We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely careless and incapacitated front desk personal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Vicente Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ramona
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely careless and incapacitated front desk personal”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Nice surroundings and accommodations are good enough for not picky traveler. We are actively traveling family and been here before but unfortunately things getting from bad to worst. Due to previous not easy, but doable issues, we made reservation 2 month in advice and PAID IN FULL with ONE simple request: to grant room AWAY from club house terrace. Upon arrival as a mockery of that request we were given room located CLOSEST to terrace on second floor within 50 feet from it. Even though reservation was paid in full 2 months in advance, when complained we heard only lame excuses and standard “sorry bout dat” expression. Yes, it could be easily done but, apparently someone who took reservation somehow forgets to write something or somewhere and here you have it “now we are sold out and nothing can be done.” Sure enough, within length of stay when we were in beds had to witness drinking late night parties on that terrace where local drunk cowboys and cowgirls were screaming their lungs out way past midnight. Calls for help to front desk did noting and made things even worst as no one could tell loud parties to keep quiet. Obviously, this terrace is big money maker and nothing will be or could be changed, but at least stuff must have enough decency and courtesy to guests not to put family with small children right next to drinking spot – infamous club house terrace.

Room Tip: This place has its own unique issues, some doable and some are NOT whatever you do Stay AWAY from r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Garaz Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BESTGOLFSPOT, Public Relations Manager at San Vicente Golf Resort, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
We have reached out to determine the date of your stay with no response. Your input is important to us so that we can correct and improve where ever possible. Since our property is small; only 28 rooms, we can easily monitor unacceptable performance. We have researched your statements and have not found any confirmation. Please contact me if you have more specifics to share. It is always our goal to provide the best service and environment possible. I hope to hear from you, Janice Baldridge, Marketing Coordinator, janice.baldridge@sdcea.net, 760-310-5107
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    58
    18
    2
    1
See reviews for
42
53
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

As an avid golfer, my wife and I love to travel and take golf "get-a-way" weekends. We were attending a wedding in Romona, so I thought I would try the San Vicente Golf Resort, with very little expectations. Romona was dry, hot, and the place was barren. Then we arrived in this oasis valley of oaks, palm trees and lakes at San Vicente.
The Staff was super friendly and the bar / lounge was great. Best place in town to watch a Charger game! The food was great. You could eat breakfast, lunch and dinner, and never leave. (because there is nothing to do in Romona) The rooms we clean and roomy, with an outdoor balcony overlooking the golf course. (Not Five-Star, but quant and private)
The golf course was beautiful. A great find. A Ted Robinson Design in the middle of "NO - Where"...Every hole was a unique / pleasant challenge and from the black tees was over 6,700 yards. (great mature - designer course)
(the Ladies tees were very forgiving - FYI) Beautiful lush valley, surrounded by rocky mountains and shade trees.
There were a few brown patches, and the trap sand was thin, but overall, the course was awesome. It gets really hot in Romona, so pick the right time of year. Also, the drive in and out is through the mountains and intense. However, it only took just over 1 hour from Orange County.
Feels like your hundreds of miles away from home.
We will go back again....Just not in the summer....
Steve,
San Clemente, Ca.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BESTGOLFSPOT, Public Relations Manager at San Vicente Golf Resort, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Wow, what a comprehensive review of your San Vicente Golf Resort experience. We sincerely thank you for the time you took to write this review. All of us at San Vicente take great pride in providing the best service and product we can. We hope to have you with us again soon and often. Fall has arrived and the temperature is wonderful, Janice Baldridge, 760-310-5107, janice.baldridge@sdcea.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonita, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Best sandwich or one of the best I have ever had. Went to the grill before our tee time, nice atmosphere and tv's plentiful. I ordered a turkey sandwhich with ortega chili and cheese, Fantastic. Course layout is pretty good. Not alot of trouble, but water can come into play. Fairways wide, greens were very, very slow, due to the heat. They left the greens long so the grass did not burn. I liked the course, would play again. I could not rate it better than average because of the sand traps. Hard packed, no sand, and hard to navagate your way out. You can get out, but without any accurracy. There was no sand to carry the ball out. Good Luck!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Randy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BESTGOLFSPOT, Public Relations Manager at San Vicente Golf Resort, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you for your in depth review of San Vicente Golf course. It holds a variety of challenges that people never tire of. We are glad you enjoyed the Par Lounge and hope you plan to visit with us again. Janice Baldridge, Marketing Coordinator, 760-789-5107
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covina
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

on my arrival I was greeted with a friendly smile and how can i help you? The room was neat and clean, with a good golf course view from the balony. The frig was the largest one I have ever had in a room, kept everything nice and cold. The beds were comfortable. The restaurant had the best scrambled eggs light and fluffy, the prime rib was so good. The prices are very good, breakfast was $3.99 Monday thru Friday and you get a coupon for $4.00 off. I enjoyed my stay and would stay there again when in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyFox50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BESTGOLFSPOT, Public Relations Manager at San Vicente Golf Resort, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and sharing your San Vicente Resort experience. All of us here are very proud of our product and service. We hope you choose to visit again soon, Janice Baldridge, Marketing Coordinator, 760-310-5107
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I usually dont like to complain, but this place was not nice..they put us in a downstairs room.."facing golf course" this means, golfer are less than 40 feet from your bed..from 530 am til 8pm..Then in the morning, right outside our room, was a banquet being set up..Couples downstairs, families upstairs..kids running amuck..pool was lovely..had more waiters standing around than guests..how do you serve cold baked potato and cold fish tacos, when we were the only couple in the dining room???? Sadly..2 thumbs down for this place**(

Room Tip: another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CorkyMata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BESTGOLFSPOT, Public Relations Manager at San Vicente Golf Resort, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Only by hearing of our short comings can we correct them. We would love to have the opportunity to make up for your unpleasant stay. Please let me know how I can assist you, Janice Baldridge, Marketing Coordinator, 760-310-5107
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2013

The resort accommodated 30 lady golfers for 2 nights and could not have been more hospitable.
I also stayed there a second time with my husband. On both occasions the staff were friendly, helpful and professional.
The food and wine were excellent, and the prices extremely reasonable.
Although the resort is older, most of it has been renovated nicely, providing comfortable accommodations and good views of the golf course from most rooms.
The golf course is wonderfully natural and very pretty, seeming to be in good shape generally.
Overall, the resort is one of the best values I have ever encountered!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonnie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BESTGOLFSPOT, Public Relations Manager at San Vicente Golf Resort, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Wow, you covered everything we offer that we are so proud of. Thank you so much for sharing your San Vicente experience with TripAdvisor. Janice Baldridge, Marketing Coordinator, 760-310-5107
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

This off the beaten path resort-style golf club offered a lot of activities for a decent price. I was speaking at a Ramona conference and the extra drivetime was worth it. From the large pool with adult swim time to the live band in the bar, howling coyotes and chicken-fried breakfast special, the value was excellent. Nice staff too.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinapage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BESTGOLFSPOT, Guest Relations Manager at San Vicente Golf Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thank you for taking your time to share your "San Vicente" experience with TripAdvisor. Your description really sums up what we are about. Hope to have you with us again and often, Janice Baldridge, Marketing Coordinator, 760-310-5107
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramona
15.3 mi away
Rancho Bernardo Inn
Rancho Bernardo Inn
#27 of 278 in San Diego
1,962 reviews
1.5 mi away
San Diego Country Estates
15.7 mi away
Sycuan Golf Resort
Sycuan Golf Resort
#2 of 15 in El Cajon
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Ayres Lodge Alpine
Ayres Lodge Alpine
#1 of 2 in Alpine
817 reviews
13.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Diego-Poway
22.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn San Diego Near Qualcomm Stadium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Vicente Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Vicente Golf Resort

Property: San Vicente Golf Resort
Address: 24157 San Vincente Road, Ramona, CA 92065-4166
Region: United States > California > Ramona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ramona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — San Vicente Golf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
45 Minutes from downtown San Diego. Explore the San Vicente Resort, featuring a Ted Robinson-designed golf course set beautiful Ramona, CA. Guests stay the night in our highly rated inn that features a panoramic view from every room. Play golf, or enjoy our outdoor pool, tennis and pickball courts, hiking, and two equestrian centers. The Oaks Grille offers breakfast or New American cuisine lunch and dinner. The Par Lounge offers lunch and dinner, and a sports bar with live entertainment on weekends. You are free from formality and among people who care to make your time memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your San Vicente Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Vicente Golf Hotel Ramona
San Vicente Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing