We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A popular, inexpensive "bistro" in Rancho Mirage” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Si Bon

Si Bon
Reserve with OpenTable
Si Bon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 102 Restaurants in Rancho Mirage
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Belgian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Santa Fe
Level Contributor
93 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A popular, inexpensive "bistro" in Rancho Mirage”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Open less than 2 years this has become one of our favorites. Belgian-born chef with years of experience has an eclectic, European style menu. It's always been busy at the usual dining times but at later time it's much easier and more quiet. Quality ingredients and limited but good menu, with specials. I've enjoyed the sand dabs, halibut, sea bass, wienerschnitzel, fried chicken, and any of the sides, especially the French fries. Burgers are good. Wines very reasonable and 1 or 2 nights a week they are 1/2 priced. It's not fancy and more like a neighborhood bistro.
Desserts are very good.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank girardot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    129
    28
    12
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Overall decent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Went with friends a party of four without a reservation for Sunday brunch. Was seated immediately.
Good food and decent service

Helpful?
Thank JN_172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
505 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Poor service but good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We were 20 minutes seated before our wait staff came by and she immediately explained they were understaffed. You need reservations so they should have been properly staffed. Food was really good as was the price for what you got. We'll try again to see if service has improved.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lesliebauman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palm springs
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great menu, then disappointing service/food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We heard that Si Bon was a wonderful restaurant from friends who visited it for lunch. They brought back the menu and we were so excited by the wonderful dishes on that menu. We booked immediately for dinner. Our experience was unfortunately not as exciting as what we experienced reading the menu. Pros: clean restaurant, nice family vibe, small and intimate although tables are close together, and the menu options are outstanding to read. Great Chilled Cucumber soup, bread, and brussel sprouts in the salad. Cons: Brussel Sprout sald was to have maple bacon, but there were only two tiny pieces of bacon that showed up. Service was poor: plates were literally dropped in front of us with no concern for placement on the table. The Liver and Onions was drenched in a brown sauce that obscured the flavor of the liver. The Wiener Schnitzel was hard on the outer edges, and also obscured by heavy brown sauce. Vegetables (except for one carrot) were wilted and mushy. The waiter was nice and obviously experienced, but the men who brought the plates to the table were not customer-friendly. People at the table next to us had problems also. Not sure if we will go back. For $78 for two people it was pricey for what we got. Will put in another review if we do...hopefully more positive.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Mirage, California, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“POOR Service …. good FOOD...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

This is the second Time we have been to Si Bon with friend's and The service is terrible. We sat there and waited for our waiter to at least address us, and that he would be with us. we finally had to flag someone down and ask who would be helping us. The same happened both time.
I think that is the biggest complaint I really have. The service staff is not well trained I believe. There was plenty of staff there. But It really makes me not want to go any longer, even if the food is OK.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sogoodcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Si Bon also viewed

Palm Desert, California Desert
Rancho Mirage, California Desert
 
Palm Desert, California Desert
Rancho Mirage, California Desert
 
Palm Desert, California Desert
Rancho Mirage, California Desert
 

Been to Si Bon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing