We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome upscale pizzeria”
Review of Michael's Pizzeria - CLOSED

Michael's Pizzeria
Price range: US$0 - US$15
Cuisines: Pizza, Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: We know that pizza tastes best when it is wood-fired, that mozzarella should always be freshly made, and that meals are enhanced when paired with the perfect Italian wines. From our service to our atmosphere, our flour to our sauce, this is our tradition-passed down from generation to generation-of Napoli-style pizza. At Michael's Pizzeria, food is heritage.
Rochester, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
223 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Awesome upscale pizzeria”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

My husband and I ate here twice during our vacation to Palm Springs. We very rarely eat somewhere twice on a vacation. The pizza was excellent. The ingredient are simple and fresh. We had margarita pizza and mozzarella with prosciutto and arugula. The wine list offers nice selections. The ambience is upscale and intimate. The place is rather small, so the tables are rather close together. Definitely check this place out if you are in the mood for some wood fire baked pizza.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EmilyB569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl D, Owner at Michael's Pizzeria, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
It's great to hear you ate with us twice during your vacation! We pride ourselves on our fresh ingredients and great service. I hope you'll visit us again in the future.
Thank you,
~Carl D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    24
    9
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, MI
Level Contributor
309 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Unique, casual, inteactive experience”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Sat at the bar which was interesting and enlightening to watch the kitchen in action! Staff was friendly and accommodating. We had the pizza which was not what we were used to but very unique and delicious!
They'll build really anything you want or you can choose from one of the many "unusual" combinations. Salad was OK. Desert unusual and great. Couldn't decide between the 2 featured, unusual gelatos so we had one of each and shared! Both were very unique and delicious! Great unique experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JSKazoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl D, Owner at Michael's Pizzeria, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
I'm delighted to hear that you had a unique and delicious experience. I hope you'll stop in and visit us again.
Thank you,
~Carl D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great service, good happy hour price, but average food”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We ordered a white pizza and fried calamari. Both were average, at best (the pizza crust was tough and burnt in places). The waitstaff was very attentive and helpful, and the atmosphere was very classy. We would probably go back, but would try something besides the pizza. Happy hour prices were very good ($2 off pizza, and half price appetizers).

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl D, Owner at Michael's Pizzeria, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for stopping in and for sharing your thoughts. I'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your pizza.
Again, thank you
~Carl D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pizza good service and management bad”
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Looking forward to a great pizza experience but sadly disappointed. Entered on Friday at 7 when should have been packed but only half full No hostess seated by waiter, manager on cell phone doing texting. Waited 10 min while wait staff talked to one another and cooks all on cell phones. Finally ordered with waiter giving no explanation of menu or helpful hints he was more concerned with his friends leaving and not focused on his job Manager off cell but not seeing what he could do to help staff. Ordered Micheals salad with little taste and had to ask for bread which was very good. They have a chili oil at the table which was good with bread,but the waiter never explained that so some may not try it. Pizza was good but not great . Water never refilled. All items very expensive with little or no service. Locals have already figured it out based on number of people in restaurant. I would not go back

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl D, Owner at Michael's Pizzeria, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
You'll be happy to know that we have a fantastic new manager! I'm sending you a private message now.
Thank you,
~Carl D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Mama mia...Bellissima pizza!”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We heard about this restaurant as one of the best pizza in the usa. Needless to add that we had to try it. Rancho mirage was just the perfect excuse for another gourmet experience. The restaurant is located in the back of a shopping center on highway 111. Parking is easy but do not expect any view. We ordered the capriciosa pizza (mozza, mushrooms, ham ans olives) and arugula salad. I have to admit that the crust was perfect, thin not soagy and yummy. Price are very reasonnable. The restaurant atmosphere is modern but is lacking some charm however our waiter was extremely friendly and professional with us. I am a huge fan of the italian style pizza and would highly recommend a stop at michael's for a light lunch. I would love them to open a michael's pizzeria down in San diego.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iamstarving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl D, Owner at Michael's Pizzeria, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
I'm delighted to hear that you had a great meal, thank you for coming in and for sharing your opinion.
Best regards,
~Carl D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Michael's Pizzeria also viewed

Rancho Mirage, California Desert
Rancho Mirage, California Desert
 
Rancho Mirage, California Desert
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing