We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rancho Mirage - Palm Spgs Area
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Rancho Mirage
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised.”
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

Our daughter's basketball team was staying at this hotel but my husband and I wanted a "nicer" hotel in the area. After reading the reviews, and realizing we needed to be close by for carpool purposes, we decided to stay here.

From the moment we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised. Every employee we encountered were very friendly and helpful. The lobby was nicely appointed, clean and inviting.

There was a complimentary breakfast which was also better than expected. In addition to the expected breads and pastries, they had yogurt, fruit, eggs, sausage, ham, etc.

The room's appearance was nice, but I did ding it because the paint needed a little freshening up and try really need better air conditioning units. Our room had a wall unit under the window that was very loud and you really couldn't adjust the strength of the air coming out so it was not pleasant having to be in the bed next to the a/c.

Otherwise, we highly recommend this hotel if your looking for a Hotel in this level of hotels. It was perfect for our needs.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vetski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh G, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rancho Mirage - Palm Spgs Area, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thank you Vetski, for choosing to stay at our property and taking the time to write a review. Our staff works hard to provide a accommodating environment upon check-in; to make your experience pleasant. We will take into careful consideration the aspects that you have pointed out; and advise our team to work together to improve our property image from paint on the wall to room accommodations. Again, the Holiday Inn Express staff would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    66
    28
    7
    9
See reviews for
55
67
7
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamden, CT
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Don't be misled by the name; there's nothing EXPRESS about this property. It has roomy, comfortable guest rooms, a convenient location, and a more than acceptable hot breakfast. I've never before seen a make-your-own pancake machine. It certainly beats the messy waffle makers some breakfast rooms feature.
We stayed off-season so things could be quite different when the snowbirds fly south but if you're looking for clean, reasonable accommodations, then you need to check this one out.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrFitz4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh G, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rancho Mirage - Palm Spgs Area, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
We appreciate you DrFitz4 for staying at our hotel and providing us with a excellent review. Our hotel staff works diligently to provide the best care and customer service to all of our loyal and new guest. We pride ourselves in providing a welcoming environment; to make our guest feel at home, even if they are just here for one or two nights. In addition, we would like to thank you again, for the time and patience taken to provide positive feedback to our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2013

would like to thank daniel at front desk for outstanding service and to add he was very helpful in giving us info on greater coachella valley we wanted to vist the palm springs tram way and the palm desert living resort he took time to show us tru the palm springs life magazine how we could drive to both p.s. tram way and pd living resort we got 5 diamond service from daniel thanks alot see you next year daniel

Room Tip: all rooms very nice hotel very clean north side ny pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doug b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh G, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rancho Mirage - Palm Spgs Area, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you Doug B. for the positive feedback on your review. Our hotel maintains a high quality standard towards our guest. We pride ourselves in accommodating and providing Top Class treatment to both our leisure and business guest. Thank you again for your time and patience in posting a review for our Hotel Property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona
Level Contributor
156 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Spent two nights here over Memorial Day weekend. The GM (Peter) assisted me with the reservations, and his service was outstanding. The rest of the staff that I interacted with was also very good. Not as memorable as Peter, but perhaps that's to be expected. We had a nice room, on the first floor a King Suite with a pullout couch. Enough room for everyone, including my newborn daughter with her pack-n-play all set up.

I did think that the in-room AC unit wasn't fantastic - it was loud and hard to get a comfortable temp. Either WAY TOO COLD or not cold enough. I'm sure that this was a carry-over from the previous outfit, as this hotel used to be a part of the Radisson family of hotels - we stayed here once before.

My other gripe was the schedule for the TV - my room did not have a channel guide, and when I got one from the front desk, it was far from accurate. The gent at the desk did know which channel was CNN, and that's what I really wanted anyway...

The Holiday Inn breakfast is certainly a selling point - consistently good food as far as I am concerned. The breakfast room is a bit small for as many rooms as the hotel has.

The location next to The River shopping center in Rancho Mirage is also great because of the restaurants located there. There is a new Old Spaghetti Factory across the street too.

For what we paid, I'd consider this hotel again because of the location and good customer service.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rancho Mirage - Palm Spgs Area, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear David M,

We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. Nevertheless, we’re sorry for any inconvenience you experienced because we did not live up to your expectations. Though we would prefer you had a better experience, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts, and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Another wonderful weekend at this property. Warm and welcoming staff. Clean and up to date rooms. You just cant ask for anything more. Raquel, and Daniel exceptional customer service. I wish to personally thank Mr. Perter Morales (GM) for his great efforts in managing such a great property!!!!

Room Tip: Head over to Babes (walking distance) for a great dinner BBQ is the best!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjbradford00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renton WA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We had to stay here rather than at our go-to place, the Embassy Suites in La Quinta (this was Stagecoach country music festival weekend, which made for some fun people watching, but full hotels). This Holiday Inn appears to be a fairly new property. The location is good, right across from The River shopping center on the main highway. The room was good, the pool was refreshing (air temps were in the mid-100s), and the pool area was ok, if a little dirty from partyers the night before. The front desk folks were friendly. The free breakfast was adequate (please size the lids to your coffee cups correctly, so that your guest don't spill coffee on themselves as they sip through the lid).

There were some annoying issues though, which merit only an average rating. Wi-fi - OMG, s l o o o w. I finally just gave up. And the ice machine on our floor was out of service. Maybe this place was not as new as I thought. The bathroom had no ventilation. Oh, there was a vent cutout in the ceiling, but no fan, and no air circulation, so that the room steamed up immediately. Also, in the bathroom, the shower curtain rod was one of those curved rods, supposed to give you a feeling more room. It was either broken or not installed correctly, because it sagged, causing the shower curtain to droop toward the center of the tub area, pulling away from the head and foot of the tub area, and letting water splash onto the floor. As I checked out I did let the managers know about the last 2 issues, and they acknowledged them with a bit of a shrug.

So, in a pinch, I might stay here again, but I would not seek it out.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve_mcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rancho Mirage - Palm Spgs Area, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear Steve_mcn,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. I am pleased to read that you liked our location and you found our reception staff to be friendly. However, please accept my apologies that you were inconvenienced by the Wifi connection and room amenities' condition being sub par. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Located 20 mins drive from Downtown. Free parking. Rooms were spacious and clean, only criticism is that there was insufficient control over the fan speed of air con. The complimentary breakfast was excellent and the staff were friendly and helpful. There were restaurants and shops a few minutes walk away in the Riverside Shopping Plaza

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rancho Mirage
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palm Springs/Rancho Mirage
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage
4.0 mi away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#1 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Palm Desert Resort
0.3 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rancho Mirage - Palm Spgs Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rancho Mirage - Palm Spgs Area

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rancho Mirage - Palm Spgs Area
Address: 71730 Highway 111, Rancho Mirage, CA 92270-4496
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Rancho Mirage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Rancho Mirage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rancho Mirage - Palm Spgs Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rancho Mirage - Palm Spgs Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rancho Mirage - Palm Spgs Area California Desert, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing