We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friday Night Dinner”

The Steakhouse at Agua Caliente
Reserve with OpenTable
The Steakhouse at Agua Caliente is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 103 Restaurants in Rancho Mirage
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Ramon Road
Indio, California
Level Contributor
188 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Friday Night Dinner”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Very good food and service. Juan our server was very busy but we never lacked for a thing. My wife had the blacken seabass and I had the scallops and both entrees were fantastic. I also had fresh oysters as an appetizer and they were small but they gave me more than the normal 6. They were very tasty. For special occasions we will go back. Make reservations as they are very busy almost every evening.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    47
    12
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ROCKVILLE
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Need to remove "Steakhouse" from name”
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

They need to change their name. They are unable to prepare a steak the way it's ordered. Do not serve a medium well steak to someone that orders it medium rare. They r not going to be happy. This is the third and last time I will frequent this restaurant.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PotomacGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectations”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We had read mixed review of the Steakhouse in local publications as well as hearing the same from local residents. We fortunately were pleasantly surprised. We had reservations for dinner prior to a performance at the casino's showroom. Our server was very enthusiastic and prompt in serving our wine prior to the dinner and periodically checking on us. The food was very good, although we did not try the steaks which we considered overpriced for a casino restaurant. We also appreciated the upscale atmosphere - a nice contrast to the coffee shop atmosphere of many other casino restaurants. Would we go back again? Unequivocally, yes. One caveat - they adhere to a strict time policy on reservations. We arrived about 15 minutes early, but were not allowed to go to our table until the exact time of our reservation, and there was no room at the bar unless we wanted to go to the crowded bars in the casino. Not a major problem, but a good thing to be aware of - they probably hope you'll drop a few coins in the slot machines!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JTAnewport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent food especially for a casino”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My wife and I ate here on a trip to Rancho Mirage. It was highly recommended by the Concierge at our hotel. We were not disappointed in the food. I had the small filet that was cooked exactly as ordered and wife had the salmon which she also enjoyed. They had interesting menus which I had not seen before. They were backlit with an Ipad.

The waitress was one of the best I have ever had. Attentive without being pushy. Made great suggestions, etc. She made a small mistake in our drink order and to make up for it, she brought us dessert to share. Nice touch.

Two negatives -- it is in a casino and you have to walk through a wall of smoke in the casino. We almost didn't go in because of all of the smoke. The casino definitely needs a better air purifying system.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JackTravels1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service, smoke from casino - really bad”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Excellent food and service, casino smoke goes through entire main floor of building, so ruined my dining experience.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Steakhouse at Agua Caliente also viewed

Rancho Mirage, California Desert
Rancho Mirage, California Desert
 
Rancho Mirage, California Desert
Rancho Mirage, California Desert
 

Been to The Steakhouse at Agua Caliente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing