service.

Room Tip: Top floor has only stairs to access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BESTGOLFSPOT, Public Relations Manager at San Vicente Golf Resort, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Hi Stacey, Thank you for taking your time to review your stay with us at San Vicente Golf Resort. Each of us here at the resort strive to provide the best service and amenities possible. Yes, our top floor is only accessible via stairs but all three levels of our guestrooms share the same spacious floorplans, and incredible views. We hope that you choose to stay with us again which we can accomodate you on our mid-level.
We appreciate you kind words about our food and lounge. Our Chef Ben is extremely talented with his culinary creations.

Please let me know if I can be of assistance with a future reservation with us. Janice Baldridge, Marketing Coordinator, janice.baldridge@sdcea.net 760-310-5107
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramona
1.5 mi away
San Diego Country Estates
11.4 mi away
Ayres Lodge Alpine
Ayres Lodge Alpine
#1 of 2 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
15.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego/Rancho Bernardo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Riviera Oaks Resorts
Riviera Oaks Resorts
#2 of 3 in Ramona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
11.3 mi away
Apple Tree Inn
Apple Tree Inn
#3 of 4 in Julian
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
11.2 mi away
Tucker Peak Lodge
Tucker Peak Lodge
#9 of 11 in Julian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Vicente Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Vicente Golf Resort

Property: San Vicente Golf Resort
Address: 24157 San Vincente Road, Ramona, CA 92065
Region: United States > California > Ramona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ramona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — San Vicente Golf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
45 Minutes from downtown San Diego. San Vicente Golf Resort offers AAA 3 Diamond lodge guestrooms, FREE parking, FREE WiFi and NO Resort Fee, golf course, year-round heated swimming pool, spa tub, lighted tennis courts, 2 equestrian centers, events and classes year-round connected to the seasons, Junior Golf Program, tennis lessons, swimming lessons ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your San Vicente Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Vicente Golf Hotel Ramona
San Vicente Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing