We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rancho Mirage - Palm Spgs Area
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Rancho Mirage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Nice hotel, Friendly helpful staff, nice size clean rooms with a very good Flat TV, free WiFi, Free Breakfast, free Parking, Free coffee and cold drinks all day, close to many restaurants, next door to a mall and reasonable prices. I could not find anything wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dudreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh G, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rancho Mirage - Palm Spgs Area, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thank you Dudreg, for taking the time to provide us with your feedback from your most recent stay. Our hotel staff works hard to provide our guest a comfortable stay regardless if they are here for one night, or several. We maintain our hotel at high standards to ensure a pleasant stay for our traveling guest. Again, we appreciate the time and dedication taken to provide us with your insight.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rancho Mirage - Palm Spgs Area
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

We arrived early but no problem checking in. 2 very friendly clerks, nice people. Given bottled water and snacks as we are Priority Club members - nice touch. A glass urn filled with chilled water and cucumber and lemon slices is available at reception as well, very, very refreshing! First room allocated smelt strange, rather smoky as if someone had been smoking. Something a previous poster has also commented on. The front desk rung while we were looking around to enquire if everything was ok but on hearing our comments asked if we'd like another room which we said yes to. The next room smelt better but no A/C on making it very hot. Run A/C on full and went out to dinner. Room cool once we got back. Lovely view from the room of the sun going down behind the mountains. Slept really well. Breakfast OK, some hot items plus pancake machine instead of the usual waffle maker. Housekeeping staff bustling around in reception with all aspects of cleaning. Very nice location next to the River Complex which was a huge disappointment due to the fact it was completely dry - no water! Maintenance work?

Would love to stay again if in area. Recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wonderar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh G, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rancho Mirage - Palm Spgs Area, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

We pride ourselves, Wonderar, in providing a one of a kind experiences for our IHG Reward Members. From not just our chilled bottled water, snack tray, and extended 2 pm checkout without charge. We provide a welcoming environment that is both pleasant and comfortable irregardless if your here for one night or multiple. We are sincerely apologetic about the inconvenience upon arriving into your room. We have since implemented new action plans to prevent such discomforts from occurring. We are hopeful that you may return to stay at our hotel in the near future once our revisions have taken full effect, Our hotel staff prides themselves in providing an exceptional place to stay while you are here in the Rancho Mirage area. Again, we would like to thank you for your time and patience in providing us your feedback from your recent stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

My Husband and I spent 5 nights here . We could not fault it in any way. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful . The selection at breakfast was of the best continental style we have found to date. It was in an excellent location within minutes walking from a good selection of restaurants and shops. We will definitely be returning. Paul & Denise Elliott Doncaster

Room Tip: A lift was available
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wobblypaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh G, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rancho Mirage - Palm Spgs Area, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

We do thank you wobblypaul, for choosing to stay at our location and providing us with your feedback. We are glad that you found our hotel accommodating and welcoming. Our staff works very hard to maintain and provide you an exceptional experience. We have high standards in providing a comfortable stay to our guest whether it be for one night or one week. Thank you again for your insight on your most recent stay at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We had recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites in Canyonville, OR, and were extremely impressed, so we joined the IHG Rewards and were excited to renew our delightful experience in Rancho Mirage. Reviews on TripAdvisor indicated we would not be disappointed. We checked in in the early afternoon, after having made reservations a few days earlier. We were given a double Queen room, and noticed that it had the odor of smoking when we opened the door. The staff member (Kelly) came up and agreed that the room definitely smelled of cigarette smoke. She said she only had handicapped rooms available and gave us one with one queen bed, which she insisted was a "king", until she checked the computer. The next room was on the first floor (we prefer second floor to avoid noise above) and also was a handicapped room, but had a king bed. We noticed that many people checked in after us, so other rooms were available at the time we checked in; even though they were reserved, ours was too, and we feel we should have had some consideration for a room like the one we had reserved. The hand -held shower in our room was broken and did not attach to the wall, and had to be held instead. The toilet had a black ring at the waterline. Carpets in the halls and common areas are stained and dirty. The staff was friendly and helpful, but I feel they should have made other arrangements for us to have a room like we had reserved. This Holiday Inn appears to be older than the one we stayed at in Canyonville, and definitely needs to be spiffed up with new carpeting. We had only 2 HBO channels, and a smallish flat screen TV, unlike the many channels and large TV of other Holiday Inns. WiFi was slow, and only worked ok after repeated tries. This is the second review I wrote, since the first was dropped when the signal malfunctioned. Bed & Bedding were new and comfortable, exactly like other Holiday Inns. Like the other Holiday Inn the toiletries were from Bath & Body Works and a delightful treat. The location of this hotel is excellent, and the best feature. The River Mall is within walking distance, with a great selection of outstanding restaurants and shops and a mulitplex theatre. We will definitely stay in this area again, but probably not in this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ocotillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh G, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rancho Mirage - Palm Spgs Area, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

We are unfortunate to hear about your recent stay with us, Octillo. We do apologize sincerely for any discomfort or inconvenience which may have happen during your stay. We will take affirmative action and implement new actions plans to prevent such inconveniences from happening. We do hope that after the revisions have taken place that you will return to stay with us. Again, we would like to thank you for your time and patience in providing us with your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The evening manager gave us a great walk in rate, and also up graded our room. What a super deal. Thanks so much.
The hotel is in a perfect location. Close to shopping, restaurants, entertainment.
Everything was excellent. We enjoyed the pool, as it was a very hot day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh G, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rancho Mirage - Palm Spgs Area, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

We appreciate your time and consideration Sandra S in leaving such positive feedback. Our hotel prides themselves in providing a one in a kind experience. Our team works hard to provide you a welcoming environment and a clean and spacious accommodation. Again. the hotel would like to thank you for your time and patience in writing your review. We hope that you will return to stay at our hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed here for one night at the start of our trip. We arrived at around 8pm and were greeted by a particularly unhelpful member of staff.

We eventually checked in (there was confusion over the fact that our rooms were pre-payed).

The staff in the morning were much more friendly and helpful.

The hotel seemed a little 'worn' - but was clean and fine for one night.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank airedale_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh G, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rancho Mirage - Palm Spgs Area, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you airedale_travellers for taking the time and dedication to provide us feedback from your most recent stay. We do apologize about any confusion or inconvenience that may have resulted at the time of check-in. Our hotel will be sure to incorporate this vital information along to our staff; so we may better assist you in future reservations. Our Hotel staff works diligently in providing you a admirable accommodation; and we will continue to improve our skill sets to improve our hotel appearance and provide excellent customer service to all our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I chose this hotel for its location (+/- in the middle of the Valley + next to "the River" plaza), its value for the money (paid 92,50$ incl. taxes) and after reading the mostly good reviews on TA.
We, at least, were not disappointed. 
The staff (especially Raquel) was very kind and helpfull to us. 
The room on the 2nd floor (218) was not very large, but nice enough, with 2 doubles. 
Beds were extremely comfortable with soft duvet and plenty of pillows.
The bathroom was OK with the usual amenities, plenty of good towels.
Beside the large writing desk + chair, there was also an arm chair which was awkwardly placed right next to the TV.
From the start we asked for an extra chair, so we could take our breakfast in the room, and a 2nd luggage rack. Both were delivered immediately.
Breakfast was very good with plenty of options : eggs, sausage patties, ham, biscuits with gravy, pancakes, bread, scones, bagels, fresh fruit, yogurt, oatmeal. Of course there were different fruit juices (didn't like the apple juice, sorry) and coffee and tea. 
We didn't go to the swimming pool because it is really tiny.
And wifi in the room was terrible. But they have a computer downstairs in the lobby and also wifi in the lobby is much better.
At the end of the corridor (2nd fl) there's a washing machine (1.75$) and a dryer (1.50$) for 1 hour.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dezdemona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh G, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rancho Mirage - Palm Spgs Area, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

We appreciate your time and patience Dezdemona taken to write a review after staying at our hotel.
We are glad to hear that the hotel met your expectations from the check in, all the way to your room accommodations. We do have a technical support team that could have assisted you with WiFi issues at the hotel. Besides standard WiFi, we have connection with Ethernet cable which is provided for you at the front desk free of charge. Our staff is always on standby ready to accommodate our guest needs from standard WiFi connections to future bookings. We pride ourselves in providing a memorable experience, to solidify a quality stay at our Hotel. Our hotel staff again, thanks you for the feedback that was provided.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rancho Mirage
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palm Springs/Rancho Mirage
2.8 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
4.0 mi away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#1 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage
0.3 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
4.1 mi away
Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rancho Mirage - Palm Spgs Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rancho Mirage - Palm Spgs Area

Address: 71730 Highway 111, Rancho Mirage, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92270-4496
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Rancho Mirage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Rancho Mirage
Price Range: £63 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rancho Mirage - Palm Spgs Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rancho Mirage - Palm Spgs Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rancho Mirage - Palm Spgs Area California Desert, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing