We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food, Service, and Atmosphere...Good Value”
Review of Shame on the Moon

Shame on the Moon
Ranked #10 of 103 Restaurants in Rancho Mirage
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
535 reviews
405 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Service, and Atmosphere...Good Value”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Eight of us enjoyed supper at Shame on the Moon. We had excellently prepared cocktails and other drinks prior to eating. The menu is extensive and very good. Each of our meals was well prepared and exceeded our expectations in both quality and quantity. We look forward to our return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Helga H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    114
    46
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Palm Desert, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Shame on you if you don't try this place...”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Shame on the Moon is a busy restaurant with a small friendly bar. You feel like a regular even on your first visit. The regulars (and there are many) love this place. I loved the chat at the bar, the food at dinner and the atmosphere in general.

For dinner I had the ahi. It was cooked perfectly. My companion had a steak and loved it.
If you haven't tried Shame on the Moon, you should...you may become a regular, like I have.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ComedyWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, California
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“There's no shame in eating here!”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

We were in Rancho Mirage for 3 days, and this was the best meal we had. The place is elegant, and the servers are very friendly. My husband had the flank steak , and I ordered the liver and onions. Both dishes were cooked to perfection. This is a consistently great place to fine.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mixie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westminster
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“A Consistently Pleasing Experience”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

From the minute that Ginger welcomes you with her gracious and warm personality you know that it is going to be another pleasant dining experience.The martinis are served in an individual shaker and are always excellent. No matter how busy they are, the service is timely, pleasant and efficient. My husband loves their flank steak and I am a fan of their liver and onions. Both are always hot, tender, cooked perfectly and the portions are quite generous.This restaurant is a favorite of locals and although we only go to the desert several times each year Shame On The Moon is always on our agenda.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank countessjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Mirage, CA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Favorite, favorite restaurant in Palm Springs area!!!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Love this restaurant. Have been going here for years. Outstanding staff and service. Excellent food. Very good value compared to other igh end restaurants in the area. Love the ambiance of the main dining room, but don't care so much for the garden room. Highly recommend.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CCookRanchoMirage_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shame on the Moon also viewed

Rancho Mirage, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
 
Rancho Mirage, Greater Palm Springs
Rancho Mirage, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to Shame on the Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing